We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from a week in Sorrento at The Ascot. Please don't listen to the bad reviews. This was our second visit to Sorrento. The first time we stayed at the Setti Mociello, and although it was a nice hotel, the walk up the hill can be a bit tiring in the heat so this time we opted for The Ascot. It's much closer to the centre of town and just a short walk to the train station. The room was great and cleaned every day. The breakfast was simple, toast, cereal etc, but what more do you want in a morning? The evening meal consisted of a starter, main course and dessert. Each morning the menu was put up outside the restaurant showing what was on offer that night. There were three choices for each course and although not 5 star, we never had a bad meal. The staff can't do enough for you. Just ask and its done. This is a great little hotel and a really reasonably priced place to stay if you want to visit Sorrento. My wife and I will definitely return. Thank you for making our holiday so very special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ascot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have had to think really hard about this review as I want to be fair. It is very much a case of you get what you pay for I suppose, but there were some real issues with attention to detail. Our room was in the block at the back which appears to be much more in need of some attention that the main blocks, although it looked like the rooms were pretty much the same on the inside. They are fairly small and basic and anyone who likes spending time in their room should perhaps try somewhere else. We don't so that wasnt such an issue. The attention to detail problems were that when we arrived the bed was in the middle of the room and had not been completely made, it was late and so we just finished it ourselves. The bed itself had a very strange plastic underblanket which made the bed feel constantly wet and the shower was almost unusable, a tiny trickle of water. The remote control didnt work for the very small TV which has only one channel in English. The balcony was very scruffy and in need of some attention. The room was not cleaned one day and I had to go and ask for towels another as we didnt get any. Also our room was on the ground floor and the cleaner left the balcony door open one day which was a bit worrying. In fairness when you do go and ask them for towels etc. they act on it straight away and they were very nice friendly on the front desk.
The pool area is small and well maintained but it is also well worth checking out the roof terrace as its pretty empty and there is lots of space. The continental breakfast is fine and the one night we ate in the hotel the food was not bad (but being in Sorrento you have to go and try the amazing restaurants in town if you can). I think they have taken on board some of the previous comments because they do now put the dinner menu outside the restaurant in the morning so that you can see it before you sit down at night. A lot of people mention the "reasonable" drink prices - I would say they are more than that they are probably the best in town - a bottle of wine is only 7 euro! It did not effect our holiday too badly that the hotel wasn't great because we love Sorrento but I can imagine other people really being disappointed by the hotel so I wanted to try and give a fair impression. The location is fantastic and we may have been a little unlucky with our room and some of the issues that we had so if you want to be in the heart of everything and dont mind a basic room then the price of this hotel might sway you.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building may have more traffic noise but they appear to be much better maintai...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HelenG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is old, tired, noisy and not welcoming to a single traveller. The room was dreadul, with prints of english hunting scenes ...why in such a beautiful part of Italy???? The bed was like a rock and do take earplugs. I could have joined in the conversations of the couple on one side and the other occupants on the other side both snored. The breakfast was adequate but don't risk the orange juice, it is orange squash.Awful. No doubt the larger rooms were fine but the single room was claustrophobic, dark and tiny. The saving grace is the roof terrace, not signposted but search for it as the views are splendid. The hotel is ideally suited for the town, with all the shops and restaurants within minutes and the train station is not far.

Room Tip: choose another hotel if you are single
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I had a lovely stay at this Hotel from 1st to 8th June 2012.
The hotel was very clean and tidy, food very good.
Hotel centrally located. Only fault was street noise outside.
I found staff very helpful and fixed things quickly.
Sorrento is great very friendly people and lovely Street markets.
The trips by Thomson are very costly Rome for a day 93 Euros although dinner included.
The monuments Like the Colosseum cost 12 Euros to get in.
To visit Pompeii and Herculaneum you pay 55 Euros and 20 Euros for a combined ticket although cheaper going on your own by train.Over all trips very costly indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for room 502 best in hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAMES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for the 3rd. time in May. The hotel is clean, meals typical Italian, but it's the location, being on the main street for shops, train station,, buses. No climbing as parts of Sorrento is quite steep.Sorrento is still the nicest place we've visited. Lovely walks. Trips to Pompeii on the train.Watch the train station pay desk, always check your change!!
Do try the sightseeing bus 12E

Room Tip: Back room as main road is at front
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank touariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week in Sorrento. The Hotel Ascot is situated centrally and proved to be a very good location for sightseeing. It is a short walk to the main square with plenty of shops and restaurants. The bus station and train station are about 15 minutes away from where you can buy a one day bus ticket (7 Euros) and catch the bus to Postiano and Amalfi, taking in the Amalfi drive, which is stunning (no need to pay for expensive trips with the holiday companies). It is also possible to travel to Naples and Pompei cheaply on the train.

The port is about 20 minutues away where boats go to Capri regularly (30 Euros) and Ischia (35 to 40 Euros, depending on the day). It is a steep walk down to the harbour and a lot of steps coming back up, but there is a cliff lift (1 Euro). I would recommend Ischia, even though there is a only one boat a day. Ischia is like an Island paradise - just beautiful. Buses CS and CD run around the Island every half hour and there are some fantastic views to be had.

Onto the hotel itself we were very lucky in getting a balcony on the top floor at the back of the hotel. It is quieter at the back of the hotel and the balcony was private and large with sun loungers and tables and chairs. There is a stunning view of the cliffs and the sea. All the balconies on the top floor are large. The room we had, room 502, is much requested according to the hotel receptionist and it wasn't hard to see why. The balconies on the other floors are not as large, but there is a very big roof terrace for anyone to use. There is also a good garden terrace on the ground floor, with shaded areas, and it was always easy to be served with a drink. The staff were friendly and professional. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed daily. The food is good, although not exceptional, but this is a 3 star hotel and very good value for money. The decor was good and the hotel was always spotless.

The only negative I can think of is that the pool is small, but we knew that before going and the purpose of the trip was to get out and about and tour the area. There is a wi fi hot spot in the lounge and it is expensive to use, but this is common of most hotels which charge for the internet. Some of the snack bars in Sorrento provide free wi fi (if you have a laptop, Ipad, Ipod touch etc with you, so it is worth seeking them out to save money.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good, central location. We would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor at the back or the side of the hotel. They have large balconies wit...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deb235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Cosmos 5160 tour hotel, right downtown Sorrento, nice rooms, close to shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volsfanFranklin_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
658 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#64 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Address: Via Capo 6, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £104 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascot Sorrento
Ascot Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing