We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth 3 stars”
Review of Hotel Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Igea
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth 3 stars”
Reviewed 7 June 2008

I was glad we only stayed for a week at this hotel as the food got very boring and I wont mention breakfast due to my believe they watered the milk down, the only nice thing about the restaurant are the staff they are very nice and make you feel very welcome.
The day we checked in we had this feeling that we were going to be the only people as there was nobody to be seen in the hotel and round the pool. We met some very nice people at dinner as the other gasts were either French, Spanish or German and only stayed for a few days. As for the petrol station yes there was one but it is only very small if you are not carefull you will drive pass it and not even notice it is there our room was at the back of the hotel so we didn't notice the noise of the cars or the smell of the petrol. We did not have a safe or a fridge in our room and there was no shower curtain in the bathroom which made the floor very dangerous, the hair dryer was nearly coming off the wall I am thinking health and safety !! The hotel is situated a 10 Minute bus drive from Sorrento town centre, fortunately the bus stops in front of the hotel and tickets can be bought from the corner shop, walking into Sorrento is very dangerous as there are no footpaths and there are a lot of blind corners. All in all I was glad to go home and I will not go back there.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    82
    66
    35
    34
See reviews for
40
106
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2007

as with other reviewers was shocked to see petrol pumps outside of the hotel which were directly below our balcony.we could smell the fumes which was a bit distracting to say the least.the hotel itself was very nice and rooms were clean and comfortable.we found the choice of food and qauntity was diabolical and ended up eating there on only the first night.but on the plus side the views from our balcony were absolutely fantastic and more than made up for other dissapointments.if this hotel could get its food sorted out then i would recommend it

  • Liked — clean comfortable,fantastic views.
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevenironDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed here in July 2007. Liked the food, good and lots of it, though breakfasts were disappointing - how hard would fresh juice be. The aircon was ok while we were there. We were a bit surprised given how many Brits and Americans were there that there didn't seem to be much English spoken at reception. The bus to Sorrento was frequent and cheap, and there's a rocky beach down the hill opposite the hotel. But if you like night life you won't find it there, you'll need to go into the town, which would be a bit of a bind. The plus is that it's pretty quiet, at least at the back.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We returned from our holiday yesterday. Unfortunately we had booked before we discovered Trip Advisor but went with the hotel as it would have been too costly to change it.

1. First of all, the one good thing about this hotel is the restaurant waiting staff. They were multilingual, funny and friendly, and could not do enough to help us. However, the head waiter gave us more cause for concern. On one occasion, we observed him dropping a pile of cutlery onto the floor, which he then proceeded to pick up and put back into the drawer. This did not give us much confidence in the cleanliness of the hotel.

2. With regard to the air conditioning. Trip Advisor contributors were correct - it was impossible to get the air conditioning to stay on for more than 30 seconds at a time. When I asked about this at reception I was told that the air conditioning was out of order. However, no attempt was being made to repair it. In our opinion, it was simply centrally controlled. It made getting a full night's sleep very difficult - and we were supposed to be on holiday getting some rest! The hotel advertises itself as being air conditioned - clearly not true.

3. With regard to towels. These were of poor quality, sometimes with holes. The most horrifying incident was when we were given a bath mat, and a towel which appeard to have spots of dried blood on it. This happened on not one but THREE occasions. The first time the offending item was taken to reception and was changed, but by the third time we got tired of complaining and threw the dirty items into the corner without using them. HAS THIS HOTEL NOT HEARD OF HIV???

4. The petrol pumps outside the hotel - correct. We were not at the front, so only had to deal with the smell when leaving the hotel - or when a delivery was taking place. We were keen to find out what came first - the hotel or the petrol pumps? We managed to find out that originally the hotel had been a garage but that there were no pumps. So the hotel was built and then the pumps were put in. The hotel leaflet has a photo of the hotel on it, and the pumps appear to have been airbrushed out. Again, dodgy advertising has taken place.

5. The paving outside the hotel is very uneven, due to a tree whose roots are pushing the paving stones up. The oil tank and the cars that drive up the hotel probably do not help matters either. Therefore this hotel is not recommended for those with problems walking as there is a major trip hazard outside the hotel.

6. The swimming pool is unsafe. There is no member of staff in the vicinity, no safety procedures and no ring on the side should anyone get into difficulty. The edge of the pool is painted, and this is slippery when wet. My husband actually slipped off the side of the pool, fortunately falling clear into the water - he could easily have hit the edge and sustained a serious injury.

So that was our experience. Our advice would be that if you are on a budget and are not travelling in high summer this hotel would be OK. But if you want a better experienence, be prepared to pay a bit more and go for a four star hotel.

  • Liked — Restaurant staff
  • Disliked — Dirty towels, controlled air con
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2007

I stayed here in June 06 and I was really disappointed with every aspect of my stay here. I will not list all faults as there are so many and it would take a while to do so. I would just like to pre warn those who are thinking of staying at this hotel to book elsewhere.

  • Liked — There was nothing to like
  • Disliked — Everything but cleanliness and health & safety issues was the worst
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSFOX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

First impressions of petrol pumps are a bit off putting but overall we found the service fine, food good basic Italian. Not the ritz but good value in Italy for the price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — petrol pumps
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2006

If you have booked with Travelsphere for the Hotel Plaza in the centre of Sorrento, and find yourselves staying here at the last minute then we suggest you cancel quick and get a full refund. Everything bad that has been said about this hotel is the complete truth. The bus service is erratic to say the least. 2km from Sorrento is economical with the truth and must be as the crow flies and to the very outskirts of the wrong end of Sorrento. There are no pavements so you cannot walk. The staff are unhelpful and everything is closed when you want to use the facilities. Safety deposit boxes are just an open drawer. The air conditioning is only operative by a central computer in reception and is off when you most need it. The petrol station forecourt that the hotel is built on is the most scary as the fumes are bad, the customers can regularly be seen smoking whilst refuelling (We are not joking) and it is air-brushed out of all the hotel literature. You have been warned!

  • Liked — Coming home
  • Disliked — Location, location, location
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this hotel at all costs
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirleyatamberwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Igea

Property: Hotel Villa Igea
Address: Via Capo 96, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Igea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Igea Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing