We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Albion Park Rail, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were in Sorrento in June 2014 with a group of friends approx. 20 of us all up. We all found the staff to be extremely friendly, especially the bar tender John( that's what he called himself), our rooms were great nice and large and clean. Location was excellent. If I ever get the opportunity to go back I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    310
    106
    44
    28
See reviews for
160
340
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I'll start with the positives - good location, looks nice from the outside, the rooms and en suites are large, has a pool, has wifi (but only in lobby) and it is next door to THE BEST pizza place ever - pizzeria de Franco.
Now the downsides - our room (314) stunk really bad! It had a mildew/mouldy smell to it and at times a terrible sewerage smell would linger in. Don't expect to have a comfortable sleep because the pillows are hard and flat just like the mattress. Breakfast was way below expectations. I know the Italians don't serve the typical American continental breakfast but this was still a poor variety. The only source of protein was boiled eggs - not even scrambled eggs on offer. If you are gluten/wheat free, you are better off going somewhere else to eat.we had water all over our bathroom floor as the shower screen didn't do its job to hold the water in. Staff were ok. They could have smiled more and been more friendly.
In conclusion, I really think the hotel needs to seriously upgrade the place and make it more comfortable and up to a 4 star standard. I wouldn't suggest this hotel. Next time, I will be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Ashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Sorrento. Excellent experience. Very welcoming staff, nice room, and good breakfast. We had a room near the top with a lovely view of the Mediterannean.
Location was great ...easy walk to shops and restaurants in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 6 nights in this hotel on a Shearings Coach Tour and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Sorrento and for visits to Pompeii, Naples and the Amalfi Coast and offers decent accommodation, good food and excellent service from efficient, friendly staff and we would certainly stay here again if we return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRED L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on an Insight tour. Our room was very comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the pool area. Very central just a few minutes walk to the main square. Decent breakfast. The hotel is right next door to Franco's pizza. We ate their twice. It was the best pizza I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pappyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on a group tour. Room was average size and clean. We were on the back overlooking the train tracks and station but not noisy. No trouble sleeping. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the city center. Obviously convenient to the train station. Free wi fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Italy having spent 8 days in This hotel in Sorrento as a base to visit the area. The hotel is situated on the main road but set back a little and just a short walk from the towns main square, our stay was on a half board basis dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel was clean and well presented, the room (306) was average size but the large bed (two large single beds pushed together) made it look smaller than it really was the bathroom was a good size and had a bath with shower over (the screen allowed water out making the floor wet by the toilet) the air conditioning worked very well we had to turn if up, this room was at the front of the hotel and did not have a balcony but there are no sea views from this hotel although the front does overlook a lemon grove, so we didn't mind this and as the traffic noise is very loud I doubt we would have been sitting out to much the double glazing did provide good sound proofing though, on saying that if you go to the top sun terrace you are able to see the sea in the distance. The food was adequate with breakfast being a continental style buffet and dinner waiter service with a choice of courses. All the staff were pleasant and helpful with a special mention to Giovanni the barman, who was always happy and smiling and nothing seemed to much trouble for him. The town is a very busy tourist destination and has vast amounts of traffic all day into the early morning with youngsters on motor scooters every where and road signs being completely ignored by all the road users so even on a one way street you need to look both ways and keep your eyes open, this traffic also causes not only noise pollution but fumes and grime from exhausts as well. there is some respite from this in the small shopping streets (no vehicles allowed except some scooters) but you trade motor traffic for tourists and these streets are always crowded. This town does make a good location to visit the local attractions, Capri, Amalfi, Vesuvius, Pompeii, Naples etc. But it is not cheap and tipping is expected, we did enjoy this holiday but it was very busy with lots of travelling and walking, some on uneven ground and some on hilly ground so take comfortable walking shoes, it is however not somewhere we would hanker to go back to, and I found Pompeii a bit of a let down but that is probably just me and having seen it on TV having my expectations raised.

Room Tip: some of the rooms to the front have balconies and overlook a lemon grove. otherwise there are no rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing