We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“continental hotel”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“continental hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

been going to this hotel for 14 years, what a fantastic place, great staff, great food, great accomodation, great veiws, perfect location, great value for money. please if your going to sorrento this hotel is a must. see you next year x

Room Tip: Room with a veiw perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    250
    73
    15
    8
See reviews for
192
501
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Continental for 2 weeks in July/August and had a fantastic time. Our room was a good size with a fabulous view of the sea and Mount Vesuvius. The cleaning was of a very high standard and the service from all staff was excellent. Antonio and Giovanni were so friendly and welcoming. The happy hour between 7 and 8pm provided an excellent start to the evening before going on to one of the local restaurants, all located about a 5 minute walk away. The pool was clean and not too busy. The only negative comment we would make is that a day on the beach can be expensive by the time you pay for the lift, sunbeds and umbrella! Overall a great atmosphere, a fantastic location and a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilippaSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here between 3 and 10 th August 2012. Great location just a short stroll from the town. We did stay in sorrento 10 years ago at the president hotel. Whilst this hotel was out of town it was a much better hotel, higher standardards with fantastic views but you had to get the courtesy bus into town or walk. The continental we felt was more high three star than four. The room was small, although the bathroom was good and well equipped. We had a small balcony with no sea view. The rooms on the front of the hotel had sea views but at a premium price. The pool was not overly scenic, no nice gardens or views. The main problem of the hotel we felt was its layout. The snack bar near the pool was not really a nice place to eat and whilst there was a nice terrace with views of the bay of Naples you were not allowed to be served food here which was a shame. The bar was right to the rear of the hotel. Often you had to go and find the bar tender who would then bring drinks to the terrace. The public gardens to the front of the hotel were nice but they were a meeting place for teenage locals and whilst there was never any trouble it could get quite noisy on a night. Many people stayed on a half board basis - don't do it! There are lots of lovely restaurants locally. We had lunch in the hotel one day and it was not good and neither was the service. Breakfast on the other hand was very good. Overall a good hotel but not outstanding there are better to choose from, but great location and the reception desk staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Could be worth the premium for a sea view if you intend to spend time relaxing on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days this summer and loved everyminute of it! The hotel, staff, amenities, and location are outstanding, Always greeted with a smile and enthusiasm we felt warmly welcome and sincerely appreciated, From Antonio in the retaurant to the front desk and service personal we could not have asked for a more enjoyable stay! In addition to the great accommodations we found the town of Sorrento to be most appealing. Safe, close, clean and very energetic. So much so that we let our 15 year old daughters have a freedom night (till 11 PM) in the town. This they loved and will remember it well.

Room Tip: We were in room 309 facing the front piazza and really enjoyed it's balcony and view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Hotel Continental is a fantastic place to stay in Sorrento - right next to the sea and set in lovely gardens. The swimming pool is a massive 25 metres and immaculately kept with many loungers and parasols. There is also a lovely little pool bar/cafe which is well priced. All staff at the hotel are great - friendly and attentive. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it was not any more expensive than most of the others in town. Breakfast is a feast!
If you want to avoid the touristic shops and crowds in the evening, go down to the Marina Grande where it is more Italian than touristy. It's also lovely in the day time as there is a good sized free beach there and you can watch the fisherman come and go. The Ristorante del 5 di Leva Sisters does fantastic food, with a great atmosphere and really good value - best meal I had in Italy.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back and overlooked the school not the sea. Corner suites looked huge with mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loumcg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Situated a few minutes from all the restaurants and shops, this Hotel is charming. The staff are Gentlemen of a certain age who should belong to a bygone era. They are courteous, polite and so knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble.The Continental is understated. Marble, polished wood and fresh flowers greets you in the foyer. Giovanni, the Head Barman was a delight. His award winning cocktail "Gampa" is delicious and must be tried. We discovered a happy cocktail hour before we left, 7pm until 8pm, again served on the terrace with wonderful views, but served with canapes which were a delight. The Hotel breakfasts were taken in a beautiful dining room..cereals,juices,eggs,bacon,sausages,jams,rolls and pastries. We saw a firework display from the Hotels 5th viewing floor on our last evening, WOW...we WILL return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

On arrival we were given room 101, which is a lovely room but an inner room and as such the balcony was dark and unusable. We requested a change but the hotel was fully booked. We were disappointed but the room was lovely and we had not requested a room with a sea view when booking so our fault really. The next day though the Receptionist managed to get us a change to a room with a balcony in the sun. We loved it and were pleased the Hotel had gone out of their way to accommodate us.
The breakfast was lovely.
We found all the staff friendly and genuine. The cleaners did a fantastic job, this was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea view.Just for the spectacular views from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RW40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing