We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel ...”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel ...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a thoroughly lovely hotel with lovely staff (very male orientated but they are full of cheer, they’re very helpful and give you a very personal service – they are a great asset to the hotel). The hotel is in a great location – easy 5 mins walk to the main square, a 10 mins walk down to the Fisherman's Village & a 10 mins walk to the Marina for the ferries to Capri etc. Lovely large pool although it’s quite chilly (but you kind of get used to it after a few days). The breakfast was fantastic – a great choice of cereals, eggs, cold meats, cheese, bread, pastries, cakes etc (I gained 5lbs). We had a standard room with balcony & sea view which is well worth it in my opinion (some rooms without sea view will currently overlook the next door building site). The room is fairly basic but very adequate and very clean (with fresh towels morning & evening with the turndown service). There is a lift straight down to the beach/jetty if you want to be by the sea (although the beach isn’t great & it’s very busy with the locals – but a swim off the jetty early evening was nice). I only have two negatives – the next door building which I mentioned earlier has apparently been under construction for a few years and Monday to Friday it is noisy if you are sitting by the pool each day with drilling, banging, scraping etc (and that coupled with the kids in the apartment right next to the pool doesn’t make for a very peaceful day - so iPod is highly recommend)! The other negative is the gym – it is very antiquated, half of the machines don’t work and there is no aircon so it gets very hot (we could only manage 30 mins max each morning before we were ready to pass out). The hotel could really do with spending some money on it. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return in a flash.

Room Tip: We had room 405 - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    255
    75
    15
    8
See reviews for
197
514
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I visited Sorrento from June 22 - June 30, and stayed at Hotel Continental.

It was a great choice!

I stayed in room 413, which had an astounding view of the bay.

I booked a double, which had plenty of space for myself and my wife. Not sure why people say there wasn't enough space to unpack, we had more than enough storage.

Staff was incredible, from the people at the front desk, to the waiters, bellmen, house keepers. A++ to all. Antonio - the head waiter was one of the nicest, most interesting people I have met.

Location is right next to a little park, and there is an observation site to view the bay.

The elevator goes straight to the beach, keeping you from having to use the public lift.

Very close to center of town, stores, restaurants.

The breakfast was more than my wife and I could ever eat, but we are light eaters, avoiding carbs (hard to do in Italy!). Lots of pastries and such, yogurt, egg dishes. Coffee was good, more than enough tea selection.

I could not imagine any place could be any better.

Room Tip: Room 413 looks out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We have spent 3 nights here and from the moment we made the booking to the moment of departure we felt welcome and looked after. This hotel has absolutely everything; great location, well-appointed rooms, excellent restaurant, bar and pool area but what sets it apart from the rest is its outstanding level of customer service. We had never experienced anything like it, nothing was too much trouble and we were welcomed like friends every time we entered the hotel. Antonio and Francesco looked after us especially well. This hotel has good, old-fashioned service and you can tell the staff truly enjoy their jobs.

Thank you for making our stay in Sorrento truly special.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flos88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, and what a lovely time we had. The hotel is relaxed beautiful Italian elegance, and the staff were wonderful! Although our room did overlook some building work, the balcony was large, caught the sun all day and did have lovely views of old Sorrento and the mountains. Our room and all the public areas of the hotel are beautiful, the breakfast was plentiful and varied and did provide an adequate start to the day. As said before you cannot fault the staff who all provided really friendly polite service. Only one minor thing is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The location of the hotel is perfect, on the sea front with views of Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvias, in a tranquil park area, and five or ten minutes walk from the all the activity, restaurants, bars, galleries, and beautiful churches. Bus and train station takes you to all attractions Pompei, Herculaneum etc just a short walk from the main square. We had great food in every restaurant we ate in, but if you want to escape the hustle and bustle for a quiet drink we would recommend the Dolio Inn Pub its down a quiet little side street not too far from the hotel and plays good music. All in all we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. A fantastic first impression of Italy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airgone747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff in this hotel are brilliant - they can't do enough for you, really good old fashioned service. The hotel itself is well located in the heart of Sorrento but near to the beach area also and in a quiet cul-de-sac so no through traffic. We could sit on our balcony and watch the wedding parties coming down from the local church for photographs. The rooms are a reasonable size - no kettle but that is the case with most hotels in Italy and yes the hairdryer in the room is rubbish (I took my own but you are not meant to due to health and safety). The rooms are aire conditioned and spotless as is the rest of the hotel, there is some noise when people are arriving and departing and on one occassion I heard next doors alarm clock but it was not a problem. The breakfast is lovely, but I think it is the staff that make this hotel great as they really were very friendly and helpful. Didn't use the spa or gym so can't comment on that, there is a lift down to the beach area, 3 Euros if you want to sunbathe on the beach but free to walk round and you can walk to the harbour area, if you want to sunbathe also you have to get loungers etc which can all get a bit expensive, we did this once but then used the hotel pool (which is huge) the rest of the time, loads of loungers around the pool.

Room Tip: we had a balcony and sea view and I would say its worth paying the extra - after all sorrento is fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

was surprised by excellent location of the hotel - close to the historical center and the beach.
has direct access to Lionelly's beach (lift from the lobby).
I would recommend the hotel - extremely positive friendly and polite staff!
Rooms are very clean. we stayed there (3 of us) in room 103 - originally thought that access to swimming pool can cause issue being noisy but that was a mistake!
Room was very convinient and cosy, very calm place for family vacation.
by the way extremely good breadfast for Italy - not just sandwiches and yogurts, we had good continental breakfast.
Would recommend the stay over there!

Room Tip: 103 - calm place with excellent view to swimming pool and a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena-Milutin-Maxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very good hotel well located for all sightseeing and bars and restaurants.
We booked half board and the food doesn't dissapoint.We will be going again in the near future.The hotel is about an hour and half away from Naples by coach.

Room Tip: Use Trip Advisor for all you need to know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing