We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 14 September 2010

When we arrived we were greeted in a jocular manner by the man on reception and this set the tone for the week . All the waiters were very friendly, too. Our room was spotlessly clean and maintained that way throughout our stay, but you wouldn't stay here if you wanted a room with a view. There was a good selection of cereals, breads, meats,cheese etc at breakfast and evening meals were generally very good, with excellent service. The hotel has close access to the railway and bus stations, so is well situated. We would be happy to return to his hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

We last visited this hotel two years ago and as previously stated nothing much has changed in relation to both the staff and quality of the food and service. Giuseppe as ever is very entertaining with some great one liners.
Breakfast is basic but made up for in the evening meal.
We booked the hotel last minute which saved us £450 cheaper and the balcony view was of the staff / delivery entrance (which could be noisy) and the block of flats to the side but it was okay. The only thing I noticed was that one of the air vents in the bathroom was thick with dust although all the other vents were spotlessly clean hence the four out of five.
It is a great location for the town, station and ferries and I have no doubt we will be back to the Michaelangelo in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdunlaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel and the last time was 5 years ago yet some of the waiters recognised us. Wonderful staff and so handy for Tasso Square, the trains, buses and ferries. We just love Sorrento, its a very special place and the location of the hotel is just great. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Had a great time in sorrento ,a great hotel with a good choice of menu for evening meal with waiter service.
Breakfast o.k ( continental style. )
Rooms are cleaned to a high standard and all staff are polite and friendly.
We were lucky as we had a large terrace from our room and was able to sit outside at night with rest of our family as our rooms were all close together .
I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoddcouple69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Our room overlooked the Circumvesuvia railway line. That said the noise from the railway line didn't bother us at all (good double glazing!) although we didn't sit out on the balcony as not much of a view. The room was very comfortable. The aircon worked well and was very quiet. The bathroom was quite large, finished very well and the beds were very comfortable. We stayed on half board with Thomsons and tought the food was ok. We stayed for a week and didn't find the food repetitive as others have suggested. The starter portions were quite large, sometimes larger then the main course! The waiters were always very friendly and happy to change something if we didn't eat it (which in my wifes case was mainly because she was so full from the starter!). The pool is small and is mainly in a shaded area. For those of you that have been to Disney theme parks the entrance and especially the lift areas remind us of the Hollywood Terror Tower. Not that it is unsafe but it's the general feeling of 1920's dark wood interior. Anyway you'll get what I mean if you visit it!

HERE's some great money saving excursion tips based on recommendations from Tripadvisor and our own experiences!
POMPEII AND HECULANEUM
Don't take any of the Thomson excursions! They are very expensive. We used only local transport which we found to be very cheap and very reliable. For instance, if you're thinking of going to Pompeii and Herculaneum the Thomson price is around 55 Euros (plus you still have to pay 11 Euros each to get into Pompeii and 11 Euros to get into Herculaneum - it's in the small print of their guide which you receive when you arrive). Take the Circumvesuviana train (about 5 mins on the left from hotel). A 24 hour ticket costs just over 3 Euros. I would suggest first going to Herculaneum (station is Ercolano - scavi about 50mins on the train - scavi means excavation) for about a 2 hours visit then take the train back to Pompeii scavi. I think you would need to spend around 4 -6 hours in Pompeii. Apparently Thomson justify the price because you get a local guide to take you around and "this brings the place to life". Well we saw lots of these large groups being herded around and some people couldn't hear what the guide was saying. We paid 5 Euros each and got an English headset with which we heard everything we wanted when we wanted. To summarise: with Thomson you pay around 55 Euros each and go by coach and get a guide (and still have to 11 Euros each at both Pompeii and Herculaneum). If you travel by train you pay just over 3 Euros each to visit both sites and can pay an extra 5 Euros at Pompeii for the headset (I wouldn't bother with headset at Herculaneum the guide book you get with your entrance fee is good enough and it's much smaller than Pompeii). Of course you still have to pay the 11 Euros each at Pompeii and Herculaneum but still a massive saving of around 47 Euros each.
AMALFI AND POSITANO
The Thomson price for this is around 33 Euros each. We bought a "blue bus" 24 hour ticket for just over 7 Euros each (get the bus from the Circumvesuviana train station - buy the tickets from the shop downstairs in the station and stamp them when you get on the bus - the lady in the shop is very helpful). We got the bus around 10:30am directly to Amalfi. It takes around 90mins but the buses have aircon and were reasonably comfortable. Sit on the right hand side of the bus if you can as you have spectacular views of the Amalfi coastline. We spent the whole day at Amalfi then got the early evening bus back. As the 24 hour ticket is already stamped you don't have to worry about trying to get on the bus on the way back by the front doors, just enter by the rear doors. You'll see people trying to get on the front of the bus to stamp their tickets as that's where the stamp machine is and they've bought single trip tickets!
The following day we used our same 24 hour ticket to get to Positano (we left at around 09:00am and it only takes around 40 mins). We spent the whole day in Positano and then got the water taxi back to Sorrento. It takes about an hour and you have some great views of the Amalfi coastline (costs just over 8 Euros each).
CAPRI
I think the Thomson price was aound 50 Euros each. We went to Marina Piccolo (where all the local ferries go from) which is about a 15 min walk downhill from the Michelangelo and bought return tickets on the jet boat for 27 Euros each. You can get buses when you get on Capri but we chose to walk everywhere. The walks are quite steep but well worth it as you can get away from the crowds as it gets very busy.
CABLE CAR TO MOUNT FAITO
We found this by accident really just from looking at the train stops on the way to Pompeii. It's not covered by Thomson but really is a fantastic day out and somewhere to get away from the crowd. If you stop at "Castellamare di Stabae" station (around 15mins on train from Sorrento - again around 3 Euros return each) you can get the cable car up to Mt Faito which is one of the highest points on the Sorrentine pensinsula. You can buy the return tickets from the station at Castellamare (7 Euros 60 cents each) and then get onto the cable car from the same platform. It takes around 8 mins but you climb up to around 1100m and get really spectacular views over the whole of the bay of Naples. We followed one of the walks (free maps from info point at cable car at the top) up another 200m or so to a small church (take a jumper or top just in case a cloud comes in quickly). Brilliant viewpoints along the way, the terrain at the top looks very Alpine with similar Alpine buildings). At the end of the walk I'd recommend stopping at the cable car cafe for their meal and drink deal. We had a large glass of local white wine and a very large freshly made roll all for 6 Euros each which just finished the day off perfectly. It really is an amazingly quiet and peaceful place at the top. Try it!

Hope you found this useful. Sorry to go on so much but I found other peoples information really useful so thought I'd give something back myself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank P0mpeyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Stayed here for a week on a half board basis with Thomsons. Reasonable price paid for package. We normally book independant but that is difficult in Sorrento due to the distance between Napoli airport and the resort so decided to go package for once. A good decision as we felt we had value for money and good service from them.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, just a short walk from Piazza Tasso and about 15 mins to Marina Grande. Surrounded by shops and minutes away from some lovely Italian bistros, the position could not be faulted. Also its a 2 minute walk from the Circumvesuviana railway station. Trains go to Napoli from there but be warned they stop about 30 times on the way! Trains were dirty, hot and uncomfortable, but really cheap. The staff at the hotel desperately try to pull the hotel up but in all honesty its an average 3 star by British standards. The food on half board was poor. It was obvious that only the starter was prepared on the premises and the rest a form of boil-in-the-bag from elsewhere. Breakfast was OK, usual European fare but no variety. Drinks in hotel were same price as outside which was a pleasant surprise. As others have said, Guiseppe the barman was an absolute diamond. He alone is worth visiting this hotel. If you are a lady of a certain age he will make you feel special, while talking knowledgeably to the other half about English football. He has it all! We watched him several nights as it was too hot to go outside, and he is really entertaining. Also he is a mine of useful information about where to go, how to get there etc. Ask him for one of his Sorrento Spaciales, wow! I would return to this hotel because of the staff and location, but would expect to be fed to a low standard while away. To be fair to the staff, they always asked if you wanted a different choice if it wasn't eaten, and were quite happy to do so. Portions were decent size too.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rockspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights whilst attending a wedding in Sorrento.
The room was very large, clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pool. We had 3 beds as were staying with our 3 year old. Some people mention trains but we could not hear them from our room although others nearer the line could.
The pool was lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds and we never had a problem getting a bed.
The food was also really good with continental breakfast and a 3 course evening meal on HB basis. Staff were very very friendly and helpful.
Close to the main square, bus and train station.
All in all would definately recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussytraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £117 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing