We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a marvellous Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a marvellous Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel was a terrific find for us!! Having just returned from a 7 night stay at the Hotel Ascot I have to recommend it! It's got a superb situation at the top of Corso Italia and is within walking distance of all the amenities which Sorrento has to offer. I disagree with some of the comments about this hotel as we experienced absolutely NONE of the problems mentioned in the reviews.Cleanliness was superb..room was very comfortable..Air-Con worked perfectly..shower was perfect all in all..NO COMPLAINTS!! Just around the corner from the hotel, the Local bus will take you to Positano or all the way to Amalfi. There are two convenience type stores 50 meters from the hotel. We flew into Naples and took a bus to Sorrento Circumvesuviano Station for 10 euros and walked about 15 minutes to the hotel..EASY! There are many restaurants in Sorrento and you will be spoiled for choice and then a short walk back to the Hotel..NO NEED for taxis!!

Room Tip: Floor 4..Some rooms have a Terrace!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dublin-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    193
    92
    39
    28
See reviews for
104
216
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The only positive things I can find to say about this hotel are: excellent location (a short walk into the town centre) and decent, free internet connection available in the room. The negatives are probably too numerous to list but here is a start. The only morning I got hot water to shower was the last when I got up at 0630 to make my way to the airport. The breakfast was limited (this is the nicest way I can describe it), I repeatedly saw people having to bring down their own biscuits etc. to supplement 'breakfast' in the grim restaurant. The room was far from spotless, in the corner behind the ancient TV were cobwebs and during the 6 days I was there the dust steadily built up in the corners of the room; I do know that people came in to 'clean' the room as when I returned the curtains were closed and I had fewer towels than the day before. This hotel needs some serious cleaning and updating.

My colleague who stayed just across the street in Villa Maria appeared to fare much better, although he didn't have internet access most days (which was his only complaint). In conclusion this is definitely a budget hotel, fine if you are literally only using the room to sleep in and aren't desperate for a warm shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLeo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Well I have waited for so long to review this hotel in the hope that I can think of something positive to say about this hotel and here it is; the staff especially Maria on the terrace bar cant do enough for you and do try to make your stay enjoyable and the food is good but thats were it ends.I will start at the begining.
On arriving at the hotel we were allocated a room at the back(annex) of the hotel wich was approached down a dark passage way,in the room there was a strong smell of damp and the paint was peeling of the walls the bedspread was dirty,so we immediatley went back to reception and told them this room was unacceptable.Then we were given a room at the top of the main building. On entry to this room we notice an even stronger smell of damp and noticed a large black mould patch on the cieling,the lamp next to the bed was broken the wardrobe door was broken and the damp lined the skirting of the room,Pity would have been a nice room but for this.Then came room number 3in the same night,in here there was still the smell of damp,the underside of the bed was ripped,the toilet seat was broken the shower was lined with mould and didnt work,the air con worked but was very noisy and dripping water but it was getting late and our rep talked into staying in this over night.
Next day we tried to get moved to another hotel but were told this was impossible by our so called thomas cook rep.
The maintenance man then tried to fix the shower at first he failed and offered us another change,but when he told us which room(the last one we had rejected)we refuse and he then fixed the shower after a few hours and then the toilet didnt work,he repaired that and returned the next day to fix the shower again.
The worst thing about the room was the smell of damp and the lack of sleep due to the noisy aircon,we could have put up with the sheets and towels with holes in them and all the other things
but we need a good nights sleep so we can enjoy our holiday and this we did not.
In closing if you can put up with the above the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel within the same location and dont ignore negative reviews on trip advisor as we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keith3328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We enjoyed our 4 days at this hotel and agree with many of the comments made by others re location and friendly staff. We asked for a room with a view and got Room 502, which indeed does have a lovely big balcony with sea view, although not much time was spent on the balcony in February! However, this room seems to be at the end of the plumbing system and when there was heavy demand for water, we couldn't get any! We went down to breakfast dirty and showered when we came back. One little tip if you want a quick, cheap and cheerful meal, turn left out of the hotel and walk 100 yds. The Taberna has a limited menu (in February) but if you want something Italian and nearby, it's great!

Room Tip: Top floor at the end (502) ran out of water when lots of people showering at the same time in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnbgnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel has a very central location, close to shops and restaurants. It very close to the main street in Sorrento, Corso Italia. This street is pedestrianized at night. Our room had a small balcony at the front of the hotel. From there one could partially see the hills.
The room was adequate, with rather old fashioned decor. The bed was quite comfortable. The breakfasts were good. The dinners were fine, but with not much variety from day to day.
There was a small bar which also served the outdoor, tree lined, seated, patio area. There was a nice roof space with reclining seats for sunbathing. The reception staff were not over friendly. In fact they were just a little curt.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a week stay

Room Tip: If early morning traffic bothers you, then don't take a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamoGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Rooms full of damp and mould, broken shower and toilet, smashed lamp, holey sheets and towels., dripping and very noisy air conditioning, broken glass in a bottle of wine.....need I say more....this hotel really needs to sort itself out maintenance wise.... some of the staff were lovely, waiters and especially Maria at the poolside bar....the men on reception were not so nice. .... the food was ok, although got a bit samey on the second week.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillianp186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Went to Italy during the low season, so hotel wasn't crowded at all. Breakfast included in our package was basic (some fresh fruit, milk, cereal, yogurt, prepackaged pastries, coffee made to order), but more than adequate. Staff was super nice. Traveled with family, so we booked a triple, which was spacious and had a great view of the mountain behind. Location of the hotel was good, overall - it is on the other end of Corso Italia (from the train station), but it's a pleasant 15min walk to the train station, about 10-12min down to the dock to go to Capri.

Overall, clean rooms, courteous staff, and a great time on the Amalfi coast & Capri! Thanks Hotel Ascot!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#64 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Via Capo 6, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascot Sorrento
Ascot Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing