We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Leone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Leone
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Cambridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Would definitely stay here again (IF I ever come back to this area - the road traffic was terrible all through the area). Great hotel, fabulous breakfast, good WIFI, secure parking. Short (5 min) walk to the touristy section of town.
As for other's comments: road noise was not a problem, some noise from water pipes, but not bad. Couldn't hear others in adjacent rooms.
Aside from the hotel - traffic was horrible (May 2014). 90 min. from Pompeii. We drove to the Amalfi coast, then turned back because the traffic was stopped dead on the coast highway. Spent a lovely day walking about Sorrento. Wouldn't go back to the area because of the congestion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiking_reads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    169
    60
    23
    14
See reviews for
60
202
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife took our daughters and her mother to Sorrento for a short break over Easter and stayed at the Leone. They were all pleased with the standard of accommodation (not easy to achieve with my mother-in-law!). The location is good, OK not near the sea, but a short walk to plenty of cafes, restaurants and shops. The breakfasts were fine and the WiFi (all important for the teenage girls) worked well. They would all be happy to stay at the Leone again.

One very minor gripe was that the hotel did not provide even a simple evening meal. They would have liked this, especially on the first night when they were a bit too tired to enjoy goig out for a full restuarant meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Location close to center, clean and beautifull rooms, nice and helpfull staff, always ready to answer questions. And - very inportant in south Italy - a parking place!
The only thing unconfortable : the walls are probably very thin and you can heare water running, moving chairs ,etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It is relatively of newer construction and offers a self parking which is rare in Sorrento. The rooms are of adequate size, the reception service is very friendly, the breakfast is quite good with fresh fruits and there is an elevator which helps with the luggage. The main set back is the road noise especially in the morning; soundproofing is not adequate.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Minah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere in Sorrento that is of reasonable value but without the view of the sea, then this is your place. Rooms clean albeit a little dated, good breakfast and just off the main drag, but an easy walk. Sun Terrace useful on the roof for an hour or so too. If you are staying here for a wedding, note that the hotel does not own an iron, nor does the 5*? Hotel Ambascatori, in their defense, so would like to suggest to management that the cost of €30 to purchase one, would make a lot if travelers very happy, especially as Sorrento seems to be 'Wedding Capitol' of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrony5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Pros:
-good location, a 10 min walk from the train station
-easy access to capri from the marina
-easy access to positano, amalfi and ravello via the sita buses at the train station
-the front desk employees were very friendly and helpful
-the breakfast was great with a full assortment of fruit, pastries, cheese and sliced meats
-the wifi worked well in the room
-the room was clean and comfortable. We also had a balcony
-we enjoyed having drinks on the patio of fauno bar in the main piazza. Check it out!

Cons:
-the coffee in the morning was terrible

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I stayed for a week and had a lovely time in Sorrento. The hotel is run very efficiently, the rooms are basic but clean and the breakfast is good. The staff are professional but some of them were not so friendly (this did not spoil our stay). The only issue is the noise of the outside traffic but I suspect that would be true of many hotels and after a while you do not notice it.

Regarding location, its on a slight hill and was a little too far to walk with luggage from the train station for me but fine without; trips to Pomepeii etc. via train were very easy. It's a short stroll into the town but a bit of hike to the port and/or pontoon by the sea.

I recommend the wine shop across the road that sells a variety of wines for 2 Euros a litre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leone

Property: Hotel Leone
Address: Via Parsano 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leone 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leone Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing