We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great location, clean rooms, and wonderful service. I would definitely return, as the people were very kind to us! It was also quite quiet, which I appreciated. We were a large group, as well, and they accommodated quite well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuhieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great location, just off the busy streets while over looking the bay, quiet yet convenient. A really relaxing hotel with great staff and relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are small but very well appointed, some minor décor issues but they do not distract from the overall appearance and ambience. Great pool and pool side bar. Only minor criticism, beds were exceptionally hard. Food was as expected with plenty of choice for breakfast.


Wonderfully relaxing place to spend your holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front or right side are preferable, the town is busy in to the early hours, although yo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel is located very well, not far from shopping and eating possibilities but quiet and good view to sea (from 4. floor up). Old fashion in a pleasant way, but as the bellboy told us when we arrived 'in room everything is electric'. Service was even better: people were very friendly and the atmosphere was very straightforward in a pleasant way.

Room Tip: North side, 4th floor or upper for seaview
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarmo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Upon checking in we were greeted by a friendly front desk staff, who made us feel very welcome. The hotel is very pretty and large and feels like a proper resort hotel. Our room was big with a large wardrobe and a place to set our suitcases. We were put on the fourth floor with a balcony and our view was outstanding, overlooking the water and the town. We enjoyed sitting outside having cocktails and enjoying the view. Breakfast was good, lots of choices, and a pot of coffee was supplied to your table. Wanted to have coffee in our room but felt awkward taking the whole pot, so we settled for filling our cups and carrying them upstairs. Had drinks in the bar after spending the day roaming around town, Giovanni the bartender was friendly and fun and easy to talk to. Only issue we had was with the bed. When we turned in for the night we were appalled at how uncomfortable the bed was. We tried to figure out what was going on and pulled back the sheets to discover a thick RUBBER mattress pad. We debated whether we should pull it off or what to do, but finally settled on putting our two wooly blankets under the fitted sheet over the mattress pad. That helped somewhat. The other lightweight blanket had the consistency of a tablecloth. For such a nice hotel, the bed situation is baffling. We had 2 bad nights of sleep, which ruined a bit of the glamour of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor with a view and balcony.
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kimkam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just returned from a month traveling in Italy. Initially we planned 5 days in Sorrento, but became so impressed with the friendly, helpful assistance during our planning process, we added another day to the stay. We wish we had added more time. The hotel is a four star at the highest end of that rating. We prefer it to most five star hotels we have stayed in because of its exceptional warm, personal attention to our every desire. The room was spacious, luxurious and decorated to reflect Sorrento's colors of white, blue and lemon yellow. We had a wrap around corner balcony with a stunning view of the bay of Naples, Sorrento and Mt. Vesuvius. Its location is perfect, right on the bay, yet a 5 minute walk to the center of the town.

Breakfast was a huge, elegant buffet which included eggs, quiche, meats and cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads and more varieties of pastries than anyone should eat.

We fell in love with this hotel and Sorrento and decided that we will return next year and spend all of our time here! We talked to numerous other people staying at the hotel to see if their experience was similar to ours and there was total, enthusiastic agreement.

If you want 5 star quality and service without the stuffiness, choose the Continental.

Room Tip: The corner Jr. suites are fantastic for their view! They have double all glass french doors at the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seefoodfancyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Continental for a week (19 - 26 October) and can only say if we go to Sorrento again, we would definitely stay here. Everything was excellent - the staff, the room, the view, the location. Breakfast was good with a very wide choice and we had dinner on a couple of evenings in the hotel restaurant.- the food was very good and very reasonably priced. Our only disappointment was that so few other hotel residents were there to enjoy it. We had excellent service from the staff, particularly Mr Antonio, who is charm personified! Like another contributor, we didn't find the bed very comfortable, but were used to it by the end of the week. It was the only niggle!
From the hotel you are only a few minutes' walk away from the heart of Sorrento, and access to the harbour for ferries to Capri, Positano etc. The train station is an easy walk for trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum.
If you are planning to go to Sorrento, think seriously about staying at the Continental! We had a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Book on a higher floor to the front or side - the view across the Bay is truly magical!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Continental for our honeymoon. You can reach Sorrento
from Naples by train (Circumvesuviana). The hotel can be reached from the train station in less than 10 minutes (by walking). I recommend a taxi if you travel with a heavy and bulky luggage.
The hotel was an excellent choice! The room was very clean and staff very helpful. They helped us to book a day tour to the Amalfi Coast. The tour was really good. We also went to Capri Island (by hydrofoil) and Pompeii (by train). Both harbor and train station can be reached in few minutes by walking. Our room had a balcony with a view of the Vesuvio mountain over the sea. The breakfast was fantastic, with a lot of regional foods. If you stay more than 3 nights, I suggest to book the room directly at the Hotel website and you can get one free night. We really liked the room (so clean !!) and bathroom, however we didn't like very much the bed. The king bed was composed of two single mattresses and a plastic mattresses pad was used to keep it clean. It was a little uncomfortable. Overall we had a nice stay and the hotel is above average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £138 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing