We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant find”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A pleasant find”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

After reading some of the other reviews we were a bit dubious about what to expect but the Miramare was perfectly fine.

Other reviews mentioned dated furniture, old equipment and poor towels but although I would agree with the furniture comment it was perfectly servicable - how much time do you really want to spend in your hotel anyway?? The pans, cutlery and crockery were all brand new as were the towels and bed linen. It was all really clean and maids came in every day. My only suggestion would be that there should be a kettle as microwaving water for tea wasn't particularly good neither was boiling water in a pan as it took some time. Still ... maybe I shouldn't drink so much tea! Also, personnally, I found the beds a little hard hence the lower mark on the sleep quality rating.

The hotel itself is on a bad bend with a very busy road but it was all fine with a bit of care. There was some road noise if the windows were open but it didn't bother us. It is a bit of a trek uphill to the hotel out of Sorrento but 15 mins max and the view on the way is great. Plus there are benches so far up if you really struggle. After all the pasta and pizza it's a good way to work it off! Having said that I can recommend the Verdemare Restaurant which is about 5 mins beyond the hotel. If you can't be bothered with the walk into Sorrento this restaurant is a good second choice.

Another recommendation for a restaurant is Restorante S. Antonino on Via Maria Della Grazia. This place was really great with a wide menu and not too expensive. Give it a try.

The staff at the hotel were really helpful. They spoke good English and were really friendly. All in all we had a good time and found the hotel perfectly acceptable for the price we paid and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIerraOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    125
    52
    25
    9
See reviews for
113
158
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We had a great stay at the miramare. Upon arrival and during our stay the hotel staff were all very friendly. The rooms were big and basic but kept very clean at all times. Breakfast was nice and light. Great views of sorrento from the solarium and pool. The hotel entrance was on a bad bend, but had no problem with crossing the road, just need to keep your eyes and ears open! Pleasant walk into town, only about 15/20 minutes, with a narrow pathway and nice views of the coast. Would recommend the hotel for anyone looking for reasonably prices nice clean accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This hotel was one of the worst we've ever stayed in. Firstly the location isn't great, a 15-20 min trek uphill along a very busy main road out of town. The hotel itself is on a sharp bend and crossing the road is not for the faint hearted.
The next problem was our room, the most basic of rooms which was a self catering arrangement with a sitting/kitchen area and then a bedroom with 2 twin beds. The furniture was awful old fashioned dark wood and there was the barest minimum of items in the room. Imagine a prison cell room and that about sums it up - bed, bedside table, lamp, wardrobe, whitewashed walls. We asked to change rooms and they said to see them the following morning. As we were there for 10 nights we really didn't want to be stuck with this room. I tried for about 4 mornings on the trot until I realised they had no intention of moving us! We ended up booking a couple of nights at another hotel in Capri just to get away from the place! It wasn't the dearest place in Sorrento but really should have been a lot cheaper and only stay if you're happy with hostel type rooms.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This hotel was not directly on the water but did have a view of the water. The hotel had ample space for a family of 4, including a small kitchenette. The room was clean but dated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. For the price we paid, I expected more. As I said, nothing really bad, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niro917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Well, we've spent 8 days in the hotel during our stay in Sorrento. as we travelled with a little child we initally were looking for the place with the cooking facilities and preferably more than 1 room. So we've got room 301 - with a separate kitchen, and a HUGE balcony (i think it was equal to the room in size). There were two exits to the balcony: one from the room and one from the kitchen, which helped us very much in evenings when our daughter was asleep and we could dine on the balcony without disturbing her.

Room was very clean and tidy, cleaned daily, and there's plenty of space in wadrobes. plus there was additional wardrobe in kitchen so we had no problems in storing everything we need. The room was very spacious.

Bathroom was new and clean, my only problem with it was that it had only one tiny shelf. We had only shower there (no tube), but it was ok and new, no complaints about that.

The biggest problem was the kitchenette. It equipped very basically, and it was really tiny. There was no surface for actually cooking and/or drying things (plates, pans etc) beside a dining table. This made dinner preparations somewhat challenging. The fridge was very small (and I mean small). As it was old too, we had to keep fresh meat and fish in the freezer in order to keep it properly cold (not frozen). Also, the pans and pots were oldish, and there was no kettle to boil the water. The pot designated for that left residues in the water... Well, you can judge by the pictures I attached. I'd highly recomment to hotel oiwners to renovate their kitchenettes based on the above. On the other hand I must say that I did manage to cook a dinner every evening there with best of local fish, and nothing got spoiled. You just have to do food shopping frequently.

Many people here complained about the pavements. Well, they're right. there's a narrow pavement on the opposite side of the road, and, as hotel stands on the curve, crossing it require attention. But I personally didn't consider it such a tragedy. A road was not that noisy as complained in some reviews (but then again, I can only judge for the May period), and we slept with windows open with no disturbance. Well, no, the only disturbance was from the birds on the trees across the street who happened to wake up really early :) And it was a great way to wake up.

The Hotel staff was really great and helpful, spoke very good English. Parking lot wasn't big but we never had a problem to park there.

And again , a great view to Vesuvius and Naples just from your balcony, and the gulf of Naples steching below does the trick. It's a good place to stay to explore the area. If you're looking for an aparthotel in the area with the view and proximity to Sorrento that's the place. We did enjoy it very much.

The swimming pool is small, but nice. There are great panoramic views from the pool balcony - you can actually swim and look at the gulf at the same time.

And there's a very good restaurant across the road - La Tonnarella, highly recomended for the sea food lovers.

P.S. They give a discount for a long stay, so it's something to consider too.

Our second choices were Rota Suites (we haven't chosen it for the lack of view or parking) and La Terrazze (we have chosen it because it is quite far from the town. We have passed it on one of our drives, and, it is, indeed, far).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuli17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Miramare is a small hotel ten minutes walk from centre of Sorrento. We found our rooms to be large and very comfortable with plenty of storage space. The kitchenette was small, fine for hot drinks and preparing small meals although we ate out most days (thats what you do in Sorrento!)
The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels ( these are not not thick and fluffy like other hotels - more like very large t towels!). The front desk were VERY helpful, advice on all sorts of queries.
Snack bar fine for breakfast but basic for snacks.
Front facing rooms, sun terrace and pool areas all had fantastic views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples. Hotel situated on bend in busy road with no pavement so getting out with baby buggy was a bit scary.
Overall really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labrats7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Girl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This apart-hotel was very clean and staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Our room at the front had glorious views from every window, although the road below was reasonably busy and noisy, it didnt bother us too much. The most wonderful point about the Miramare was the cooking facilities - with the whole area so expensive, it was beneficial to our budget to be able to cook and eat in the room. The hotel is only about 10mins walk from the centre of town but is easier going to town as the walk is downhill rather than coming back uphill! All in all a very pleasing, clean, convenient hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygir62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing