We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Continental is a great Hotel. We had a great view of the water. The hotel is located in a great part of Sorrento that is a small walk from the heart of town including restaurants, shopping, and mass transportation but is far enough away to avoid the noise at night. The included breakfast was a nice touch. The front desk staff were beyond helpful. Also, my kids loved the pool.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a great view. Make sure it is booked with a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband & I just returned to Naples where we have been living. We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Continental. We have traveled to Sorrento many times & have always stayed up the hill or a good walk away from town. The Continental was a PERFECT choice for us as being outside the town has it's own challenges when one does not have a vehicle. You are close to everything at this location.

Our arrival was met with a friendly helpful bellman who immediately took our bags up to our room. The front desk staff were most pleasant & helpful. Pointing out the lift down to the port (1 Euro cost) so we could meet our friends with ease who were arriving our second day via cruise ship. Reception staff are some of the best we have experienced in Italy.

All of the staff was extremely helpful, pleasant & very efficient with servicing our every need.

The hotel itself is well maintained. The pool is the cleanest I have seen in Italy to date & does get the sun almost all day. Not too worry, there are umbrella's. There is a direct lift down to a private beach just below the hotel. While we did view it we did not use this facility as the pool was so pleasant.

Breakfast is included in the room charge. The selection was very good, always fresh & for North American's there is peanut butter!!! Something that is extremely rare in Italy. The cafe is great. The breakfast room is just the right size & even though the hotel was full we never waited to be seated. It is elegantly appointed & has a very calming atmosphere to start ones day.

Bar service was again wonderful with a large selection of international drinks. While we did not eat dinner at the hotel, the menu was very good & reasonably priced.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with tile floors & a good size. It is always a treat to have the hand painted Sorrento famous tiles on the floor with the beautiful yellow & blue. Just enough to give the room that Sorrento charm. Bathrooms are also a good size with a full tub & shower. Toiletries are supplied & the shampoo & body wash are nice smelling.

Views from the hotel are wonderful. While we did not have a sea view the view from our corner back room was beautiful both night & day. The street is very quiet compared to other locations in town.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Sorrento. We will stay here again many times. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 565Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Continental for the first 2 weeks of August. This was our second visit to the Continental, & fifth time in Sorrento. We were not disappointed. As usual we had a lovely welcome. We arrived late, but had a meal ready & waiting for us. Rooms were large, clean, with a great balcony view over the pool ; although we did experience a few ant problems! It was great to see Antonio still working there, & lovely to have Franco give us Italian lessons!! As a party of 5, we were fortunate to be the last guests to stay half board. The food was superb, & its a pity the Hotel is now becoming b&b only.
The continental is a great place to stay, in a perfect location, with the best staff you will ever meet.

Room Tip: Room 119 has a huge bathroom, & balcony view over the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed at the Continental in August 2012 on a B & B basis, it was a very enjoyable experience i cannot recomend it highly enough, all the staff were very helpful and friendly, it was almost a family atmosphere, Salvatore on reception, Antonino at Breakfast and Giovanni (you must try his cocktails, you wont find better anywhere) in the bar all made you feel like their long lost brother, one member of staff said he had worked there 23 years, always a good sign in my view, while its not the most up to date hotel in the area it had all the mod cons and was kept clean, plenty of options at breakfast to suit all pallets, massive 25m swimming pool and plenty of sunbeds should you wish to laze about, great base to go out and explore the sorrento area, we booked through Thompson but contacted the hotel direct to upgrade to seaview room on 4th floor (after reading on here). This cost an extra €40 per night but if you can afford it go for it as the views are stunning and well worth it, the only minus point is the teenagers out the front aty night, while not aggresive they are very loud and could keep you awake at night with their chatter and Vespas, luckily i had read about them on here so packed some ear plugs so couldnt hear a thing,if i return to Sorrento this is the only place i would stay and i have never said that before about any hotel when revisiting an area, also do trips to surrounding areas on your own so much cheaper and much more fun than using tour guides

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macca7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked this hotel 2 weeks before arriving for around $350 a night for an upgraded room with sea view.
On check in I was told I was told that there was good news and we had been upgraded to a suite with partial sea view. I questioned the partial sea view comment and was told all rooms have partial view. We were escorted to the room on the 1st floor and I was not satisfied with the view. They showed me the room we had booked which was a floor higher, more towards the sea, but still facing the park and considerably smaller. We accepted the suite but felt disappointed with the view from the description on my booking. Technically we could see the sea but only when looking at an angle from the balcony. Please see my pictures.
We soon understood that the hotel is blocked by another hotel for any direct view of the ocean. The top deluxe rooms do face the ocean but look over the other hotel.
The room itself was average. Good size bed, clean, slightly dated. The air conditioning just couldn't keep the room cool. We were there mid August but we were constantly warm. It doesn't help with the European practice of killing the power to the room and ac when you leave.
The pool was quiet and relaxing. Good quality sun loungers, pool temperature was good. Maybe only 20 beds and 60 chairs, so there was a shortage in beds. The pool takes up about 60% of the patio and is hardly used. It's a shame there wasn't more room to lay out.
We were there for 3 nights and only went to breakfast once. It was buffet style and most trays were almost empty or just didn't look good. I tried some of the cooked food and the breads. Edible, but not really enjoyable
Service was excellent. The guys on the front desk were very helpful and helped me get a scooter to ride around on.
Location was very good. 2 min walk to the main street and located next to a beautiful square.
We really enjoyed Sorrento, but this hotel was only average and we would try to find alternatives if we return.

Room Tip: Check what you are getting when ordering seaview
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisb321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

been going to this hotel for 14 years, what a fantastic place, great staff, great food, great accomodation, great veiws, perfect location, great value for money. please if your going to sorrento this hotel is a must. see you next year x

Room Tip: Room with a veiw perfect
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Continental for 2 weeks in July/August and had a fantastic time. Our room was a good size with a fabulous view of the sea and Mount Vesuvius. The cleaning was of a very high standard and the service from all staff was excellent. Antonio and Giovanni were so friendly and welcoming. The happy hour between 7 and 8pm provided an excellent start to the evening before going on to one of the local restaurants, all located about a 5 minute walk away. The pool was clean and not too busy. The only negative comment we would make is that a day on the beach can be expensive by the time you pay for the lift, sunbeds and umbrella! Overall a great atmosphere, a fantastic location and a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a seaview room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilippaSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £140 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing