We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We also stayed in room 102. The room was dark and the noise from the road was very load. The self catering facilities were enough to make yourself a cup of tea in the morning and a sandwich for lunch, but I wouldn't attempt anything more. The room was clean and the towels were changed every day. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. The pool is small, but there is a sun terrace on top of the bar/breakfast room which is very nice. The bar only opens for a few hours in the afternoon, so no pre dinner drinks in the hotel, which is a real shame. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with a young family as the road is on a blind bend and you take your life into your own hands trying to cross it!

All in all, the hotel was ok, if you can get a good deal it’s worth staying as Sorrento is a lovely place, but can be quite expensive.

A trip to Capri is a great day out, but if you’re not especially fit, catch a taxi to the centre as it's a long uphill walk.

We loved Sorrento and would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SarahHBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Miramare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2008

Firstly what I disliked-get it over with!! Room 102, I will never forget it. The room was clean but no view. We looked out of barred windows on to a car park! Requested a change but as the hotel was so busy this was not possible. Entrance to the hotel from the car park was next to our room- so lots of banging and loud talking.

If you can get away with not staying in this room you will love it. The staff are really nice, very helpful and courteous. We had our cases carried up to our room. Every member of staff at reception and the lovely man at the breakfast room were soooo nice.

The pool is lovely with great views over the bay BUT the pool is small. However I cant complain about it, it suited us just fine.

Sheets are changed through the week and towels changed every day. Room was spotless, kitchen area was small but as its self catering what can you expect- if you want to cook when you are on holiday stay at home.

The main road is a bit of a trial- getting across the road is a bit hairy but not impossible and I have to say that drivers are quite mannerable to the pedestrian.

All in all if you can avoid the room number then you really would enjoy the Residence Miramare. Lounge by the pool or enjoy the view from the communal patio area (or from your own room if you are lucky to have that facility). Would I go back? Yes if it wasnt the same room.

Enjoy Sorrento, which is expensive and thronging with tourists in Aug.

There was a show at the main theatre- the songs of Sorrento- fi that is showing do go - its a Fabulous evening. One of the highlights for me. The Amalfi drive is also worth doing, very beautiful and the driver of the coach was great. Hairpin bends but all taken at a nice slow pace, so no scarey moments.

You can do Rome in a day, but to be honest I dont think I would recommend this unless you are ultra fit. We visited St Peters Square and saw the Sistine Chapel but it was all so quick, do an overnight stay if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ninascotland28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stayed at the Miramare for one week, and found the hotel clean and the staff helpful, polite and friendly, we didn't try the breakfast option so I can't comment on that, the cooking facilities in the room are really too small to be of any use, and I don't really think that it should be classed as self catering as it is'nt practical to cook in the room.
The walk into town is only about 10 minutes, so no problem with that at all, the only thing, as others have mentioned, is crossing the road as you come out of the hotel, as it is on a blind bend and it certainly is dangerous.
All in all, i can't find much to complain about, and I would recommend the Miramare for a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Arrived at midnight after a delayed flight - with no food! and with a very sleepy 2 year old. The room we were initially given (rm101) I thought was small and seemed to be practically on the main road. We asked to move and were shown a lovely appartment (rm103) with high ceilings and huge windows which overlooked the bay and was light and airy ( no balcony). The road was still noisy so if your a light sleeper - ear plugs! The hotel was great for a base to see Sorrento and the surrounding area, the kitchen area was fine to make breakfast and keeping wine cool in the fridge but probably not to cook a 3 course meal. You are also responsible for leaving the kitchen area clean for the next visitors , so a few disposable kitchen wipes might be handy to pack or you can pay 10 E and the hotel will do it.
Towels were changed everyday and the bed was changed once during our week. The floors needed to be swept and washed though.
The pool is small but nice and refreshing with deck chairs surrounding it. A larger sun terrace has loungers and tables, not to mention the views.

The best bit about this hotel is the walk into Sorrento - it is fabulous!! 15 minutes tops.It is probably one of the best views of sorrento and even if you do not stay in this hotel at least walk around to the Bristol hotel (5 mins from centre) promise you wont be dissappointed. The road is busy so you need to take care when crossing as no path outside the hotel. but a path stretches most of the way. The incline is fine and very gradual. If the walk is a no no, buses run every 20 mins or so up and down the hill.

One other thing - the prices varied massively when i booked this holiday, so watch out and dont pay full price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Our room was small, but comfortable and had everything necessary for a great holiday. Creamy marble bathroom was lovely and our balcony got the sun all afternoon into evening. Pool was refreshing and the view from there was beautiful. Loved the walk into town, it should take 10 minutes but stopping all the way down the hill to admire the Marina Grande, Vesuvius, Bay of Naples, made it much longer. Staff were very friendly and the hotel was immaculate. The road outside can be very busy and the noise can be distracting, but we used it as a base so it did not spoil our time there.

We shall book again for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank suitcase-susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We where in Sorrento to attend my sisters wedding. The Miramare was the accommodation for us and 11 other members of our family which included our 74 year old grandparents. The Miramare was perfect for us, our room had a great balcony and a breathtaking view of vesuvius. Our room was massive and very clean. The only bad thing was the noise of the traffic but after a day you got used to it. Staff in the Miramare were more than helpful. We had them tortured ordering Taxis as the day of the wedding and the only day of our holiday it rained!!! The hill and the sharp corner was abit of a nightmare for my Grandparents but once they found out about the local bus service they were up and down to the town. We will definitely be back in Sorrento and most definitely will stay in the Miramare.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lushpuppy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

From The Seniors! 73 and 75 (with Pacemaker.).. We liked Miramare but self catering to us means eating out! Breakfast was booked for 4 days, usual Med quality, OK by us. The Hill was a trial as was the sprint across the road... but no problem really. In October it doesn't suffer less from traffic and the weather was mixed - one violent storm carried on through the night so we had nothing to eat except a couple of sweets..Because of the walk to the harbour we couldn't get to the boats early enough but we did Amalfi and Capri. The latter hardly worth the cost as it was so crowded that we couldn't get up to the chair-lift and back before the sail back. A long, tiring day trip to Rome was an ambition fulfilled - as was the walk up Vesuvius. Herculaneum was easier than Pompei and more interesting - save money and let the train take the strain. Cheap.
Eating out is a little expensive and the town full of Americans on cruise ships - an incentive to keep prices high, I suppose. Overall, we spent an enjoyeable week here - our 50th Anniversary trip. Next year? Perhaps Kefalonia again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolverhamptonVideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £100 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing