We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Blackpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited on the 24th September for a week. The hotel is situated half way up a hill with no pavement for approx 300 yards. The walk into Sorrento is nerve racking at first due to the erratic drivers but you get used to it and it becomes quite enjoyable as the views are spectacular.
The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. The staff were courteous and friendly. The main downside was the food which wasn't always to our taste but as we much preferred evenings in the town it wasn't an issue.
We had a great time at this hotel, met some lovely people and got plenty of exercise to work off all the great food we indulged in.
As it was situated on the main road we had read reviews that said it was noisy, however we were at the back and it was very peaceful! The wifi was a little erratic and maybe a mini bus may be an investment to attract people who may not enjoy the walk.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back for quiet or T the front for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    170
    85
    30
    19
See reviews for
71
194
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Spent a weeks holiday with Omega Holidays based in this hotel, nice comfortable room with view across the bay to Naples and to Vesuvius. The hotel is set on a busy junction which gave us a good view of the Italian way of driving. The staff are very helpful and the food was very nice with a different choice every night. Would like to have spent longer here just to enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAURENCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great time at the Metropol hotel. Sat in room 216 over looking the bay at Vesuvius. Rooms large and clean, bathroom spaciuos and just had a nice hot shower. Upon arrival both my wife and I had a lovely greeting and the check in was swift and efficient. The evening meal was excellent, piping hot three course meal. The dining room staff are very nice and Jimmy Edwards a likable man with a sharp Italian sense of humour which made meal times most enjoyable. Breakfast is just as good, plenty of food including scrambed eggs, eatvas much as you want. No problems here. If we were to come back to Sorrento we would certainly come back to Hotel Metropol. I have had a knee operation and use a crutch to get around until the knee has healed. This walk into Sorrento took twenty minutes and that was taking my time. There is a bus servic to and from Sorrento. Go by bus if you do not wish to walk but becaware taxis are expensive. We are looking forward to the Thursday Gala dinner, should be great. Hotel Metropol may not be new but it has character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week September 2013.

Pleasant enough looking hotel at first look, however the location at a very busy and noisy intersection along with the legendary Italian attitude to driving, make it a very treacherous walking experience, even to the closest bus stop.
The sea view balcony had a sea view, but with the noise from the constant drooning of mopeds, bus driver's honking horns and the complete lack of sun.... makes it not worthwhile.
Maybe coffee making facilities in the room would help.
Mentioning coffee........ I can honestly say the coffee at breakfast was the worst any of use had ever tasted, best described by one of the party as undrinkable.
The pool area is reasonably pleasant. ... constant traffic noise and the small pool is the first point in the area to lose the sun.... not ideal. With the hotel soo close to higher ground the whole sun bathing area loses the sun quite early.
The rooms and bedroom furniture are adequate but also antiquated, it could do with a modernisation.
We didn't have half board so no comment on meals but, I can say the choice of restaurants in Sorrento are excellent.
Bus service to the hotel is v good from town.
Walk into town centre 20 to 25 mins.
Overall there must be better b&b options.
Beaches ( well lidos) a bit of a rip off but well serviced and pleasant to swim from.
Great excursions available.
Train service v good if a tad over crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronCaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

devon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We travelled with Newmarket Holidays which included three trips. We arrived late but were offered soup with a roll and cold meats with salad which was gratefully accepted. We had a twin room which had a large terrace o n 1st floor and situated at the rear of hotel and was so peaceful overlooking shrubs ,etc. room was spotless and beds comfy no complaints. The food was average but plenty of choices four choices of cereal fruit yoghurt scrambled egg toast and cakes and there was four choices for evening meal also so you could always find something you like. The walk into town took 15 mins a bit hairy in parts but you soon got used to it we walked down and got a bus back. Staff mostly elderly but friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel for value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor and rear of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaside2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I wouldnt choose this hotel again. While it was clean the paintwork on the doors was either very old or needed a good clean. The staff were friendly to a point. It was a good 15minute walk from the centre of town and the walk from the hotel to half way to town had no footpath and was on a very busy road with little room for walking. THere is a bus stop not far from the hotel but we were there 3 days before staff explained to us where it was and how often buses came lucky we are good walkers anyway. THere was no atmosphere in the hotel in the evenings. Breakfast was ok

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

To get there you need a car or cab. Cab was 25 euro expensive for 5 minutes ride. Hotel was great 30 years ago but now is run down. It was the only place still available for the date I was looking for - it was national holiday. Hotel is having ants problem- everywhere: room, bathroom. Very scarce with shampoo in the bathroom and poor quality. Restaurant was nice and nice not expensive food. The same water served us at 10 pm dinner and at 7 am for breakfast. Very nice gentleman though. Breakfast simple. I did not like it. I would not recommend unless the last place open.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithkids0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#88 of 100 in Sorrento
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Via Nastro Verde 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Metropole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing