We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$363
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$515
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
634
281
80
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
281
80
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squarepiazza della vittoriasea viewrooftop restaurantlovely hotelbay of naplesperfect locationmarina grandeturn down servicepool areabreakfast buffetdeck chairspastriesrestaurants and shopshead waitermount vesuviusjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for one week in mid July. The hotel has an excellent location just a short stroll from the main square and all of the bars and restaurants. We had a beautiful sea view balcony where we could see the pool and watch the many boats in the bay.
Breakfast was excellent with a great array of food hot &cold and the breakfast staff were wonderful as were the reception staff. Extremely approachable and happy to help with any queries/questions.
We spent some time by the pool for a few days and found Carlos the bar man down there quite rude on a number of occasions, to us and to other couples and families. We ordered lunch and he got the order wrong and then overcharged us by €2 as we charged it to our room. I think he could use a little coaching by management. However regardless of this we extremely enjoyed our stay with HC and would be happy to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilmissgiggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel continental in sorrento. The hotel was not modern but had a dated charm that bowled us over. It was acceptionally clean, the staff very friendly and if you can get a balcony the view over the bay it really had that WOW factor. Our standard room was a good size and included a mini bar, but no room in the fridge to keep any private purchases cool. It was well positioned on the edge of town so within easy walking distance and quite at night. Overall I would give this hotel a 4.5 rating and the only small irritation for my wife was that you can't use your own hairdriers and have to use the basic blower in the bathroom. I will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

From our experience hotels in Italy aren't ultra modern (unless you're paying big bucks) so we really weren't expecting that much from our accommodation on our first trip to Sorrento.
What we got....a fabulous hotel, with nothing to complain about (even if i really try and think like a nit picker!)
Always spotlessly clean, fantastic location - around 2 - 3 mins walk from all the action, friendly staff that couldn't do enough for us, lovely pool area (a bit retro but very cool), great views, nice breakfast, spacious rooms.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel Continental Sorrento. Excellent location .Staff is very helpful. Friendly bartender Giovanni, always smiling. Happy Hour Too. What a view water everywhere. Pool area very relaxing, eat drink and be happy. Close to everything. I love Sorrento. Don't rent a car you don't need it.The train is near or take a cab. Have been there many times. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lflorida954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. The location is ideal being a 5 minute walk to the main paizza and a 10 minute walk (with cases) to the train station or coach station. (If you arrive by train as we did, don't get a taxi, you can easily walk and save yourself 20 euros!) At the beach entrance with the boats for Capri (5 minute walk). 5 minute walk from other marina with some nice restaurants (ask consierge for directions).
The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. The bedrooms were probably the worst part about this hotel being very basic and in no way a 4* as advertised, but still they were clean and comfortable. The hotel advertises having a hairdryer when actually it is a hose coming out of the wall which would take someone with shoulder length hair about 3 hours to dry! Consierge told me that it was Italian law not to have a hairdryer or iron in the room. They sent me up a proper hairdryer but told me I'd have to send my clothes off to be ironed at 4 euros a shirt...very cunning money making scheme. Surely a 4* hotel should supply an iron and if not they should provide an alternative option that doesnt involve paying!
The breakfast in the hotel (which I've seen lots of moans about in previous reviews) was fine. Yes, it's not all cooked, fried food but we aren't in England!!
The pool is nice and big and at a good temperature with attentive staff. Food at the pool restaraunt is good and cheap. Lots of loungers and towels are provided.
Overall, a pleasant stay in this hotel and certainly a good place to be centred to do Capri (ferry), Positano (coach), Pompeii (train) etc for day trips. Would I sty again if I went back to Sorrento...I'd look around but I probably would.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews