We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I may well be the odd one out, as most people seem to have given this hotel a good review.
Any one that feels I just complain for the sake of it, please look at my other reviews, and see that generally I am well pleased with the hotels I book.
The good points.
The position is superb...overlooking a quiet square and the bay. The views from the room were excellent. Also, the pool was a good size, clean and with good sun loungers and deck chairs. Generally the hotel was clean.
The bad.
The rooms are a bit tired. The beds have horrible mattress covers which appear to be plastic backed presumably to be waterproof. They are most uncomfortable, and I have not as yet wet a bed so they seem quite unnecessary.
The breakfast was poor. At first glance it looked ok, but there were only 2 types of yogurt and only water melon and pineapple as fruit. Also the last day we went at 9 50 and nearly everything was gone and not replaced.
The staff were false and everything appeared to be a problem even though they smiled incessantly. I asked for ice and received 2 plastic glasses with 3 cubes in each. Another day I asked for 2 plates and 2 knives as we had bought some fruit and wished to eat it on the balcony. I had to ask 3 different people and then was made to feel like I was asking for something terrible.
The chairs on the balcony are cheap white plastic chairs that have become very dirty, and have been painted over whilst still dirty. Hence the paint comes away on hands and clothes.
Worst of all, when I asked the reception if they could organise a car to Naples airport, I was told that they could arrange a very special deal at 110 euros, and that anywhere else would charge up to 100 euros per person.
In reality, we had were able to easily book a Mercedes car to the airport in the town at 70 euros for the 2 of us which arrived punctually and with a charming driver.
In short, this hotel was a real disappointment. At almost 200 pounds a night I would certainly have expected more. I would only recommend this hotel if it is booked at a very good rate otherwise, give it a wide berth and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aveast, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Sir,

it is possible for an hotel, among hundreds of positive reviews, to receive a quite negative one. To be honest, in 2012, this is the first time we receive this kind of review and I can assure you we will do our best in order to make it the first and last one.

I have the utmost respect for all our clients reviews, especially for the ones that help us to improve our services, but I feel quite annoyed towards reviews which do not reflect the truth.
The hotel was completely renoveted 4 years ago, providing our clients brand new rooms and common spaces, equipped with brand new furniture, according to the 4 stars hotel standards and within the European laws.
I wish we could have the same services and safety in our houses.

Regarding the mattress issue, as I just said, they are brand new and they come with a polyurethane cover that ensures 100% health protection to our clients, who are our primary concern.

Regarding the breakfast, allow me to say that considering it "poor" is definately objectionable. Here you are a list of what our hotel offers to our clients "awakening":
- 5 different types of Croissants;
- hotel - made pastries and cakes (including plum cakes);
-several types of bread (including olive and nuts bread);
-biscuits;
- fresh fruits;
- yogurts (in different flavour);
- juices
- and the so called "salty breakfast" (cold cuts, cheese, eggs, etc.)
If you consider it "poor", we will be pleased to receive any suggestion in order to offer all our customers the best service possible.

Sympathy, friendliness and smile are and will always be, the special ingredient that makes Italy one of the most visited and loved country in the world. I would suggest you to appreciate it and bring it with you , wherever you are , wherever you go, whoever you are with, instead of denigrate it.
The helpfullness and the smile of our staff is not forced, it comes from within, it is a natural attitude that distinguish our people. We truly believe and adore what we do, we do not consider it a job, we love to consider it a mission: make our clients happy and satisfied.

Furthermore, as you certainly know, our clients can buy and eat food that comes from outside the hotel only in their own rooms (due to healthcare liability). In this case, if they need to be provided with cutlery or glasses, it is considered an extra room service and is charged extra.

For what concerns the taxi service, we address to a local agency and we stick to the fees we are communicated.


Thank you for time and attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    229
    69
    14
    8
See reviews for
181
455
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Hotel is in a great location less than 10 minutes walk from the main square of Sorrento and yet it is set away from the noise and bustle. From the front of the Hotel, the view is amazing, looking over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The staff were all friendly and considerate and could not have been more helpful. There was an excellent choice of food at breakfast to suit all tastes.( We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis). Our bedroom and all the public areas were spotless.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We got to Sorrento and didn't like the hotel we had booked...so we went shopping for a deal. And got one at Hotel Continental. There were 4 of us, so instead of booking 2 rooms we got the "Vesuvius Suite". It was a same day booking, so they gave us a nice discount including breakfast. They have an elevator that goes straight down through the rock cliff to a private beach! Awesome. The pool is beautiful with a poolside bar. This was the PERFECT end to our trip.

Room Tip: Splurge for a suite with a balcony....you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in July travelling independantly and it we found it very good in every area. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was a good size clean, well equipped other than a very old tv. Its less than five minutes walks to all the restaurants/shops, however its still in a beautiful and quiet position. Only downsides were charge for wifi (the bars in town offer free) and the bed was too hard
Recommended

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor as lower down the sea view can be partly obstructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire5466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in July. Once we arrived the reception staff gave us a warm welcome and our luggage was carried up to our room. The room was set as a twin, we asked at the reception for a double and this was sorted the same day. We had a standard room facing the school, which I was a bit worried about at first after reading previous reviews here. However we slept fine with no outside noise. The air conditioning settings took a bit of getting used to but once adjusted it kept the room nice and cool - night and day, which was a real bliss after a day in the heat. The room itself was kept lovely and clean and our towels were changed often.

In terms of location it couldn't be better, lots of resturants just a few minutes walk away, and a stone's throw from the Sorrento lift, which we used a few times to get down to Marina Piccola to catch the ferries. Was able to walk to Piazza Tasso, the main square in 5mins and the train/bus station in 10-15mins.

We used the pool which was kept really clean and was nice to have some quiet time. Many people used the pool-side bar which seemed to be kept well. Had a cocktail one evening at the main bar which was lovely, and sat outside on the terrace. Ate breakfast most mornings, which was run by charming waiters and had a good selection such as rolls, croissants, cereals, hams, cheese etc. Served its purpose and kept us full until lunchtime.

Overall was really happy with the hotel and service, would definitely recommend this hotel and we would return to Sorrento and to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle-J-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent two weeks at this fantastic hotel where everything was excellent. There was a vast choice for the buffet breakfast and although we were only there for B & B, we heard very good reports about the restaurant meals. The rooms were airy and bright, comfortable and well furnished and they were sparkling clean. The pool was a good size and there were plenty of chairs and beds alongside it and also the Terrazza bar serving drinks and snacks. Best of all the staff were superb, very attentive without being in your face and very amiable. The Continental was only 3-4 mins walk to the main square through the side streets. We will not hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boropanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

stayed the last week in june
lovely hotel and really friendly staff especially at breakfast. theres a good choice fot breakfast so no need to go hungary.
really good position and not noisy ,we stayed next door last year at the tramontano hotel ,to be honest we felt more comfortable here,as you dont hear the noise from the beach area.
this is our second stay in sorrento and will come back to the continental next time in the not to distant future.the pool is ideal and not to busy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICKYMOUSESuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing