We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views bland food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dania
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
staffs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great views bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

we had a lovely viewfrom our bedroom. but some guests wre not so lucky.it was so hot when we arrived we turned the air conditioning on to find out you had to pay 10 euros a day for it ,also the dining room was not air conditioned,so we were uncomfortable. as for our bathroom it was a joke we had what i would describe as a hip bath we were terrified of slipping all the time. the hotel itself was clean but the food wasnt up to much they gave us tinned pineapple one night.we never saw as much as a lettuce leaf let alone a salad.it is quite a walk into sorrento

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    70
    44
    24
    21
See reviews for
22
117
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

The location of the Hotel Dania is lovely, overlooking the Bay of Naples, but away from the centre of Sorrento. The views are stunning, we heard a lady describe it as "a 3 star hotel with 5 star views". Our room was fantastic, spacious and clean.

The staff were very helpful, and willing to assist my husband with his requirements for a gluten free breakfast.

Unfortunately, the breakfasts were not very inspiring. The bread was very hard and almost stale, and there wasnt a scrap of fruit, strange for an area that produces so much fruit.

  • Liked — Nice stafff, very pretty hotel
  • Disliked — uninspiring breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We had a wonderful two weeks in the hotel dania in june /july 2008.The staff wjust wonderful especially Annamaria and Lello.They were kind and helpful in every way.We had a nice room with a fabulous terrace overlooking the bay of naples and the sunsets were truly incredible. The breakfast was contiental and had breads, cheeses, hams, and teas coffees juices and fruits etc. We were only 3 mins walk to the bus which takes you into the certre of sorrento for 1 euro and takes about 10 mins. They run every 20 mins and were great. You can walk through the lemon and orange groves down to the little marina de puglio which is 15 mins walk and is a lovely little port and has a few nice restaurants. We were a familly of four with a 3 year old and an 18 month old. They loved the pool which also has a seperate baby pool. Its a long walk back up to the hotel with a buggy but we never had to do it as the restaurants in the port always drove us home. Brilliant hospitality! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. we really had a great time on our first trip to italy. I'd love to go back. Average price for meals out were 70 euro for all of us and that included beer and wine[lots]

  • Liked — amazing views and air con and staff
  • Disliked — no fridge[especially with young children]
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kzach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We have just returned having stayed in this hotel as part of a trip with VJV.

The official rating was 3 star which was probably about right but beware the hotel is at Capo di Sorrento which is a 20 minute bus ride from the town centre.

The area was lovely and quiet and ideal for just relaxing. There is no beach to speak of and the nearest was a 30 minute downhill walk (much longer to climb back!).

The pizza place near the only shop was OK but a bit limited. The hotel food was good but rather pricey as was the food anywhere in town.

The pool was clean and not busy and the view of the sunset from the terrace each night was simply magnificent. The rooms were a good size and very clean and comfortable. As for the staff, Lelo was so friendly I felt he was my best mate. He was wonderful and the rest of the staff were very friendly too.

I would recommend this hotel as a base for days out (Pompeii etc are easily reached by the local bus and train) or to just chill and catch the sun.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and sunset views
  • Disliked — Distance from anything!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
883 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

Just returned from a week in the Dania. Lovely location with great views.It is outside the main town but this is not a problem due to the great bus service which runs every 20 mins. Our room was downstairs right beside the pool and was a bit noisy at night but only until the bar closed around 12.30. We didn't have an air conditioning unit in the room and it got very hot at night. We had to open the terrace doors and then got eaten alive by mosquitoes( even when covered with deet repellant) . Hotel was clean and staff friendly. There were a few things we didn't like however. One was the lack of any fresh fruit or fruit juice at breakfast time, in a country full of wonderful fruit trees and lots surrounding the hotel they could have included a few oranges or the like on the breakfast table. Pool was nice with great views but you had to pay if you wanted a sun umbrella- very unusual in a hotel. You also had to pay 2.50 Euro for ice if you wanted to make a drink in your room and the same if you wanted hot water for a cup of tea. There were notices forbidding you to plug in travel kettles .Drinks in the hotel bar were the same price and often dearer than in the main square in Sorrento where little dishes of nibbles were included in the price. Little rip offs like this put many people off.
Another problem was the walk to the bus stop, very close but there is no pavement on a narrow road and you take your life in your hands especially on the corners but admittedly this isn't the Dania's fault. You can, as other reviewers say ,walk to the beach through lovely lemon groves but it is a steep 20 min climb up again in the evenings.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday, Sorrento, Capri , Amalfi Coast, Vesuvius , Pompeii all wonderful .
If staying in the Dania make sure you get a top floor room with air conditioning and you should enjoy it.

  • Liked — beautiful views
  • Disliked — Extra charges+ hidden costs, rooms without air con , mosquitoes , dANGEROUS walk to bus stop,
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Norwich
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

We chose this hotel because it was a little out of Sorrento (having been there 3 times before, we thought we could do with a change). Having looked on Tripadvisor, I was a little concerned but booked anyway.
How wrong can other reviewers be?
We had a room downstairs that was basic but clean and quite large. The bathroom was rather compact but this was more than made up for in the terrace (we had booked a balcony but didn't expect an enormous terrace with fabulous views)
We had no trouble with noise even sleeping with our door to the terrace open all night (the room could have done with aircon but the door provided enough of a breeze)
The staff were all really friendly - I think it all depends on how you approach a holiday. We were friendly to them, they were friendly back. My husband got gout whilst there and they were really concerned for him.
The amount of stairs in the hotel wouldn't be appropriate for the less mobile but we had a lovely lady staying at the same time as us who was 82 and she managed fine.
We went with Newmarket holidays and all the people we were with said they had grown to really love the hotel by the time we left. everyone was glad they had stayed here instead of in town.
It is a little out of Sorrento but the advantage is the Poulo bay. This is a must. We spent two days on the beach there (10-15 mins walk down from the hotel). The sea was clear and the sand alovely change from bathing platforms in Sorrento.
We also eat in the restaurant attaching to the Hotel Baia 3 nights - the seafood was superb and cheaper than Sorrento. The chef also drove us back to the hotel one night due to my husband's gout. Most couples from the hotel ate there some nights and all loved it. Poulo Bay is unspoilt and a proper little village - if I had stayed in Sorrento I would never have gone there which would have been a tragedy.
Please ignore the negative reviews. If you want a basic, clean and friendly base that's a bit quieter - look no further.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the large terrace and view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LockyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

When we arrived, late at night, we were placed in some terrible rooms - down stairs - dirty, noisy and with dated, broken furniture - we couldn't believe it and didn't sleep at all. The next day we complained and were moved to the rooms which were basic and refurbished- . Really the other rooms shouldn't be used and it didn't give us a good first impression of the place! Overall the hotel is OK - the rooms can be very noisy depending on your neighbours and if they are close to the entrance/bar - my aunt was put here- you can be constantly disturbed by the comings and goings of other residents.
The food is fine - but I can see why other reviewers comment on the staff - the restaurant staff didn't smile at all - making us feel very unwelcome! However the receptionist was lovely and made up for everyone else!
I was with my mum and aunt - both in their 70's and we managed the local buses into town just fine ( tho' one eve the last one never arrived and I had to bribe a lift with a hotel bus as the taxis were asking for E28!) We loved the local walks and views and the food in the resturants in the fishing village were superb! Worth going down for, and one of waiters took us in a car back up the hill for an extra tip.
Sorrento is very touristy - and beautiful at the same time. Beware any one who hates shopping - lots of wonder ful bags and shoes to buy!

SAM

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor rooms and unfriendly staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Linda
Hotel Linda
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dania

Property: Hotel Dania
Address: Via Capo 69, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dania 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dania Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing