We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo!”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We have just spent 10 days at the Hotel Continental and would love to have stayed longer. It was a great base for visiting all the wonderful places near Sorrento. We can't fault this hotel and would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect, a short walk to the centre of Sorrento but in a quiet area of gardens with great views. The communal areas were lovely and peaceful. Although we didn't have a sea view, the room was clean with a balcony and nice bathroom. The staff were superb - so friendly and obliging. We were so glad to be half board as Sorrento was expensive and the food at the hotel was fantastic. There was an extensive choice from about 6 starters and mains, it was all beautifully cooked and presented. Breakfast was great too. Antonio and the other restaurant staff couldn't do enough: they were polite, efficient and worked so hard. I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for couples and families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here 20-27 Aug 2010, in 2 rooms on 2nd floor. The hotel looks lovely when you walk in and the public areas are beautiful. Our rooms were smaller than we expected- though clean and comfortable with good air con. Breakfast was good. Starters at dinner were excellent, but main course and puddings average. It should be made clear that even young teenage boys are expected to wear long trousers for dinner. We were disappointed not to be able to use a courtesy room to change in for our late flight-we had to use the swimming pool changing room. The pool bar food is reasonbaly priced and the pool was never crowded. The location is excellent-quiet square and near sea but very near centre. We liked the hotel overall. Pompeii,Vesuvius and Capri were brilliant

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cumbrianfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in Sorrento at the Hotel Continental for 4 nights in August, 2010. Great breakfast which was included in our room price, superb location just 2 blocks from downtown Sorrento and great restaurants and about 12 blocks or so from the bus station/train stations. Easy walk from the bus and/or train to the hotel. We flew into Naples and took the bus (which was 10 euro per person and very easy to catch simpy right outside the airport) The bus took about 90 minutes from airport to sorrento.

We stayed on the top floor with a sea view and it was a super quiet hotel and our view was excellent and we sat outside on the balcony every night to look at the sea.

The hotel does have a computer for guests to use and it was just a few euro for 30 minutes.

Really nice pool which we used every day.

We would definitely stay here again....no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portlandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Excellent hotel in location, cleanliness and service, agree with most of other travellers comments apart from food. This is definately not 4 star quality. There was a varied menu each night but the quality and presentation could only be described as 3 star. The whole style of restaurant was very 70's. Would recommend staying B&B only.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HORNBEAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We went to The Hotel Continental on a half borad basis, as part of a group of 10 people for a wedding. The group ranged in age from mid-twenties to fifties. The holiday was fabulous from the very start. When our arrival was delayed, we had a cold platter waiting for us in the restaurant. The rooms were spotlessly clean and air-conditioned. We were located on the top floor right next to a viewing deck of the whole roof that no-one else ever came up to. Felt like we had it all to ourselves all week, panoramic views whenever we wanted it!
The staff at the hotel were impeccable, with special thanks to Antonio the head Waiter, and Giovanni the head barman for the extra mile they went to make sure our whole group were catered for. They provided packed lunches on the days we couldn't eat in the hotel, plus a packed breakfast in the morning of our very early flight.
The hotel food was traditonally mediterranean in the morning, cold meats, cheeses, toast, croissants etc. However the eveing three course were wonderful, a selection of A'La Carte changed every day and cooked beautifully. We had a reserved area for our group and were treated like VIP's the whole stay.
The pool was open from 8am to 7pm and the loungers provided free (a rarity in Sorrento) there is a bar near the pool that served snacks with waiter service for drinks.
The location of the hotel was also fantastic, only a 5 minute walk (on the flat) from the main square of Sorrento, and there are immacualte public gardens right at the front of the hotel, and views of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.
The only negative thing I have to say about the whole experience is the general price of drinking out either in a hotel or the town, You can expect to pay between 4 or 6 euros for a beer that probably isn't even a pint. My tip....pick up some bottles from the supermarket and store in the fridge (after the room has been cleaned) for a cost effective tipple!
TIPS: DONT do an organised tour to Pompeii, you can get a return train ticket to right outside the main entrance from Sorrento for 4 euros, and entrance to the site is 11 euros for all day. A tour will cost around 54 euros each PLUS the entrance fee!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

From the moment you enter you are made welcome. Fantastic front of house and restaurant personnel. Great pool and bar. Rooms very clean and comfortable. We had bed and breakfast which I think was ideal. The menus seemed a little 'British' in orientation. Would stay again any time. The location was excellent-right in the centre of Sorrento although on a quiet square right on the seafront. Most rooms have a sea view right on Vesuvius. Verfy varied buffet breakfast with enough choice for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Fantastic from the moment we arrived to the day we left. We booked a double room with sea view direct with the hotel only 2 days before flying, yes crazy I know. When we arrived we had the perfect welcome, a free upgrade to a suite, woot! That’s never happened to us before.

The room was great, super clean, the cleanest I have seen in a hotel, double sinks in the bathroom, whirlpool bath, bee day and his and hers dressing gowns with slippers. The room was large in size with a large bed and a sitting area with two armchairs. A nice lcd tv with sky tv and of course a fridge and safe in the room also. We were lucky enough to have a nice double balcony which directly overlooked the pretty square in front of the hotel and a vast sea view with Mount Vesuvius in the background.

A quirky addition was wooden electric controls at the side of the beds which activated the shutters for the windows and the air conditioning, there was also a don’t disturb button with little displays outside each room showing who was in/out which I found pretty cool and had never seen before.

It was a great little addition that meant housekeeping never had to knock on your door, which while a small thing, it all added to the relaxing experience. We generally woke up late and only had the breakfast once, it was ok plenty of choice but not the best.

Pool was great, very big for Sorrento at around 20m or so. Giuseppe was great during our stay, who helped create the relaxing ambience of the pool area. There was a table tennis next to the pool bar, which I don’t think is mentioned in the hotel details. The pool bar served a good lunch, reasonably priced and the club sandwich was fantastic, also the chips were very tasty chip shop esq.

The reception and communal areas were pretty and charming, also very clean like the rooms. The reception staff were all very helpful and even let us sneak down to the beach using the hotel lift to save a good 20min walk down the windy roads to the pier for our sea cruise.

Must make a shout out to Giovanni who was a hoot during our stay and supplied us with countless drinks during our stay, cocktails were great and the daily change in happy hour made the visit to the bar an interesting one. There is also a fully equipped gym and a billiards table below the bar if you like that kind of thing.

The toilets under the bar were also nice and clean, something I oddly like in a hotel/restaurant, maybe I have ocd or something, anyhoot what else can I say, well lots actually.

We also had turndown service during the night with nice chocs left by our pillows, always a nice touch in the hotel and one evening when we got back to our room we noticed a little boat acting oddly on the sea, a few minutes later fireworks started shooting from the boat in all directions, we enjoyed a long and quite large firework display from our balcony, it was the icing on the cake of a truly wonderful stay.

And just in case I do not get round to it, I would definitely book a dinner at the Il Borge restaurant up in the hills about Sorrento for a fantastic meal, wonderful breathtaking views over looking the sea and Sorrento and its also pretty reasonable compared to the restaurants in Sorrento, oh and they will pick you up from your hotel also, so tops!

Well that’s all folks, thanks to everyone at the Hotel Continental we will be back and thanks again for the best holiday we have had in years.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radiculous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Piazza della Vittoria n. 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing