We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, Great Location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the continental hotel; I cannot fault this place and would recommend it to anyone.
From the moment we arrived to the day we left the staff at the continental has made our stay in Sorrento a delight. Everybody from the Porter, Reception, breakfast team and the chambermaid were extremely professional. Nothing was to much for them.
The breakfast selection was very good and enough for you to eat something different every day, you can also get Sparkling wine for breakfast if you fancy.
We had a triple room which was a double with a sofa bed; to be honest it was a bit small for 3 grown adults but we manage just fine…… The wardrobe space is not very big even for 2 people and a very small safe is at your disposition. The rooms are cleaned and tidy twice a day and the towel changed in the evening as well as the morning.

The hotel itself is very well located in Sorrento, if you arrive by train; a 15 minute walk maximum from the train station and if you arrive by boat from Sorrento allow around 15 euros to get from the port. But then again it was bank Holiday when we arrived in Sorrento and I think the fare may have been a bit higher than usual.

The hotel has a lift taking you down to the beach direct and has a special daily rate with the private hire of sun lounger …..
Note: if you come back from Capri or other excursions by ferry you can use the lift to go back to the hotel, saving you money on a cab or saving your legs from the climb.

To Sum up, Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    244
    71
    15
    8
See reviews for
190
482
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose Sorrento and this hotel location for our honeymoon and we had an excellent time. A typical day started by being greeted by Antonio, the head waiter for breakfast. He and his team were engaging, upbeat and extremely welcoming in their crisp uniforms. An excellent selection of food for breakfast, there was something for everyone there. All areas of the hotel were clean and well presented. In the afternoon, we spent some time by the pool and were waited on hand and foot by the staff and particularly Giovanni who would bring us well prepared snacks, such as oranges with the pith removed which were free of charge (and he said from his garden)! The evenings and there is a happy hour in the bar, and Giovanni was a master at cocktails, a raconteur and just a touch of flattery for the women. Tips are not expected, but they all put so much effort into making our stay an experience I was happy to tip. There was a small gym in the sub-basement which I used daily, some equipment was not useable, but plenty was with some free weights to get a good enough workout. My wife used the pool which was heated and well maintained. (they had some sort of robot pool scrubber that cleaned the pool). Although situated high up on the hill there is a free lift that takes you from your floor (we were in room 114) to the private beach below. To use the beach fully was 8 euros, this gives you an umbrella, sun lounger and changing facilities. If you intend to swim only then that is 3 euros each but you can use the showers to wash after. Pay once and you can come and go as many times as you like in the day.
The hotel was in easy walking distance of the old town and town centre (10 minutes each).
Overall our experience in the hotel was excellent would not have changed a thing.

Room Tip: Room 114 had a good view of Mt. Vesuvius and the bay, but the higher up you go the better the view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaryCampbell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

first holiday away without the children and could not have picked a better hotel. the staff were very friendly, breakfast was great and the location just a short walk away from the shops, bars and restaurants could not be better. the view from our room was amazing. My wife picked teh best week to go there as the sales had just started!!! Sorrento does not have a bustling nitelife but it is great just to watch the town. will definitly go back again and will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: get a balcony for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dec315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We received very good service from the moment we arrived until we left. Very consistent throughout our stay. Our room was bright and airy with a sea view and a balcony. It was also kept very clean and tidied twice a day, including clean towels. There was a huge choice of food for breakfast which ranged from pastries, cold meats, cheeses and cakes to a cooked breakfast which varied day to day. Good choice of teas. Personally I found the coffee a little disappointing for an Italian hotel but there was also a large choice of juices. Lots of fresh fruit available every day. The staff were friendly and very helpful. There is a 'Happy Hour' in the bar every evening between 7 and 8 pm when the cocktails are all half price and Italian style canapés are complimentary. We found a problem with our shower thermostat, but within an hour it was fixed for us. We did notice that the walls are a little thin and at times we were able to hear our neighbours. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and it contributed to a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If it's in your price range, the Hotel Continental is truly a gem. Great location facing a pretty park, just on the edge of old town and the harbor, all easy to walk to - the port in 10 minutes (via Continental's private elevator) and old town area in 5 minutes or less. Great service with english speaking staff. They went out of their way to be helpful, including packing a sack breakfast for us the day we departed. Breakfast buffet is plentiful, including a large selection of gluten-free items. Some neat things about this hotel: 1) a separate, small dining room with five tables, provides a unique dining experience with impeccable service, at a price no higher than restaurants in town. 2) The front porch/veranda is a lovely place to people watch and has a great view of the harbor, all the way across to Naples and Vesuvius. Happy Hour every day serves half price drinks and plentiful appetizers, free. A great way to wind down the day. Many "Francos" on staff, and they're all helpful! Rooms are clean and decent. Ask for a room 4th floor or higher with an ocean view. Some reviews have complained about the beds being hard, and they are on the firm side, but we slept well. The hotel tries to be green, so AC only comes on when sliding door to balcony is shut, and lights turn on only when you slip your key card in a slot. Nice touches in the good sized bathroom including slippers and robes. The public areas of the hotel are ample and everything is spotless. Free wi-fi worked fine. We booked and paid in advance and received a significant discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view, 4th floor or higher. Book in advance for best choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth trip to Sorrento and our second to the Continental. This hotel is excellently positioned for marina grande, the port and the town.
This hotel has amazing staff who have been with this hotel for years. The breakfast staff work effortlessly to make your morning start well, they are welcoming, polite and friendly. Bar staff also work hard, Giovanni tried in vain to improve our Italian luckily his cocktails were much better than his teaching! A must is happy hour in the bar, cocktails are cheap there are tasty nibbles and on a warm evening sitting out front enjoying the atmosphere is devine.
Giovanni also gave us some great recommendations of places to eat, one was la Tagliata its abit of a trek as its above Positano so you either need a car or get the bus and then either walk( its a long up hill hike) or get a taxi. They have no menu, they just bring out lots and lots of different dishes all very tasty, there are four courses. For four of us it came to €145 and that included 2 bottles of wine. We also ate at Delfinos and others in marina grande lovely food and beautiful setting, especially when the sun went down.
Hotel continental is spotlessly clean the pool area, bedrooms, breakfast room and all communal areas are cleaned to a very high standard.
Now for my gripes. Storage in the bedrooms is hopeless, we had no drawers at all, i had to leave my underwear in the suitcase. The hairdryer was dreadful, it takes for ever to dry your hair it is so dated not good in a 4* hotel, the toiletries are in cheap packages that also make the hotel appear cheap. There was no body wash only bar soap. Unless as we found out if you stay in a suite you get bottles??? Cant understand why it makes a difference it really cheapens the hotel. Also at breakfast if you want decaffienated coffee you get sachets unless you specifically ask for a pot. Breakfast at the continental is fairly average, the juices are disgusting i have no idea what is in them, if you were blind folded you would not know what you were drinking! There is fresh fruit but not a great assortment but their croissants are lovely and very fresh.
The pool area is very clean and there are fresh towels and lots of sunbeds the waiters will bring drinks and there is a snack bar, but we never ate there.
Overall this hotel is in a great position with friendly helpful staff. Well worth staying in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank pinklady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely facility & primo service. Room was nice (clean, lots of amenities, push buttons of all kinds @ bedside) but small, interfere w/comfortable storage.

They allowed to swap rooms from opposite construction.

Location includes a pvt elevator from room (or lobby) to shore (beach or port).

Aggravating(!!) WiFi needed repeated reset (freq unable to login @ all from room).

Brkfast: Many options, yummy pastries, fancy service but chicory coffee (?local preference).

Ltd hrs for pool (->7) & gym (->8). Both these seem nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GGreenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing