We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will never leave”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will never leave”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is unique in so many ways that from the first day I knew this would be one of my favorite spots in Italy.

From my balcony I had the most beautiful view over the bay with morning sun. The interior of the room was elegant with bathrobe and hot tub.

The staff are exquisitely polite, helpful and professional with a smile and friendly comment in all functions in the hotel.

Breakfast buffet was served in an elegant atmosphere with all different kinds of cereals, bread, eggs in different styles and pastries.

A pool and a wonderful outdoor bar completed my stay to be outstanding.

Can´t wait to be back :o)

Room Tip: Ask for bay view - morning sun and a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneDeaconJuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    244
    71
    15
    8
See reviews for
190
481
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

the hotel was great. We talked from the train station to the hotel. It was very easy to find. Towards the square and down a street. It was located near the marina/port where you take the ferry to capri and less than 5 min walking distance to the square and all the little shops / main area. You are far away from the hustle and bustle of the square but close enough. We had a balcony that we enjoyed hanging out on and the weather was perfect to lounge by the pool. The water was super clean and fresh, no feeling icky about it. The hotel overlooks the beautiful coast and the hotel staff 5 star!! The front desk were always helpful and the I want to say restaurant manager was super friendly and always had a smile. He was always there at breakfast greeting each guest and even personally taking time for each table with a quick conversation. The food was good and I loved the fresh fruit (peel your own oranges and cut up the kiwi) can't be any fresher. I agree with Roger L that at night time there was always noise coming from the school which is situated across the street. It must be a hangout for the kids because there were always kids listening to music in their cars, hanging out across the way, on their motor bikes and for late night hours too. Otherwise everything was great about the hotel. Oh forgot to mention another flaw, we had a queen room but it's two singles put together. It was hard for us to sleep together with any configuration (sleeping long way, side ways, diagonal), the beds slide all the time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Spent a week in Sorrento a couple of years ago and passed the Hotel Continental when walking up from Marina Grande and thought what a great location. So upon our return to Sorrento we selected the Continental and were not dissapointed, as mentioned the location is just about perfect for all areas of Sorrento being basically right in the middle of town, therefore only minutes from Tassos Square and all the restaurants and bars. The port was also minutes away via the lift. The hotel was excellent with wonderful staff. We had booked a seaview room with balcony which gave great views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. The room was a good size, the bathroom was lovely and the towels were changed twice a day, were probably the softess fluffiess I have known in any Hotel. The bed was 'turned down' every night with a nice chocolate left by the bed.
Antonio run a very slick restarant with service being of paramount importance. Finally after a night out it was nice to drop into the bar to be greeted by the barman Giovani who was really good.
In summary I could not fault the staff & service as they were absolutely fantastic I have stayed in many 4/5* Hotels worldwide and cannot recall any giving bettter service. The hotel I guess probably suits a slightly older clientel.
The only slighly negative comment I could make would be to turn on the air-con earlier, apprently it gets turned on, on June 1st, which made the rooms quite hot at night.
Sorrento is a stylish resort with a range of good quality restaurants, to suit all budgets, a visit to Capri is a must, the towns of Capri & AnaCapri are lovely but make sure to get the 'ski lift' to the very top as the view is stunning. A visit to Positano and Ravello is well worth while although it would be fair to say the 'Amalfi' coast road is not for the faint hearted!!.
In summary Sorrento is a great destination but not a beach holiday, when I return I will certainly return to the Continental.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GWOngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is an excellent hotel. Good accomodation, great sea views and aspect, and away from the more crowded parts of Sorrento. Situated on a square it isn't overlooked. Staff were excellent and the food was good too. We would happily stay again but (and there always is a but) - the square used at night by the local ragazzi - their school located there. So they tended to ride their noisy Vespas round and round into the early hours at the weekend. You will need to keep windows closed (double glazed so a good sound barrier) at night if you don't want to be disturbed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are stunning, but if you want a quieter room you need to select one at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Hotel Continental is an absolutely elegant hotel. From the sumptuous marble lobby to the gracious greetings and assistance from the Hotel staff to the lovely dining room and the cheerful, very green garden room... Everything about the hotel is artistically designed and immaculately maintained.

The rooms are comfortable and bright, with inlaid wood furniture and private balconies. The included breakfast is a feast, spread out across 4 aisles of tables. There is a billiards room, an exercise room and an inviting pool, with gardens. In the evening there is live music at the piano bar.

The location is excellent. Walk out the front door and you are already in a lovely park, with benches and flowers and sculptures, all bordered on one side by a wall overlooking Vesuvius and the Sea of Naples. In the next park over there are more sculptures, an outdoor café and a gelato shop, as well as an elevator that takes you down to the water level where you can buy tickets for the boat over to Capri. In warmer weather the beaches along the edge of the water are open, but in April they are still getting their fresh coats of paint for the season.

Walking further along the street that leads from the hotel takes you to lovely shops and restaurants, as well as to a theater offering nightly shows of local dancing and music.

We loved our stay at this hotel and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaroleeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Continental and were very impressed with the hotel and the service we received from the wonderful staff. We were greeted with smiles and by name. The hotel is very clean and inviting and the staff answered every question with a smile. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Salvatore, Lucca, Carlo and Giovanni and to all of the "unseen" staff. You made our first trip to Italy memorable. Ciao, from the Carpenters.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is very pretty and it is perfectly situated for popping into town for shopping and meals out, as it's just a 4-5 minute walk. Also it's right on the sea front, so the view just outside the hotel is lovely. The food was very tasty, home-cooked, and all at a reasonable price (maybe €7 for a pasta dish). Also the wine was of a very good standard. The best feature of the hotel is the staff. They all speak perfect English, and are so helpful. They really can't do enough for you. Also the hotel has a small gym which was very useful for us and we used it every day. Just take your own music! There is a pool - it's outside, but we couldn't use it as the weather was too cold. I would say that the slightly downside was that the bed was quite lumpy and there were two singles pushed together to make a double so I or my finance ended up in the middle dip a lot! Also this hotel MUST get a system to hire/watch English films in the room. You can watch them downstairs, but we really wanted to snuggle up one evening for a quiet one and this was not possible (we had already read a lot by this time!). There could also be some more English speaking channels on TV to half-watch when getting ready to go out to dinner, which would be nice. In sum, a lovely hotel, but if you come, bring a DVD player (Ipads don't work out there and you can't download anything as the speed is too slow) - or ask the hotel to install a video-rental system in the rooms in advance!

Room Tip: Ask for something with a comfy bed - if a double ask for a room with one big bed, rather than two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
1,105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing