We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely hotel and amenities. Staff was very helpful. Room was spotless. Enjoyed the well kept pool and patio area. Lovely to sit outside in the evening. Location was convenient. Breakfast buffet had many options and staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gailmegkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel sits behind a beautiful park and has a wonderful sea view. The staff was very helpful and there was no language barrier here at all. The breakfasts that were served were excellent, and they have a very clean well kept pool and patio area. A good value and very nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzieqHartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband & I stayed at the continental for 7 nights this month. Can't speak highly enough of this hotel. All the staff were very friendly & most helpful. Our room was very nice & spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent & plenty of choice. All the waiters at breakfast were so pleasant. Would defiantly stay at the continental again & have recommended it to my family & friends

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room on the 2nd floor with a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 in Room 408. We didn't pay for a sea view as the difference in price was too great but I don't regret it. There are lots of places to sit which have a sea view in the hotel itself. The breakfast buffet was okay, I've had better but the hotel shines because of it's staff. They are so attentive and so helpful. They try really hard to speak English (we spoke no Italian) and are incredibly friendly. They recommended a restaurant on the beach below which was outstanding called Marameo Beach Restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the continental hotel; I cannot fault this place and would recommend it to anyone.
From the moment we arrived to the day we left the staff at the continental has made our stay in Sorrento a delight. Everybody from the Porter, Reception, breakfast team and the chambermaid were extremely professional. Nothing was to much for them.
The breakfast selection was very good and enough for you to eat something different every day, you can also get Sparkling wine for breakfast if you fancy.
We had a triple room which was a double with a sofa bed; to be honest it was a bit small for 3 grown adults but we manage just fine…… The wardrobe space is not very big even for 2 people and a very small safe is at your disposition. The rooms are cleaned and tidy twice a day and the towel changed in the evening as well as the morning.

The hotel itself is very well located in Sorrento, if you arrive by train; a 15 minute walk maximum from the train station and if you arrive by boat from Sorrento allow around 15 euros to get from the port. But then again it was bank Holiday when we arrived in Sorrento and I think the fare may have been a bit higher than usual.

The hotel has a lift taking you down to the beach direct and has a special daily rate with the private hire of sun lounger …..
Note: if you come back from Capri or other excursions by ferry you can use the lift to go back to the hotel, saving you money on a cab or saving your legs from the climb.

To Sum up, Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose Sorrento and this hotel location for our honeymoon and we had an excellent time. A typical day started by being greeted by Antonio, the head waiter for breakfast. He and his team were engaging, upbeat and extremely welcoming in their crisp uniforms. An excellent selection of food for breakfast, there was something for everyone there. All areas of the hotel were clean and well presented. In the afternoon, we spent some time by the pool and were waited on hand and foot by the staff and particularly Giovanni who would bring us well prepared snacks, such as oranges with the pith removed which were free of charge (and he said from his garden)! The evenings and there is a happy hour in the bar, and Giovanni was a master at cocktails, a raconteur and just a touch of flattery for the women. Tips are not expected, but they all put so much effort into making our stay an experience I was happy to tip. There was a small gym in the sub-basement which I used daily, some equipment was not useable, but plenty was with some free weights to get a good enough workout. My wife used the pool which was heated and well maintained. (they had some sort of robot pool scrubber that cleaned the pool). Although situated high up on the hill there is a free lift that takes you from your floor (we were in room 114) to the private beach below. To use the beach fully was 8 euros, this gives you an umbrella, sun lounger and changing facilities. If you intend to swim only then that is 3 euros each but you can use the showers to wash after. Pay once and you can come and go as many times as you like in the day.
The hotel was in easy walking distance of the old town and town centre (10 minutes each).
Overall our experience in the hotel was excellent would not have changed a thing.

Room Tip: Room 114 had a good view of Mt. Vesuvius and the bay, but the higher up you go the better the view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GaryCampbell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £117 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing