We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We turned up without booking and the gentleman at the front was very pleasant and offered us a fair rate. We were the shown the room before booking as per our request. The rooms are spacious and the service was 4 star. They were very nice and accommodating. All the staff were really nice. The breakfast was not great for a vegetarian however the selection of cold meats for my friend left him impressed. We did not dine here so cannot comment on the other food. The balcony was large and very nice. The pool was a good size however hidden between the buildings and trees therefore blocking the sun light. Overall a pleasant stay and we would stay again.

P.s. Our request for additional pillows was granted :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    314
    107
    45
    30
See reviews for
162
346
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arbroath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good/all-round hotel.Room was immaculately maintained during our week stay-towels re-newed daily-sheets & pillows also freshened several times. Food was nicely presented- sauces were especially good. Requests were dealt with efficiency & humour. All-in-all a pleasant experience which I could thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps an "inside" room-we had no noise problems(notice a few complained of road/rail noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is almost next door to the railway station that let's you go easily where you want and cheaply. The evening walks are perfect, as you are on the very of town but not in it!
Staff are friendly and know their job.
Rooms are small (particularly the shower) but quite acceptable for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbprelude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed a couple of nights with tour group, very comfortable, though shower was tiny. Beds good & staff friendly. Location to Sorrento town centre is very good, just a short stroll to the piazza & local restaurants, etc. Wasn't able to enjoy internet facilities while staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timn4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here our last three night in Italy and just loved everything about it. Room size and bathroom size (Room 107) were the largest we had out of all the hotels we stayed in during our 11 day trip through Italy. We even had a lovely terrace which was a pleasant surprise. Front desk personnel very nice and funny too! Wifi only in the lobby, would have liked in room as well. Not pool weather but that area although small, looked nice as well. Good breakfast in morning although waiters came out with plates with scrambled eggs after we had eaten from the buffet. Loved the decor throughout as well. Walking distance to shops, banks, restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelo885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypool
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

stayed here for a week-may 9-16-with Riviera Travel on half board basis.hotel quite central for centre and marinas and although bordered by busy road one side and railway the other there was no noise inside the hotel.(if you go to marina grande try coffee and chocolate brioche at Nonna Emilias )hotel is spotlessly clean,has a bar with large lounge area,a free and easy to use safe with a key-no complicated code,the bedroom was quite small but the bed and pillows very comfy,good size bathroom-no bath,only a ridiculously small shower- I think my fridge is bigger !-why have a bidet?-who uses them ? but this is my only moan.buffet style breakfast had plenty to offer,at dinner a choice of 4 things per course-portions are substantial-my risotto starter could easily have been a main course. especially delicious are the nut and fruit bread at breakfast and at dinner the soups,hot fish dishes and fresh fruit flan.all the staff were friendly and helpful with a sense of humour and spoke good english.come back to sorrento-yes please.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PontypoolSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from Sorrento and another stay at the Michelangelo Hotel. What makes this place special is the staff, especially in the restaurant. I returned after a 14 year gap and there were some of the same friendly faces...it made my holiday! Great central town location, 5 minutes from the train station, from which you can easily get to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples, very cheaply. Short, flat walk into Piazza Tasso and all the joys of the pretty town.
Rooms are fine, spotlessly clean, some with balconies. Lovely Gala dinner served one night a week.
I would happily return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room overlooking the pool area. Easy access to sun terrace from 5th and 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing