We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were on an organised tour with a full programme. We were out early every day and time spent in the hotel was limited to eating and sleeping. The food was adequate but uninspiring- didn't do justice to the service provided by restaurant staff. The barman was a delight but the bar lacked atmosphere. The room was comfortable, decor tasteful and the hotel was well situated. Glad we took a kettle. Overall the holiday was good value for money- suspect hotel rate heavily discounted. Four star rating deceptive. No 'wow' factor but fine really.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Julieleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

the Michelangelo hotel is worthy of five stars. The bedrooms are large, very clean as is the bathrooms. Bed linen was changed daily..and each room had a safe. the restaurant was large clean and provided a good menu with a lot of choice.the bar was friendly clean and a happy place to chill out.all the staff were top class.
the hotel is located 5 minutes from the main square in Sorrento where all the lovely shops are and the gateway to the beautiful views of the surrounding islands i.e. Capri etc.
easy transport by train, bus or coach to the excavations in Pompie the train goes all the way to Naples. The Amalfi coastline is the most beautiful area and takes your breath away.
I cannot fault anything with my holiday it was a dream.




  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If u are ok with small lifts, pay wifi, so-so continental breakfast but goood location. This is the place u wanna be. Stayed there last may on an insights tour. As our tour director said... Don't mind the hotel it's the location that counts. :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We came with a tour group/ on our honeymoon and was given a fantastic room with a great view. We wanted to stay one more night before moving to positano. They had to switch our room which was more than fine. But the new room did not meet the basic requirements of a clean room. We had to call the front desk to come and fumagate our washroom for a major bug infestation and the man who came sprayed me with the bug killer. Could not get the smell off my skin all night. Asked in the morning about it and they did not care at all. Gross!!!!!!!!

Lack basic customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrHotel2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in the Michelangelo on a package holiday having chosen the hotel as it was the best that Riviera holidays were able to offer in Sorrento.

This old style hotel has double rooms where you could perhaps swing a Manx cat, but with no internet connection in the rooms and BBC television in Arabic. There was internet connection in the reception area but only enough bandwidth to handle a couple of iPads.

The worst thing was the food. The hotel is supposed to be 4 star but the evening set menu appeared as if it had been cooking all day so that perhaps you could have the same set lunch and set dinner. There is no a la carte menu. After the first night we therefore took the step of eating out instead of taking advantage of the half board deal. Breakfast was a 'dull as dishwater' buffet.

The one redeeming feature from this 2 star experience was the barman who brightened up with his personality the uninspiring ambience of the bar for our end of day drinks which we desperately needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 977RobW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We turned up without booking and the gentleman at the front was very pleasant and offered us a fair rate. We were the shown the room before booking as per our request. The rooms are spacious and the service was 4 star. They were very nice and accommodating. All the staff were really nice. The breakfast was not great for a vegetarian however the selection of cold meats for my friend left him impressed. We did not dine here so cannot comment on the other food. The balcony was large and very nice. The pool was a good size however hidden between the buildings and trees therefore blocking the sun light. Overall a pleasant stay and we would stay again.

P.s. Our request for additional pillows was granted :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good/all-round hotel.Room was immaculately maintained during our week stay-towels re-newed daily-sheets & pillows also freshened several times. Food was nicely presented- sauces were especially good. Requests were dealt with efficiency & humour. All-in-all a pleasant experience which I could thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps an "inside" room-we had no noise problems(notice a few complained of road/rail noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £116 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing