We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$363
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$507
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$515
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
634
281
80
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
281
80
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squarepiazza della vittoriasea viewrooftop restaurantlovely hotelbay of naplesperfect locationmarina grandeturn down servicepool areabreakfast buffetdeck chairspastriesrestaurants and shopshead waitermount vesuviusjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Continental exceeded our expectations in many areas and we enjoyed our two week holiday immensely. We chose this hotel as it was one of the few that offered B & B and we wanted to sample the local cuisine having opted for half board on our last visit to Sorrento. The service from the front of house was always courteous and helpful and reflective of the service generally.
Our room was a standard double, which in reality is twin beds pushed together. The rooms were kept spotless with towels changed daily and bedding twice per week. Robes were provided and there was a hair dryer in the bathroom. I used my own although this is not encouraged. The beds were not to our liking but perfect if you like a harder mattress. There was a balcony overlooking the adjacent school (closed 15 June to 15 Sept!) with table and chairs. The air conditioning worked a treat although defaulted to 25 degrees with the key out. The mini bar was well stocked but very expensive - €2 for a small bottle of water. We used the fridge to cool drinks bought at 'The Corner Shop" - well worth a visit! Breakfast consisted of the usual: cereal, yoghurt, pastries, cakes, selection of cold meats and cheese. A small selection of hot, cooked food is available and fresh fruit. The pastries and croissants are delicious and the waiters are friendly and attentive. A word of warning - the coffee tastes a bit like Bovril! I stuck to mint tea :-) The pool and surrounding area is kept clean and orderly. Sun beds and parasols are often reserved early in the morning despite requests for people not to. I don't know of a hotel where ths doesn't happen though. Drinks around the pool are quite expensive - small glass of beer is €5. There is a lift to a public "beach"...at a cost of €3 per person. Sunbeds cost €11 per person and the sand is lava-based and is black! The location of the hotel is superb - just minutes away from Piazza Tasso and Corso Italia. Some reviews have mentioned noise at night from motorcycles but we were never aware of this. Try 'Bar Ercolano' on Piazza Tasso - potent cocktails at €7 and local licquorice liqueur...yum! Another must-try is Davide's ice cream restaurant. Too many favourites to mention! If you are offered a walk around the town with your holiday company, do go as you will see all the nooks and crannies worth visiting. Also, lots of free tastings: ice cream, Limoncello etc. I would definitely recommend the Continental for service, cleanliness, location and rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrolls_Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We wanted a beach holiday, in the warmth of Southern Italy. This hotel was everything we wanted and more. Old world style top quality service in the rooms, concierge and restaurant was faultless. The room was modern, clean, and the airconditioning worked a charm! We had no view, but as we did not spend much time in the room, we did not miss it. Also, being hot and fairly humid outside, the place to be was indoors in the airconditioning anyway! The clincher for us that just made the hotel was the beach. It is not cheap, but is is VERY luxurious and a total relaxation. The beach is reached by taking the hotel lift to floor minus 3 (the hotel is on the top of a cliff, set back a bit) then walking along a short passage to the beach. What a great way to get to the beach, rather than walking down the steps, a very tiring alternative!
The centre of Sorrento is only minutes away by foot, and the hotel itself is in a quiet cul de sac, with a tree lined square in front, so provides a haven from the activity of the centre.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenceCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed recently for 1 week. The hotel is very good in an ideal location to walk to the shops, marina's etc. The staff throughout the hotel are excellent and make you very welcome. At breakfast Antonio and Franco were a pleasure and are good for a laugh in the morning. Breakfast itself is superb, the best I've had in Italy with plenty of choice both hot and cold all very tasty. Giovanni at the bar at night is great fun. We went to the happy hour every night and had a laugh and joke with him and other guests before going out for the evening and on our return for a night cap or two. The pool area is also good with the large clean pool with plenty of areas to sit/lounge and the snack bar close by.

I would have loved to give an excellent score but the hotel is let down unfortunately in a few areas. We paid extra for a sea view but only got a partial sea view, in other areas you pay less for this. The room was small with an old fashioned14" portable tv they should consider up-grading to a modern flat screen. In the toilet they provide a hair-drier which is a hose that comes out the wall and is totally ineffective with not enough heat to dry and style your hair, and your not allowed to use a plug-in type. Wi-fi was extra where at most good quality hotels these days wi-fi is free.

However all these are minor points and didn't stop us having a very good stay. If we return to Sorrento in the future we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 4th floor if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Continental is a great Hotel. We had a great view of the water. The hotel is located in a great part of Sorrento that is a small walk from the heart of town including restaurants, shopping, and mass transportation but is far enough away to avoid the noise at night. The included breakfast was a nice touch. The front desk staff were beyond helpful. Also, my kids loved the pool.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a great view. Make sure it is booked with a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband & I just returned to Naples where we have been living. We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Continental. We have traveled to Sorrento many times & have always stayed up the hill or a good walk away from town. The Continental was a PERFECT choice for us as being outside the town has it's own challenges when one does not have a vehicle. You are close to everything at this location.

Our arrival was met with a friendly helpful bellman who immediately took our bags up to our room. The front desk staff were most pleasant & helpful. Pointing out the lift down to the port (1 Euro cost) so we could meet our friends with ease who were arriving our second day via cruise ship. Reception staff are some of the best we have experienced in Italy.

All of the staff was extremely helpful, pleasant & very efficient with servicing our every need.

The hotel itself is well maintained. The pool is the cleanest I have seen in Italy to date & does get the sun almost all day. Not too worry, there are umbrella's. There is a direct lift down to a private beach just below the hotel. While we did view it we did not use this facility as the pool was so pleasant.

Breakfast is included in the room charge. The selection was very good, always fresh & for North American's there is peanut butter!!! Something that is extremely rare in Italy. The cafe is great. The breakfast room is just the right size & even though the hotel was full we never waited to be seated. It is elegantly appointed & has a very calming atmosphere to start ones day.

Bar service was again wonderful with a large selection of international drinks. While we did not eat dinner at the hotel, the menu was very good & reasonably priced.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with tile floors & a good size. It is always a treat to have the hand painted Sorrento famous tiles on the floor with the beautiful yellow & blue. Just enough to give the room that Sorrento charm. Bathrooms are also a good size with a full tub & shower. Toiletries are supplied & the shampoo & body wash are nice smelling.

Views from the hotel are wonderful. While we did not have a sea view the view from our corner back room was beautiful both night & day. The street is very quiet compared to other locations in town.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Sorrento. We will stay here again many times. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 565Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews