We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful we were in a group!”
Review of Hotel Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Igea
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 26 September 2006

This was an alternative hotel to the one booked with our Tour Operator. Absolute shock when we arrived to find that the entrance is through petrol pumps and garage forecourt (see photo). There are actually rooms with balconies above the forecourt and people didn't seem to think about smoking near the pumps. The forecourt itself is very uneven and dangerous to walk on. Inside is not too bad, but a lot is to be desired where staff and management are concerned. We quickly knew not to put our passports into the "safe" as it was an unlocked drawer in reception. The food was only just acceptable and if we hadn't been in a large tour party, it would have been a disastrous holiday. Fortunately, the people we were with were so nice. we made some good friends. There is a nice swimming pool, but we didn't see it skimmed or cleaned while we were there, so by the time we left it was covered in leaves and dead flies. It's out of town and it's too dangerous to walk into Sorrento. However, there is a good bus service opposite. You have great difficulty if you want a coffee outside of breakfast time, as the bar is always closed. Our party went to the theatre on Saturday night, and we all expected to have a nightcap when we returned, but the bar was closed and the fire door locked! Regret that we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoniJoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2006

The outside of the hotel does look a bit dodgy: but the interior was nice enough and was well kept.

It wasn't perfect: the waiters didn't really care that much, the breakfast was awful and they weren't very flexible (centrally controlled air conditioning that seem to go warmer when you arrived in the room!).

However, it was good value, it was pretty clean and the pool was sunny most of the day. It was a pretty good family hotel, and was good value if you negotiate

The restaurant over the road was pretty nice (but watch your bill!), as was the restaurant ten minutesdown the road.

There is a free beach ten minutes down the road - but it is a bit of a walk back up to the hotel.

It isn't in Sorrento - but the 1 euro bus trip each way was convenient and regular. The bus stop was opposite and the service from the bus service is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBSN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

On arrival we were absolutely aghast with the outside, imagining petrol pumps right outside your hotel, uneven forecourt, which in our party of four we all managed to trip over. It looked like a ghost town out of dodge city. when I asked if was possible to keep our passports in their safe deposit box, they were kept in a drawer. Under the counter were other guests passports, which any body could have picked up and stolen. The shower was black with grime, no smell of any cleaning materials. Floor was swept (if we were lucky) once. The towels should have been discarded years ago, so thin & hard they scratched you when drying yourself. Waiters were not interested in serving us, only large tour parties, food was terrible, bread was so hard you almost broke your teeth. The hotel was advertised as in Sorrento but it was not, it was a good ten minutes or so on the bus.

The best part of our holiday was the weather, absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cousiethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

We have just returned from a week stay at this hotel in the bay of Naples. On arrival we were given the keys to our room and told where it was. First impression of the hotel was good as the room had a superb view across the bay, with an excellent view of Ischia and Vesuvius from the balcony. We then went straight to dinner and had to sit at a table which still had the dirty dishes from the previous user. These were not removed until after our first course. The night I had a seafood pasta dish which had some sort of small octopus tentacles in it which were not mentioned on the menu. The limited menu was a choice each night of 3 starters and 3 main courses the guests picking 1 starter and 1 main course each. I personally thought that the portions were very small and there was very little choice for my wife being a vegetarian. In fact, the only real choice she had each night for main course was an omlette, and soup for a starter. This was the case every night for the week we stayed. I love my food and was extremely disappointed at the lack of choice and the size of the portions, I mean this is Italy and I excpected at least one night to be a pizza or lasagne, but no. In fact a veal fillet was the main course for at least 3 nights and one a veal stew for another. I also believe that we were not the only guests disappointed with the food as on two occasions we saw a couple up and leave in dissapointment. Thank god for the super pizzaria across the road where we and several of the other guests ate on several evenings owing to the disappointment of the food at the hotel. On one day we were taking an excursion and were being collected early by a coach. We were informed by the hotel reception that a packed lunch was available as we would miss breakfast. The kitchen were informed in advance on 3 occasions of our requirements for the packed lunch on the previous day. The bus arrived and had to wait for the hotel to get our packed lunch which was supposed to be waiting for us at reception. They had forgot, and when it did arrive we were given bread rolls filled with ham and no butter, and nothing for my wife, even though they were informed that one packed lunch would have to be vegetarian. When returning from the trip I mentioned this to a guy on reception, and he just laughed, which upset my wife who had had no breakfast and we had been out for 11 hours. We should not have had to eat in the pizzaria across the road when we had payed for our breakfast and dinner meals (half-board). The air conditioning was switched off every morning and not turned on again in the evening unless we asked. In fact one morning we woke up and it had been switched off in the night. This is ridiculous in mid August when the day time temperatures were in the region of 38 degrees. The hotel also charges 3 euros for the use of a towel in its own swimming pool. The hot water supply appeared also to be limited. I have stayed half-board on many occasions before and have never come across a hotel that has been this freugal before, and I have never had to pay for the use of towels for bathing in a hotel's own pool before. I would not stay at this hotel again, nor would I recommend it. We feel that some of the staff were arrogant, however a couple were polite and apologetic, but nothing changed. If you do stay here I would recommend that you eat at the pizza shop across the road (with a wood oven) as the food, atmosphere, service and staff are all excellent and give a real taste of Italy's fine cuisine.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakegizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Last year a group of us visited Sorrento. Prior to leaving we had booked a hotel down the road from the Villa Igea, but we had to move after 2 days as it was so dreadful - it had the same star rating as Villa Igea! However, we shopped around a little and ended up staying for a few weeks at the Villa Igea.

I have to say we were impressed. The pool was beautiful, our room boasted an enormous balcony (think it was the only room with a balcony of that size!) with the most fantastic views across the bay of Naples. The rooms were very clean, and towels were replaced daily. The waiters were wonderful, extremely friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for Anna and Fernando!!

With regard to a previous post - the petrol pumps outside the hotel do not look great I agree. If it is any consolation this is actually classed as the side entrance to the hotel - which most people use. The main entrance is round the corner .

From what I have seen of other hotels in this price range I would say it was definitely one of the better ones and would go again without hesitation.

Enjoy!!

xxx

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank katygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

The Igea Hotel is actually located at "Capo di Sorrento", which is the top of Sorrento, approx 15 minutes from Downtown/Port area. It was extremely convenient taking the bus downtown (1 Euro each way) from first./last stop across the street. Staying away from the hustle & bustle of Sorrento was pleasant & very economical. There is a deli and a wonderful pizzeria across the street & a nice coffee bar next door. The local church is 1/2 block away. Traveling with our two teenagers & Grandma, we booked one double & one triple room. Rooms were spacious & clean. The views from our room/veranda were spectacular. The continental breakfast buffet was good, but only served until 9AM. Very nice pool / gardens area ! Staff extemely friendly & courteous. We recommend this hotel & look foward to our trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesarnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2005

Imagine how you would feel if on arrival at your hotel you find it fronted by a row of petrol pumps about six feet from the hotel entrance! This is exactly what you get whilst staying at the Igea, and if you are 'lucky' enough to get a room on the front, the smell of petrol and exhaust fumes from the cars vans buses and scooters pulling in for fuel.
Having got over this shock, the actual loby and rooms in the hotel are clean and modern looking but our room had all those minor problems like poorly fitting balcony doors. shower curtains which stopped six inches from the shower basin, poorly flushing toilet..........
Food was a bit hit and miss with awfull tea, and breakfast was the same each day with questionable fresh rolls but lots of cakes.
The pool area was OK but the pool toilet and wash room was not clean.
The location of the hotel was too far out of the town for most guests to walk but the local bus terminus is just across the busy main road into Sorrento.
I have rated the hotel above but feel a more accurate rating would be poor-
somewhere in-between terrible and OK.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#78 of 100 in Sorrento
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rivage Hotel
Rivage Hotel
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Igea

Address: Via Capo 96, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £71 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Igea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Igea Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing