We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beaten for location and service”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend who had stayed there many times. We were not disappointed! The location is central to everything in Sorrento, the room was well appointed and very clean, with a wonderful view from the balcony, the staff were delightful, going out of their way to be helpful. The food was good, in particular the amazing choice of starters, mostly Italian-style, which were as substantial as a main course. Breakfast was better than we expected - having read some less than favourable reviews. Antonio is the perfect restaurant manager, and his repartee with long serving waiter, Franco will keep you amused! There are plenty of free deckchairs around the pool so paying for a sunbed wasn't necessary. We used the lift to get up to the hotel from the beach and, contrary to some reports, we weren't charged. The only downside of the hotel in our opinion is that they don't accept credit cards. This was a great shame, as we would have spent some evenings in the bar, and had meals by the pool, if we could have paid our final bill by credit card (our credit card company was offering double loyalty points for spending abroad during August but not for drawing cash!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

On the advice of a friend who had lived in Italy and the strong reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked four nights at the Continental Hotel. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the front desk staff we knew we had made the right choice. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. The pool is very big with chairs all around. It is well situated, quiet, away from the hustle and bustle but only a 5-10 minute walk to the main piazza and maybe 10-15 minutes from the train station. Breakfast was great with choices ranging from antipasto, scrambled eggs, cereals, yogurt, baked goods, and fruit. The breakfast staff were impeccably dressed with white suits and bow ties. Service was great as we were seated and brought coffee almost instantly. We were always greeted with several "Buon Giornos" from the wait staff who were always cheerful and professional. What a great way to start the day! I can't say enough about the front desk staff. True professionals, they not only did a fantastic job but did so while making us feel like more than just hotel guests. What a nice feeling when you come down the following day after checking in and someone greets you by name. When I asked about a restaurant they didn't hesitate to call and make the arrangements. The restaurant that we went to had a shuttle that picked us up and brought us back. The following morning I realized that I had forgotten my camera on the floor of the car. Not only did the front desk call for me to find about the camera, but when they found out that the restaurant could not get it back immediately and that we wanted it because we were going to Capri, they sent someone from the hotel to pick it up for us. All while acting not the least bit put out. A couple of other little personal touches were the bedside chocolates and the foot towels on the floor beside the bed at night. Any hotel can be clean or pretty, or have comfortable beds. What makes Continental Hotel rise above the others is that it has all those things and a tremendous staff too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We picked this hotel for its location and reasonable price for Sorrento and were not disappointed. The welcome was very friendly when we arrived at the hotel and we were shown up to our room and how to work everything which was a nice touch. The room was well equipped with reasonable decor and was very quiet. The view was of the roof top but we could just see the sea in the distance.

The only complaint with the room was the air conditioning was not very powerful and it never seemed to get much below about 23c.

The pool area was good although probably could do with a few more loungers. The pool was just the right temperature and a decent size for swimming. Towels were provided. We ate lunch by the pool one day and that was reasonably priced compared with local restaurants. We also took the lift down to the beach which was also very handy to walk to the port without having to go up and down a hill! There is a charge of 3E to enter the beach club but the lift is free.

The hotel is well situated on a quiet square being only a few minutes walk from Marina Grande, Marina Piccolo and Tasso square and there were plenty of restaurants close by.

The only other complaint was breakfast. The juice was terrible and tasted like watery squash despite the fact we were sitting looking a orange trees! The fruit selection was limited and was often tinned but the cappuchino was excellent.

Overall I was very impressed with the hotel and would definately stay again when I return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atcer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My husband and I have just returned from this Hotel and it was a lovely hotel, it is in a perfect location within walking distance of the main Piazzo Tasso and overlooks the Bay of Naples. The staff are so friendly it is like being part of a family with them and the quality and variety of the food is exceptional. We ate in the Hotel every evening and never had a problem with the food. In fact they could not do enough for you even giving you a bit of each of the puddings when you couldn't decide which one to have. The decor could be classed as dated however it could be just Classic Italian Style but the rooms are spacious and well equipped however the hairdryer in the bathroom is not the most efficient and would just recommend you stand on the balcony in the summer and let your hair dry naturally! Would definately recommend a sea view room well worth paying the extra. Around the pool there are only a few sunbeds however plenty of deckchairs and the pool is a lovely size for the size of the hotel.
The beach is accessible via the hotel lift which is a benefit as it is quite a hike down the cliff but the views are second to none. Very romantic!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This hotel has been refurbished over the last five years and is now world class for most thingsalthough the selection of food could be improved with the addition of an a la carte menu for dinner.the breakfasts are adequate but the fruit juice is awful-diluted from concentrate like most other hotels in Sorrento.
All the staff are very accommodating and good fun,particularly Giovanni the bar manager and Antonio the head waiter..
The management do not take kindly to credit cards and prefer cash.
We have been going to the Continental for 20 years, twice a year and will continue to do so,it's so easy to get anywhere from the hotel to anywhere in Sorrento including the harbours and the shops etc and there is an internal lift down to the beach areas

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yealandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The Hotel Continental was a large part of our holiday. The most important thing for us is the staff being so friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and the hotel was absolutely spotless. Our room was great with a wonderful balcony and sea view(although you pay a bit extra it is worth it). Because we went on some trips, we did not spend as much time at the hotel as we would have liked, but intend to return in the not so distant future. It was central to everything and very relaxing atmosphere. Definitely a winner. Packed breakfasts and lunches were no problem, and there was plenty of it. Nothing was too much trouble. Thankyou Hotel Continental for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newera47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Just had two weeks at the Continental and loved it almost everything about it.

The pluses are:
It's in a great location right beside the historic centre and about five minutes stroll from Piazza Tasso. It's an easy walk to both Marina Piccola and Marina Grande (not so easy coming back up though).
Our room was spacious and spotless, with a huge bathroom, bathrobe, slippers and loads of toiletries. We had an amazing sea view and sat out on our balcony every night to watch the stunning sunsets over the bay.
The dinners were also excellent, not a huge choice, but as good as and often better than meals we had in Sorrento's restaurants.
One of the biggest pluses were the lovely staff, who are hugely professional and friendly and helpful - especially Giovanni the barman (try his award-winning cocktail) and Antonio, who runs the restaurant - they are a brilliant source of travel tips and advice.

Only minus for me was the rather boring breakfasts. I'd certainy go back there again and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarohDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £127 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing