We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Prestige Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villaggio Verde(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$196
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Fiorita(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
618
275
81
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
275
81
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squarepiazza della vittoriasea viewrooftop restaurantlovely hotelbay of naplesperfect locationmarina grandeturn down servicepool areabreakfast buffetdeck chairspastriesrestaurants and shopshead waitermount vesuviusjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our first trip to charming Sorrento and the spectacular Amalfi Coast and we picked the perfect hotel too! We took Rick Steves advice and used Sorrento as the jumping point to other locations on our itinerary, like Positano, Capri, Ana Capri and Ravello. We found this hotel on our own, using the internet and boy, were we pleased with our choice!! Hotel Continental has it all. Perfect location on the Villa Communale, which overlooks the harbor onto the Bay of Naples. Lovely, well appointed rooms, comfortable beds, top rate amenities and excellent, attentive service by the staff. A beautiful, olympic sized capped the experience. Gorgeous geraniums and rosemary in large terra cotta pots everywhere. The Continental is far enough from town to be quiet and restful for sleeping, yet close enough to walk to the all shops and restaurants, etc. We will definitely stay here again next trip to Sorrento.

Room Tip: There is a school to the right of the FRONT of the hotel that sounded noisy. Luckily, our room did NOT face the front and so our nights were quiet and restful. We had a lovely balcony, complete with chaise lounges and a decent view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is unique in so many ways that from the first day I knew this would be one of my favorite spots in Italy.

From my balcony I had the most beautiful view over the bay with morning sun. The interior of the room was elegant with bathrobe and hot tub.

The staff are exquisitely polite, helpful and professional with a smile and friendly comment in all functions in the hotel.

Breakfast buffet was served in an elegant atmosphere with all different kinds of cereals, bread, eggs in different styles and pastries.

A pool and a wonderful outdoor bar completed my stay to be outstanding.

Can´t wait to be back :o)

Room Tip: Ask for bay view - morning sun and a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneDeaconJuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

the hotel was great. We talked from the train station to the hotel. It was very easy to find. Towards the square and down a street. It was located near the marina/port where you take the ferry to capri and less than 5 min walking distance to the square and all the little shops / main area. You are far away from the hustle and bustle of the square but close enough. We had a balcony that we enjoyed hanging out on and the weather was perfect to lounge by the pool. The water was super clean and fresh, no feeling icky about it. The hotel overlooks the beautiful coast and the hotel staff 5 star!! The front desk were always helpful and the I want to say restaurant manager was super friendly and always had a smile. He was always there at breakfast greeting each guest and even personally taking time for each table with a quick conversation. The food was good and I loved the fresh fruit (peel your own oranges and cut up the kiwi) can't be any fresher. I agree with Roger L that at night time there was always noise coming from the school which is situated across the street. It must be a hangout for the kids because there were always kids listening to music in their cars, hanging out across the way, on their motor bikes and for late night hours too. Otherwise everything was great about the hotel. Oh forgot to mention another flaw, we had a queen room but it's two singles put together. It was hard for us to sleep together with any configuration (sleeping long way, side ways, diagonal), the beds slide all the time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Spent a week in Sorrento a couple of years ago and passed the Hotel Continental when walking up from Marina Grande and thought what a great location. So upon our return to Sorrento we selected the Continental and were not dissapointed, as mentioned the location is just about perfect for all areas of Sorrento being basically right in the middle of town, therefore only minutes from Tassos Square and all the restaurants and bars. The port was also minutes away via the lift. The hotel was excellent with wonderful staff. We had booked a seaview room with balcony which gave great views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. The room was a good size, the bathroom was lovely and the towels were changed twice a day, were probably the softess fluffiess I have known in any Hotel. The bed was 'turned down' every night with a nice chocolate left by the bed.
Antonio run a very slick restarant with service being of paramount importance. Finally after a night out it was nice to drop into the bar to be greeted by the barman Giovani who was really good.
In summary I could not fault the staff & service as they were absolutely fantastic I have stayed in many 4/5* Hotels worldwide and cannot recall any giving bettter service. The hotel I guess probably suits a slightly older clientel.
The only slighly negative comment I could make would be to turn on the air-con earlier, apprently it gets turned on, on June 1st, which made the rooms quite hot at night.
Sorrento is a stylish resort with a range of good quality restaurants, to suit all budgets, a visit to Capri is a must, the towns of Capri & AnaCapri are lovely but make sure to get the 'ski lift' to the very top as the view is stunning. A visit to Positano and Ravello is well worth while although it would be fair to say the 'Amalfi' coast road is not for the faint hearted!!.
In summary Sorrento is a great destination but not a beach holiday, when I return I will certainly return to the Continental.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room front facing
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GWOngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is an excellent hotel. Good accomodation, great sea views and aspect, and away from the more crowded parts of Sorrento. Situated on a square it isn't overlooked. Staff were excellent and the food was good too. We would happily stay again but (and there always is a but) - the square used at night by the local ragazzi - their school located there. So they tended to ride their noisy Vespas round and round into the early hours at the weekend. You will need to keep windows closed (double glazed so a good sound barrier) at night if you don't want to be disturbed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are stunning, but if you want a quieter room you need to select one at the back of the hotel, without a view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews