We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more staff”
Review of Hotel Dania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dania
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived by coach (36 of us ) and were asked to go into the dining room straight away ,which already had another large party eating .There were only two waitresses who were serving drinks as well as the meals therefore service was slow and meals during the stay were often cold !!There didn't seem to be an efficient method of service !!! One night someone waited 45 minutes for their starter but the last person who came in 30 mins late was the first to be served from our party !!
Now to the rooms ours was lovely ,large with a balcony but be aware the some are in the basement !!One friends was down the stairs from the kitchen ,was kept awake til 2.00 am with guest celebrating loudly ,staff cleaning up !!then was awoken at 5.30 by staff preparing for breakfast !! breakfast was simple the bread was very difficult to break and eat !!
The hotel does have lovely views over the bay ,it's quite a walk into Sorrento down a dangerous road without pavements !! The sunsets are amazing !!

Room Tip: Not 115 it's like a nuns cell !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

All the staff were lovely, and very friendly. I stayed there with my partner who is Italian, so he was obviously able to chat to them more however, they made an effort to speak to me in English as well. The hotel has lovely views of the coast and a really nice pool with sunbeds etc. Walking distance to a rocky beach (if you don't mind a bit of a climb into the water). Hotel is probably about 30 mins walk to Sorrento main shops etc, so you'd need a car/scooter to get around. Breakfast was included and i''d say more than your expected simple Euro breakfast, with yoghurt, cereal, croissants, ham, cheese. Overall a pleasure staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As you can tell my wife and I simply love this place. Its a very friendly family run hotel and everyone, owners and staff alike, are keen to make your stay special.In fact most of the staff have not changed over the 5 years we have been there. The hotel is a mile or so outside Sorrento on a promontory making it much quieter and refreshingly cooler at night. A regular inexpensive bus service runs throughout the day but it can mean a taxi ride later at night..Sorrento is lovely and has many interesting things to do and see but it is actually quite nice to get out of the hustle and bustle of the town at the end of the day and cool down in the pool.
Rooms are clean and tidy and on about four levels to maximise the wonderful views available from most bedrooms. The restaurant is carefully and cleverly positioned so that most tables will have fantastic views across the Bay of Naples as the sun sets over Ischia at the opposite end of the bay. The video tour is great but trust me it is even better when you are there.

Room Tip: Many rooms have balconies and/or sea views so if this is what you want ask at the time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 175Chrish03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed for a week at this family run hotel as a member of a party on an historical tour of the area. Most rooms have lovely views of the bay of Naples and a balcony if you are lucky. Everything is immaculately clean and the food is good. (some days better than others). The staff are exceptionally friendly. It is a little way out of Sorrento and not even an easy walk to the nearest bar, Tabac general store and bus stop although they are close - busy road : no pavement. For anyone who likes a drink please note this hotel has no proper dedicated bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had only stayed here for 2 nights, but decided to cut our visit in Positano short and come back for one more. I didn't realise quite how far away from the town centre it was...you can walk it if you're ambitious, but the road is slightly treacherous with the crazy drivers and it is uphill all the way. But there is a bus stop close by and the friendly chap behind the desk gave us great instructions on how and when to use the bus system. It is a great price, possibly because it is slightly farther up Via Capo than the other hotels, but you get a great view of the sea without the chaos of traffic or downtown messing it up. They also have a cute little pool that is quite refreshing if you make the mistake (as we did) of walking all the way with your luggage. The room was quite good, great view (I think probably all of their rooms have great views). We had 2 different rooms on 2 seperate occasions, and for some reason both bathrooms were badly designed so that either the door couldn't open properly or you had to do some manuvering to get in...however I found that more hilarious than annoying. The breakfast is nothing special but that's by no means a deal breaker. The beach (Paul or Paulo...something like that) is a stinky and long walk maybe 2 km down a path behind a lemon orchard, but I wouldn't recommend it. It is crowded, expensive and dirty, dirty, dirty! The water is nothing but floating garbage (remember in Star Wars when they go down the garbage shoot and end up in that room with the garbage and the big snake and the walls closing in? ya, like that.) BUT we found an awesome spot to swim off some rocks right next to the ruins of a Roman villa about a 10-15 min walk from the bus stop. You'll see a sign from the bus stop, follow it, despite the next sign that looks like a "don't walk down here" sign...trust me, walk there. I would stay at this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: we used their online discount offer, which guarantees a room with a sea view for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScooterMcTooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Wow, couldn't believe the views from our room window. This hotel was great. We had comfortable beds, ocean views of Isola di Capri, free breakfast (typical european with hams, cheeses and breads, etc). We stayed here for 3nights, originally 2nights however we loved the serenity so much we extended.

The location was a little far from the main Sorrento shopping precinct 6minute drive, however we had a car and had no trouble getting around the narrow streets. There was plenty of parking outside the hotel and around area. Paid parking was available in main sorrento. The hotel service was fantastic, we were treated really well and the staff could speak english well. We arrived quite late from Rome and they waited for us until 10pm. They also had a hotel cat, really friendly and would visit us in our room or follow us. The hotel was tiled throughout including rooms.

The pool was great and refreshing, however very deep (3metres). The beach was a short 5mintues walk, passing through all the citrus plantations. The beaches small and be prepared to pay around 10euro for a sunbed, etc, as the sand was black. The hotel was kind enough to lend us beach towels also.

My only criticism is Airconditiong was an extra cost per night (didn't concern us because it was mild 25degrees at night), however we had the windows open and got bitten by mosquitos. Next time we will pay for cooling.

It was 30-40minute drive back to Pompei, Naples and Mt Vesuvio. Near by restaurants only 2mintues drive from hotel and great quality. We had great experiences and got free homemade Limoncello shots one night from an italian man who owned one of local restaurants. Fantastic, can't wait to return. We would be happy to go back to this hotel. The price for what we got was great.

Room Tip: THe way the hotel is designed its seems most rooms get ocean views. We stay on the 3rd level. Fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otti85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayes here in April 2012. The hotel is outdated from the exterior and the lobby area. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were also very clean. Don't be fooled by the pictures on their website cause they look nothing like it. There was a very poor selection of food and some if our meals were overlooked and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#83 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dania

Address: Via Capo 69, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dania 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dania Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing