We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo!”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have just come back from a fab week at the Michelangelo and beautiful Sorrento.

The transfer from Naples airport is about 1 to 1.5 hours, along the beutiful coastline. We went with Portland Holidays, and our Tiu representative Chris at our hotel was excellent, he is a minefield of usefull information and very friendly, not pushy with Thompson trips at all.

The rooms are lovely - but do ask for a room with a balcony, as we had one of the very few without one - but all the same it was great. The pool is very nice and theres an excellent roof terrace for sun bathing. But to be honest there was so much to do in sorrento and the surrounding area that we only spent one day lounging around. The cost of the drinks in the hotel are very reasonable - cheaper than in the bars. At dinner - we usually had a half bottle of wine and a half bottle of water for about 8 euros. We also saw that some people bought a full bottle of wine, and only drunk half and the restaurant then saved it for them until the day after. If your trying to save money they will also give you a jug of ice water if you ask for it.

Barman is a legend as everyone says.

A few doors down from the hotel towards to Piazza Italia is a great pizza place that do lovely ham and cheese hot sandwiches for lunch to take away - 5 euros. Also for lunch further down the street on the left hand side after the road for the train station was Rita's they had some lovely sandwiches, pasta, and cakes for lunch too.

There is a nice bar restaurant called the Foreigners Club at the side of the main road down to Marina Piccolo - that looks nothing from the outside, but go through and its a lovely place overlooking the Bay of Naples - you can eat there or just go for a drink - and you can watch the sunset over Versuvius. They also have a couple of traditional musicians and dancers which is quite nice to see/hear.

You can do all the trips yourself.

We did a bus trip to Amalfi and Ravello 7 euros - takes about 1.5 hours, then on the way back we did the boat - 12 euros. That was great - but you need a head for heights but the views are gorgeous.

Capri is lovely - but its 14 euros each way so a bit pricey. We walked up to Capri town - take about 30-40 minutes - or you can take a little bus or cable car up. Sit in a cafe and people watch.

We did Herculaneum and Vesuvious together in the same day. Train is about 3 euros ish - takes about 1 hour. Outside the train station is a company who will take you to Vesuvious for 10 euros return- we were worried its was a scam but no all ok. The taxi took us to 1000 feet - and they then stay for about 1 hour 20 mins whilst you go to the top of the crater. Its then 6.50 euros to walk up to the crater. Its quite steep and as you look up its further than you can see - so again you need a bit of a head for heights - but a fabulous view at the top. If you're doing Pompei then get a 5 site ticket for 20 euro when you go to Herculanum/Pompei as on there own its 11 euros each so you save 2 euros per person. Pompei is emense!

Sorrento itself is lovely - all little cobbled walkways and streets with lovely shops, and cafes.

Enjoy it! - Michelangelo Hotel cracking location and lovely hotel, Sorrento - Gorgeous.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GriffSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

Read all of the positive comments, they're all true. Guiseppe (the bar man) is a legend and you must visit his new restaurant, but the rest of the staff at the hotel deserve credit for making everyone feel so welcome. Great location, close to everything. Food, very good. Yes you can sometimes hear a train, but I would recommend this hotel to first time visiters to the Sorrento region 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Easybeesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Great location, nice rooms, great bar and bartender, nice breakfast and good staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowrose4606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The Michelangelo was clean and comfortable with an attractive lobby with a small bar. The rooms in the original building seem a bit nicer than those in the annex. For tour food (we were with a school group), the food was definitely upscale. At breakfast, you need to let the waiters know that you want real coffee (not the instant they serve Americans). They will agree with you and bring you a lovely cappuccino and refuse a tip. We were awakened by a rooster crowing, but that wasn't too bad. Other than really flat pillows, and only one for each bed, I had no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italychaperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I will get the poor points out of the way first.
1) Some of the rooms overlook the railway and you can hear the trains early morning and late evening, it did not bother me but a light sleeper would suffer. 2) Reception staff range from pompous and unhelpful to very good. 3) There is no car parking at the hotel and the nearest car park is a long walk and expensive, staff could have done more to help us. 4) The internet connection has problems with vista, but even though it did not work and I asked for the contract to be stopped the first day they still put it on the bill for every day and insisted it was paid for. It costs 5 Euros a day.
The good points. It is very well located and very close to the circumsuvia rail station which gets you almost everywhere. The rooms are clean and room service is very good. Bar staff are superb and to be honest make this hotel. Breakfast is buffet style well provisioned with plenty of variety. It is a very smart hotel with a good standard of decoration.
There are plenty of places to eat in Sorrento the pizza cafe next door is excellent, warning the starter is huge and when coupled with a pizza is deadly to the waistline. The friendliest restaurant ever the Angelina Lauro situated in the Piazza Angelina Lauro which has really good food, much of which comes from their own farm or vines and gives you a chance to sample authentic cuisine. I would urge you try it.
Also if you need an honest, reliable English speaking taxi driver who can arrange a superb guide for Pompeii or Herculaneum phone Enzo [--]. He was an absolute diamond and made our trip. He took us on a tour of the Amalfi coast in his 8 person Cab and he was the bee’s knees. In fact he made the holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Croxley-Hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

A wonderful base in Sorrento, Italy. Rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. Staff are friendly and all speak English. A few words of Italian from you will always bring an extra smile from them!
The Continental breakfast was buffet style with a very large selection which should set most up for the day.
The evening meal offered a choice of four starters, four main courses plus vegaterian and three dessert choices. The food was well cooked and the service was quick and efficient.
The Hotel is less than five minutes walk away from the Naples to Sorrento Circumvesuviana Rail Station that takes passengers to all the historical sites. We requested and received a front of Hotel room. The rear of the Hotel does overlook the railway line, but other guest informed me that the double glazed windows keeps the noise to a minimum. The trains do not run late at night.
The Hotel has a fine swimming pool and ample sun loungers. There is not a fitness suite.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. However, a nearby cafe does a large take away coffee for 1 Euro.
You cannot go far wrong at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We've just returned from a week at this hotel and it was a great hotel to stay at. The reception staff were courteous and efficient, the cleanliness of the rooms was impeccable despite the mess we left it in each day, the restaurant staff were real professionals and the atmosphere was great. The food was good and plentiful. We can't really comment on the bar as we are not drinkers but our one experience in the bar was OK.

It is well situated near the main square and railway station. Our room was at the back near the railway but we only heard the odd train whistle to remind us that it was there.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone as good value for money and for a little old time finesse

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disgruntled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £115 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing