We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Igea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,066
US$892
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$307
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$228
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
39
87
73
42
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
87
73
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshop oppositeregina giovannacentral sorrentocontinental breakfasttriple roomfree shuttlerisottolate at nighttrain stationkalimeracaprihairdryerpoolsidecleanerscappuccinoantonio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2005

Imagine how you would feel if on arrival at your hotel you find it fronted by a row of petrol pumps about six feet from the hotel entrance! This is exactly what you get whilst staying at the Igea, and if you are 'lucky' enough to get a room on the front, the smell of petrol and exhaust fumes from the cars vans buses and scooters pulling in for fuel.
Having got over this shock, the actual loby and rooms in the hotel are clean and modern looking but our room had all those minor problems like poorly fitting balcony doors. shower curtains which stopped six inches from the shower basin, poorly flushing toilet..........
Food was a bit hit and miss with awfull tea, and breakfast was the same each day with questionable fresh rolls but lots of cakes.
The pool area was OK but the pool toilet and wash room was not clean.
The location of the hotel was too far out of the town for most guests to walk but the local bus terminus is just across the busy main road into Sorrento.
I have rated the hotel above but feel a more accurate rating would be poor-
somewhere in-between terrible and OK.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
114
Reviewed 12 March 2005

I have stayed at Villa Igea twice, in May and July 2004. It is quirky, but, if you give a little of your time to the staff, you will get a lot back in return. I noticed a big improvement in the quality of breakfast when i returned in July. The hotel is under new management, and they are trying their best to improve things.
The rooms are very clean, and towels were replaced daily. You have to remember that this is Italy, and relax.....
The waiters are very friendly. If you tell them how you prefer your tea/coffee, they will make sure it is there for you as soon as you come down for breakfast. Talk to them - they will tell you about the area where you are staying.
The prices per room are very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2004

We just returned from a tour which had us scheduled for the Hotel Teresa in downtown Sorrento but somehow we were put up at the Hotel Igea. Our room was on the top floor (4th) was very small with slanted ceilings that we hit our heads numerous times daily. The shower was so small you could not bend to wash your feet. My hubby managed to get stuck on one occasion (it WAS funny). The room was clean however and had a wonderful view of the bay and surrounding countryside. Next problem was the A/C..we were aware in advance that during the months of June, July, Aug A/C could be "limited" as they say. Well I guess this means certain times of day, in this case from 5:00pm until 11:15PM and mind you it was HOT! and no they would not change their rules. The elevator held two people only (one suitcase only) and was very shaky (scary). A couple in our group got stuck and were manually extracted by two young boys on our tour. We decided on walking the four flights as breathless as it made us.
The food was ok, the same breakfast everyday, basic croissants, rolls, meat (just one kind) and some cereal that looked like ours at home but did not taste it. The arrogant waiters attended other guests at the hotel that were not on a tour with reserved seating and food placed at their tables. When the buffet ran out of items they were very determined to not replenish it. Coffee was blah and you had to wait quite some time for them to serve you. They were even more arrogant at the one dinner we ate there (included in tour). Also they were understaffed and overwhelmed. The pool area was very nice and clean, however we could not bring soda or cocktails to the pool unless we bought them from the bar (which was not always open) and they were very adamant in enforcing this..posting signs at elevator and around the pool area, reprimanding those who did not know this. So we did not frequent the bar that much instead a lot of us went to the very friendly "American Cafe" next to the hotel.
Even though we were located about 2 miles from city center there was a bus service directly across from the hotel that ran frequently for a euro each way.
We would not recommend this hotel to our friends and will be contacting our Tour company to file our complaint.

10  Thank deb_ocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2004

The hotel is really quite lovely and has a beautiful swimming pool and dining room. The rooms are attractive and spacious. But.....the air conditioning was turned off at night (we were there in the heat of the summer) and little attention was paid to replacing towels each day. Usually used towels were removed and not replaced. The wait staff in the dining room was arrogant and unaccomodating. There are three things I really appreciate when traveling - a comfortable bed, a bed lamp for reading and a cup of coffee in the morning. In the Hotel Igea, I was ignored until the waiters decided there were enough people in the dining room to merit coffee service. The food was good and plentiful but a more client-friendly staff would have made our stay more pleasant. I would probably not visit this hotel again or recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews