We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$515
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
634
281
80
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
281
80
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squarepiazza della vittoriasea viewrooftop restaurantlovely hotelbay of naplesperfect locationmarina grandeturn down servicepool areabreakfast buffetdeck chairspastriesrestaurants and shopshead waitermount vesuviusjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Continental for a week (19 - 26 October) and can only say if we go to Sorrento again, we would definitely stay here. Everything was excellent - the staff, the room, the view, the location. Breakfast was good with a very wide choice and we had dinner on a couple of evenings in the hotel restaurant.- the food was very good and very reasonably priced. Our only disappointment was that so few other hotel residents were there to enjoy it. We had excellent service from the staff, particularly Mr Antonio, who is charm personified! Like another contributor, we didn't find the bed very comfortable, but were used to it by the end of the week. It was the only niggle!
From the hotel you are only a few minutes' walk away from the heart of Sorrento, and access to the harbour for ferries to Capri, Positano etc. The train station is an easy walk for trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum.
If you are planning to go to Sorrento, think seriously about staying at the Continental! We had a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Book on a higher floor to the front or side - the view across the Bay is truly magical!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Continental for our honeymoon. You can reach Sorrento
from Naples by train (Circumvesuviana). The hotel can be reached from the train station in less than 10 minutes (by walking). I recommend a taxi if you travel with a heavy and bulky luggage.
The hotel was an excellent choice! The room was very clean and staff very helpful. They helped us to book a day tour to the Amalfi Coast. The tour was really good. We also went to Capri Island (by hydrofoil) and Pompeii (by train). Both harbor and train station can be reached in few minutes by walking. Our room had a balcony with a view of the Vesuvio mountain over the sea. The breakfast was fantastic, with a lot of regional foods. If you stay more than 3 nights, I suggest to book the room directly at the Hotel website and you can get one free night. We really liked the room (so clean !!) and bathroom, however we didn't like very much the bed. The king bed was composed of two single mattresses and a plastic mattresses pad was used to keep it clean. It was a little uncomfortable. Overall we had a nice stay and the hotel is above average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Have just returned from this excellent hotel. Great location in a quiet area of Sorrento, yet central to everything. A few minutes walk to the train and bus stations. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is excellent. plentiful with lots of choice. The room we had was spacious and very clean, with great views. Our only complaint was due to the fact that, because of the tiled flooring, the hotel is quite noisy. As lots of guests come and go at irregular times, you are often woken when they move around / vacate their rooms. This did not, however, spoil any aspect of our stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borneopost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I just spent 6 nights at Hotel Continental in Sorrento and loved everything about this hotel! The staff is very friendly and courteous and helpful in arranging day trips to Capri, Mt. Vesuvius. Pompeii and towns along the Amalfi Coast such as Possitano, Ravello and Amalfi.
The Hotel was immaculate. Our room was lovely and the view was stunning. The buffet breakfast had a wonderful selection and a full pot of coffee on your table. The location is an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. One of the highlights was spending the evenings at happy hour with the best barman ever, Giovanni! We got a restaurant recommendation from him each night and loved every place he suggested! If (when:-) I return to Sorrento, this is where I'm staying!

Room Tip: Room 405 - a stunning view of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius from the spacious balcony!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Lovely hotel with great views. Hotel very clean and ideal location, just outside the main square a perfect distance to walk off that evening meal. We upgraded to the Byron Suite, this is a larger room with double balcony, with views of the ocean and to the front of the gotel, this gave great views. The staff are all great and very very helpful, one even found me some wine I had been looking for for 3 years, from his local winestore and brought this in for me (Thanks Toninio :-) ) and all in all were very helpful to us. Breakfast was typical continental style, and again staff were very friendly and polite, Will definately return next year.

Room Tip: For best views, the higher the floor the better, even better with a Suite, but this also comes withe extra expense.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barker_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews