We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with good staff”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #83 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with good staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July, half board, with Riviera. The rooms are basic - small tv, no drinks making or fridge - but comfortable. Front of hotel likely to provide view across Bay of Naples to Vesuvius (depends on vegetation - 211 was perfect). Small pool but adequate for gentle swimming and cooling off (no diving). Breakfast was same choice daily. Evening meals were fine to excellent, plenty to eat. Bonus is free Internet/WiFi. Staff are very helpful and attentive. 20 minute walk to Sorrento town, along busy road. Would stay here again. Restaurant next door was good value and good food for our last day's lunch.

Room Tip: front of hotel for best views (but may be noisy from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithLDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    161
    85
    30
    19
See reviews for
67
185
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

this is our third visit to this hotel, and we love it, booked to go back again in june 2012, the staff (including the jimmy edwards waiter) were excellent, got no complaints at all...well maybe one... the bathroom towels are very rough and not absorbent, it like drying yourself with a pillowcase.......roll on 2012 when we see u all at the metropole again, bringing friends with us this time .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrob777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We visited the Metropole as part of a Riviera package. We arrived latish in the evening, the reception staff were very pleasant and were served with a three course meal. The public rooms were excellent, a nice airy dining room and two comfortable lounges, one with a terrace. The bedroom was basic but very clean, the bathroom really needed a modernisation but again very clean. There was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom other than on the floor, not even a hook on the back of the door. We had a room at the back which was very quiet and we could sleep with the windows open. At the front the rooms were very noisy unless the windows were kept shut. As the week got hotter up to 40 degress this hotel practised what we have found in many European hotels and we call the "aircontrick", always excuses as to why the aircon was not working today in your room. If you complained however they turned it on. It turned off automatically if you opened a window which is fine.
The hotel sits on what must be one of the maddest junctions in Europe, it is a fork on a curve on a hill and it was entertainment to watch from the terrace the exploits of the mad Italian drivers and very noisy with horns, roaring engines and the waspish rasp of scooters. Apparently there are many accidents but surprisingly we did not witness one.
The food, oh dear! Breakfast was just adequate for a continental. Funny tasting cornflakes, tinned fruit, unidentifiable fruit juice and passable toast. The evening meals which were included in our package looked promising on the menu, typically choice of three starters, four mains and three sweets. The starters were far too big and unpalatable. The mains were insipid with tinned vegetables, the sweet of ice cream or cake or fruit was just about OK. On the last night there was a Gala dinner. The starters were some sort of balls of dough, very chewy and flavourless, the next course was a macaroni pie, lots more dough. The main not bad was salmon on julienne vegetables with a sort of sauce and the sweet was three large profiteroles with cream and chocolate sauce. Funny tasting and far too big - another load of dough! We looked out for the Jimmy Edwards waiter criticised in another review, easy to identify him. We found them all quite pleasnt but they got very harassed and stressed at peak times in the dining room. Jimmy Edwards was a bit of a bull in a china shop but we found him OK. Another resdent however complained about his rudeness and he had to apologise.
There is a very good restaurant next door to the hotel and we escaped there a couple of times to get a good meal.
The location was a problem we found. The town was a twenty minute walk away but we found it too dangerous to walk down the first half mile which is narrow, bendy with no pavement and roaring traffic. We set out once and turned back. A number of younger guests did brave the walk. Even crossing the road near the hotel is a death defying experience. We used the bus which was OK but when it drops you off on the way back you step out into the middle of the mad junction, another thrill to get across to the hotel.
We used a taxi once, 23 Euro from town to hotel.
The hotel has free wi-fi but it does not penetrate all rooms. There is a PC in one of the lounges for guests. There was an ancient small TV in our room.
In summary this hotel would be superb with two fundamental changes, firstly a proper chef and secondly a shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Back for quiet, front second floor uphill side for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshireBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. They all spoke English and remembered room numbers, likes and dislikes. As stated on another review reception area was a little dated but I think gave it more ambience!! Rooms and en-suites were extremely clean, bright and pleasant. Swimming pool and terraces were clean, well equipped, attractive with plenty of greenery and bright flowers. Food was good, large portions and the house red wine excellent! We had a twin room and balcony with views across Naples Bay and Vesuvius....Bliss.... Short, walking distance into Sorrento and close to all bus routes. Would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This Hotel was pleasant, clean and simple. The rooms needed an update but were clean and had pretty showers, powerful and spacious with a door rather than the cling wrap curtains! Don't expect fab food, it's edible, the pasta is great but otherwise just so so. And the portions are not huge, but ask for a little more and the waiters will oblige. The staff are very pleasant but move at top speed and are not afraid of interrupting a conversation to take your order! It would be much improved if they didn't panic so much.
The restaurant next door is a very welcome break from the plain fare, great food at fair prices and the house wine is less expensive and tastes much better than at the hotel. However the Gala night at the hotel was great fun and the food was wonderful, so they can pull it off sometimes.
We stayed at this hotel as part of a Riviera trip. We covered a lot of ground in 1 week, but do not expect the Riviera Guide to be much help beyond taking your money for the extra guides and trips. Our Guide couldn't tell us how long it would take to walk into the town! or how to get to Herculaneum. The walk to town is approx 20 mins. The road is busy without pavement at 1 point but it is safe, the cars are aware of pedestrians. The train to Herculaneum is less than 5 euros, easy to find and you can then spend a fantastic day there rather than the extortionate amount for the organised tour which allows you only a 2 hour stay. And don't bother with the lunch at Pompeii, make sure you make it clear you will spend the hour the others taking being served pizza taking in a little more at the site, I was astounded we had 2 hours at the site and 1 hour for pizza! Grab a slice on the run, you can sit a a cafe any day.
Sorrento is pretty, crazy busy and well worth an evening visit for the bustle and the music. Don't bother with the Foreigners club, the food is second rate, prices high and service not exceptional though the views are. We had some great lunches around the town. Going rate seemed to be approx 25 euros for lunch for 2, sandwich, prosseco/beer, icecream/coffee.
We met some great people on this trip, laughed till our sides ached and saw some wonderful sights.Overall a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: ASk for rear room for a sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidasyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My Wife and I stayed at the Metropole as part of a Rivieratravel holiday at the end of May. Whilst most of the staff were efficient and friendly, one waiter (a Jimmy Edwards lookalike) was the rudest waiter we have ever encountered. No niceties about this guy, just points in a general direction to a table he wants you to sit at, very offish when he speaks to you, bottles slammed down on the table.
Wouldn't say this ruined our holiday, but it certainly made us apprehensive when using the dining room.
All a shame really because the rest of the staff were friendly and the Rivieratravel reps were first class.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the rear of the hotel whict
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Check in was quick and efficient, the staff were friendly, helpful and had excellent English. The food was good and they provided for vegitarian diet without fuss. The hotel runs a chit system for drinks. The chits are returned with your final bill, which can be settled with credit/debit card.
Our room was very clean, airy and comfortable with a balcony and views to Vesuvius.The room was serviced each day. Extra bedding was available in the room. The TV showed BBC world news, if we wanted to watch it.
The hotel is located some 10 minutes walk from Sorrento town on a busy road junction. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and a frequent bus service. here is a swimming pool, internet access, bar, restaurant, comfortable public seating and large patio area where meals can be taken.
We particularily liked the staff, they were busy on our behalf and good humoured. The only drawback we can come up with is that it took some time to draw up the hot water!

Room Tip: front for views, back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KlintHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#88 of 100 in Sorrento
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Via Nastro Verde 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Metropole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing