We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant staff, but would not choose again”
Review of Hotel Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Igea
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We returned from our holiday yesterday. Unfortunately we had booked before we discovered Trip Advisor but went with the hotel as it would have been too costly to change it.

1. First of all, the one good thing about this hotel is the restaurant waiting staff. They were multilingual, funny and friendly, and could not do enough to help us. However, the head waiter gave us more cause for concern. On one occasion, we observed him dropping a pile of cutlery onto the floor, which he then proceeded to pick up and put back into the drawer. This did not give us much confidence in the cleanliness of the hotel.

2. With regard to the air conditioning. Trip Advisor contributors were correct - it was impossible to get the air conditioning to stay on for more than 30 seconds at a time. When I asked about this at reception I was told that the air conditioning was out of order. However, no attempt was being made to repair it. In our opinion, it was simply centrally controlled. It made getting a full night's sleep very difficult - and we were supposed to be on holiday getting some rest! The hotel advertises itself as being air conditioned - clearly not true.

3. With regard to towels. These were of poor quality, sometimes with holes. The most horrifying incident was when we were given a bath mat, and a towel which appeard to have spots of dried blood on it. This happened on not one but THREE occasions. The first time the offending item was taken to reception and was changed, but by the third time we got tired of complaining and threw the dirty items into the corner without using them. HAS THIS HOTEL NOT HEARD OF HIV???

4. The petrol pumps outside the hotel - correct. We were not at the front, so only had to deal with the smell when leaving the hotel - or when a delivery was taking place. We were keen to find out what came first - the hotel or the petrol pumps? We managed to find out that originally the hotel had been a garage but that there were no pumps. So the hotel was built and then the pumps were put in. The hotel leaflet has a photo of the hotel on it, and the pumps appear to have been airbrushed out. Again, dodgy advertising has taken place.

5. The paving outside the hotel is very uneven, due to a tree whose roots are pushing the paving stones up. The oil tank and the cars that drive up the hotel probably do not help matters either. Therefore this hotel is not recommended for those with problems walking as there is a major trip hazard outside the hotel.

6. The swimming pool is unsafe. There is no member of staff in the vicinity, no safety procedures and no ring on the side should anyone get into difficulty. The edge of the pool is painted, and this is slippery when wet. My husband actually slipped off the side of the pool, fortunately falling clear into the water - he could easily have hit the edge and sustained a serious injury.

So that was our experience. Our advice would be that if you are on a budget and are not travelling in high summer this hotel would be OK. But if you want a better experienence, be prepared to pay a bit more and go for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2007

I stayed here in June 06 and I was really disappointed with every aspect of my stay here. I will not list all faults as there are so many and it would take a while to do so. I would just like to pre warn those who are thinking of staying at this hotel to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MRSFOX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

First impressions of petrol pumps are a bit off putting but overall we found the service fine, food good basic Italian. Not the ritz but good value in Italy for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

If you have booked with Travelsphere for the Hotel Plaza in the centre of Sorrento, and find yourselves staying here at the last minute then we suggest you cancel quick and get a full refund. Everything bad that has been said about this hotel is the complete truth. The bus service is erratic to say the least. 2km from Sorrento is economical with the truth and must be as the crow flies and to the very outskirts of the wrong end of Sorrento. There are no pavements so you cannot walk. The staff are unhelpful and everything is closed when you want to use the facilities. Safety deposit boxes are just an open drawer. The air conditioning is only operative by a central computer in reception and is off when you most need it. The petrol station forecourt that the hotel is built on is the most scary as the fumes are bad, the customers can regularly be seen smoking whilst refuelling (We are not joking) and it is air-brushed out of all the hotel literature. You have been warned!

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shirleyatamberwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

This was an alternative hotel to the one booked with our Tour Operator. Absolute shock when we arrived to find that the entrance is through petrol pumps and garage forecourt (see photo). There are actually rooms with balconies above the forecourt and people didn't seem to think about smoking near the pumps. The forecourt itself is very uneven and dangerous to walk on. Inside is not too bad, but a lot is to be desired where staff and management are concerned. We quickly knew not to put our passports into the "safe" as it was an unlocked drawer in reception. The food was only just acceptable and if we hadn't been in a large tour party, it would have been a disastrous holiday. Fortunately, the people we were with were so nice. we made some good friends. There is a nice swimming pool, but we didn't see it skimmed or cleaned while we were there, so by the time we left it was covered in leaves and dead flies. It's out of town and it's too dangerous to walk into Sorrento. However, there is a good bus service opposite. You have great difficulty if you want a coffee outside of breakfast time, as the bar is always closed. Our party went to the theatre on Saturday night, and we all expected to have a nightcap when we returned, but the bar was closed and the fire door locked! Regret that we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoniJoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

The outside of the hotel does look a bit dodgy: but the interior was nice enough and was well kept.

It wasn't perfect: the waiters didn't really care that much, the breakfast was awful and they weren't very flexible (centrally controlled air conditioning that seem to go warmer when you arrived in the room!).

However, it was good value, it was pretty clean and the pool was sunny most of the day. It was a pretty good family hotel, and was good value if you negotiate

The restaurant over the road was pretty nice (but watch your bill!), as was the restaurant ten minutesdown the road.

There is a free beach ten minutes down the road - but it is a bit of a walk back up to the hotel.

It isn't in Sorrento - but the 1 euro bus trip each way was convenient and regular. The bus stop was opposite and the service from the bus service is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandBasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

On arrival we were absolutely aghast with the outside, imagining petrol pumps right outside your hotel, uneven forecourt, which in our party of four we all managed to trip over. It looked like a ghost town out of dodge city. when I asked if was possible to keep our passports in their safe deposit box, they were kept in a drawer. Under the counter were other guests passports, which any body could have picked up and stolen. The shower was black with grime, no smell of any cleaning materials. Floor was swept (if we were lucky) once. The towels should have been discarded years ago, so thin & hard they scratched you when drying yourself. Waiters were not interested in serving us, only large tour parties, food was terrible, bread was so hard you almost broke your teeth. The hotel was advertised as in Sorrento but it was not, it was a good ten minutes or so on the bus.

The best part of our holiday was the weather, absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cousiethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#79 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Igea

Address: Via Capo 96, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Igea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Igea Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing