We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Miramare
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived in one of the apartments for a four night stay and it was spotless. The rooms are quite basic but ideal if you are using it as a base. We all slept like logs even though the beds are quite firm. You are perfectly situated for walking into Sorrento but be careful as you are virtually on a bend. The breakfasts were ample for what we wanted. The staff could not have been more friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Bring mosquito repellent as we got eaten. The views are really breathtaking and I would happily come back.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment as it had a fridge and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    123
    51
    24
    9
See reviews for
105
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was booked for a lovely 10 day holiday with my wife such a disaster please don't go to this hotel it is the pits, we were put outside in something resembling a changing block which looked like it was from dark ages, we had to drag our luggage up 3 flights of steps outside to get to room, it was dark n dingy absolutely awful, we complained about room but lady on reception didn't want to know she laughted and said it was a residence hotel whatever that was supposed to justify it!!!! Three other sets of guests arrived around same time as we did and all of us complained yet she did not want to know, my wife and I left and booked a hotel around corner which was excellent it's called hotel Minerva absolutely excellent for not much more money, please do not book this hotel!! Dreadful!!!!

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salvodamore, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Miramare, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Sir
We are very disappointed about your review.
When you arrived at Miramare and you did not like the room by the garden (that are very much requested) we offered other rooms and none of them were suitable for you! We undestand that you did not like the hotel and we agree to cancel a not refundable reservation without penalty. You changed hotel and you did not spared a negative review ...

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento
Please take the advantage of our suggestion to check better the type of accommodation you choose. The Miramare is an aparthotel. The rooms have kitchenette and it is a not conventional hotel, suitable for family and couples that likes the indipendence to be in serviced apartments with nice views on the Bay of Naples.

Our kindest regards

Gabriella Pontecorvo
front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here in a sea view room. The room was large and even had a small kitchenette if you wanted to heat up things ( microwave) or do a simple meal. The room was clean with quality linen and towels. The bathroom was large and pristine. The bed was very comfortable and there was also a writing desk as well.The view from the balcony was over the Bay of Naples and from the sun deck and pool you could also see Sorrento. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. There is a lift to save dragging suitcases up stairs. Pool towels were available to hire for €2. This hotel would suit a romantic booking or equally a family holiday. There is a bus that goes to town and we picked up some tickets from reception. Reception will also call cabs if that's your preference. Breakfast was included in our booking and that was tasty and plentiful with some variety each day which was appreciated when staying there for four days. The only issue is one of care when exiting the hotel doors as it is straight onto a road but that's not different from all the properties along the road. They even have an arrangement with a hotel across the street to access a private beach with lift for just a few €. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel. Oh and they even sent a 'Thank you for staying' email which I thought a nice touch.

Room Tip: Definitely book a services room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheG0Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we were let down by our booked accommodation we were warmly welcomed by Franco at reception who made sure we were well settled after arriving tired and hungry. The breakfast in the morning sitting on the terrace were wonderful - the views magnificent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff especially Franco and Giovanna. We loved our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had wonderful holiday last month. Staff were very friendly and helped us with restaurants and trips. Fantastic view from room and pool. Plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children in garden room and we enjoyed watching sunset from our own table outside the room. Only short walk into town

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I agree with others who have noted the rooms need an update. It could be a simple as fresh paint in a different, lighter pallet, and fresh fabrics again in a nicer color. Perhaps they could take a clue from the furnishings in the interior of the hotel. The garden rooms are large and some have a separate seating/dining area that is very nice but again needs an update. This did not bother us much as we don't spend a lot of time in the room. The wardrobes are large with lots of nice drawers which is something rare in this part of Italy especially at this price. We found the mini fridge, and dishes very helpful, especially if you want to bring wine or antipasto back to your room, there is even silverware. The bed was comfortable and large, but the corner is hard wood, sharp and right by the bathroom door, I cracked my shin twice. The bathroom is very nice with marble throughout, and well cleaned every day quickly. We never returned to an unmade bed.
We found the road issue workable, the folks on the road are well used to pedestrians hiking back and forth and we were not intimidated by the scooters, cars, bikes and the like, they all seem to work well together, just pay attention. The views are simply marvelous, especially from the garden rooms, and room 104 in particular. It is grand to sip a little wine and enjoy this view from your own large and very comfortable terrace. A view like this from a fancier hotel would drain your bank account very quickly. The rooms could use better soundproofing, not from the road, but from other rooms. If you have noisy neighbors you will hear them though the walls. The gardens are very nice and well maintained. We found the pool water too cold in May to use, but it must warm in the summer. The staff are pleasant if somewhat aloof. The walk to and from town is easy and gradual. Our shower was large, but the water cycled from hot to cool (not cold) which was strange but we got used to it. Breakfast is fine, and Italian, don't come to Italy expecting a Denny's breakfast buffet! Keep in mind also that the price is very good for Sorrento. we were here 6 days and enjoyed our time.

Room Tip: Room 104 garden rooms has the best view of any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Kitchen hardly worth trying to use. Views are beautiful. Room was situated one deck above pool overlooking the bay very nice however besides the maids and breakfast staff desk, reception, etc. were not welcoming, courteous or helpful. Stepping off the curb in front of hotel can be risky. The best part was the restaurant right up the hill same side of the st. for dinner just excellent, even the next hotel up same side of street was excellent for sunset appetizers and drinks. Miramare is OK but overpriced.

Room Tip: Insist on an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CountessCag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Miramare

Property: Hotel Residence Miramare
Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing