We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Beth2505
Chester, United Kingdom

Great location, shame about the cleanliness

Review of Rivage Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2018via mobile
We visited the Rivage Hotel in April in a sea view room (see photo)

Positives:
- Great location - a short walk into the heart of Sorrento.
- Room decor - spacious and modern furniture.
- breakfast - well organised with a range of choice.
- the bar area - spacious area.
- reasonable price.

Negatives:
- the cleanliness of the room was not even a basic standard. When we arrived there were hairs everywhere!! On bed, chair, bathroom (See my photo of the chair). They were so obvious I cant believe they were missed! It really wasn’t acceptable.
- The bar is on floor 3 so if you don’t like the noise i’d suggest requesting another floor when you book.
- Be aware of the road noise when you book (although this wasn’t an issue for us)
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M, Proprietario at Rivage Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 10 May 2018
dear guest we are very apologize about this ... maybe next time give us the room number so we can talk with the cleaner and be sure that it will never happens again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£427
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £474
  • Skyscanner.com
    £376
  • Hotel Website
    £401
0.1 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£246
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £246
  • Expedia.com
    £246
  • Hotel Website
    £232
0.8 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
£316
  • Hotels.com
    £332
  • Skyscanner.com
    £302
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£306
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £306
  • Skyscanner.com
    £265
  • Hotels.com
    £306
0.1 miles from Rivage Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
£176
  • Expedia.com
    £190
  • Skyscanner.com
    £164
  • Hotels.com
    £191
0.7 miles from Rivage Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
£187
  • Expedia.com
    £187
  • Skyscanner.com
    £184
  • Hotels.com
    £187
1.9 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£252
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    £252
0.6 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£462
  • Hotels.com
    £461
  • Expedia.com
    £403
  • Tripadvisor
    £403
0.3 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£648
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £472
  • Expedia.com
    £472
  • Tripadvisor
    £472
0.4 miles from Rivage Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
  • Official Website
    £302
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Rivage Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sorrento
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
199
289
134
61
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
289
134
61
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street pool area is small train station hotel is in a great location stayed here for nights basic room nice breakfast reception staff are pool towels restaurants and shops tasso square amalfi coast yogurt balcony maid sunbeds corso
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This Hotel was in a Great Location, Small & Friendly But the Rooms were very Basic & scarcely furnished with a cold empty feel, maid service was very good, Bathroom & shower were spacious & clean, Reception staff were lovely & very helpful..
But there was a small Garage workshop virtually rite under our Balcony & OMG!! There was mopeds revving up constantly & from early in morning.. This was very annoying!!
But apart from that lovely little Hotel.

Room tip: The rooms at the back were quiet apart from the Garage workshop on ground level next building along.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LainFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M, Proprietario at Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

dear Guest, thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We stayed here for one week in October. Great Value for money! The staff are helpful and the reception is manned 24 hours per day. Breakfast is basic continental. Great location for Sorrento Centre, easy accessible to the train station,

Rooms cleaned daily, showers were fantastic and powerful.

Overall great stay, would stay here again or recommend to family and friends!

Some guests were very noisy early in the morning in the corridors. We had to ask them to be quiet on two mornings.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank I3230AXmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M, Proprietario at Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

thank nyou mary for you beautifull review. much people are very not educate to stay in a n hotel. thank you for your patience and you beautiful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Went here last week for 4 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Reserved one of the junior's suites, which was a good size, all be it a little basic.
2 sofabed chairs in the room, which weren't particularly comfy to sit on, with a super king size bed in the center of the room which was very comfy!
The room has a fridge, which we unloaded and puts our own drinks in to avoid the usual high costs which was a handy feature to have at the end of a long day's walking!

Maid service was good, room was cleaned daily, and bathroom was a good size with a nice shower. Watch out for the slippery floor though, I requested extra bath mats as water seemed to make it out of the shower and the floor could potentially be lethal! For some reason the maid kept turning the cold water off at the mains tap, which meant that the cistern would trickle for ages to re fill!
Most of the staff were friendly, especially Claudia on reception, and the breakfast was team!
Not a clear view of the bay, but you can see the bay from the room, which was nice. (it's not a premium priced hotel, so I guess your not going to to get a premium view)!
Hotel offered on site paring for our hired car, which was handy, although a little tricky as you have to stop, run in and ask them to open the gate. Watch out for the gate closing automatically, as it doesn't have a sensor to reopen if you are slow!
All in all, I would recommend it as a good base, with a great central location to the main town.
Thank you to the hotel staff who made our stay in a beautiful town very enjoyable!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Porqueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M, Proprietario at Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

thank you too for your review ! we do our best to give our guest the best stay.we wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Not a bad hotel at all, perfect for a couple of nights stay. Downstairs breakfast room was spotless as was reception area. Staff friendly and helpful too.

Room was clean, although could do with a little updating. Had a lovely view of the sea from the balcony and it's in a prime position for walking to all the restaurants/shops/attractions in sorrento. Breakfast at the hotel was pretty good (standard continental) and the serving staff all really friendly too.

We didn't have enough time to use the pool/pool area and didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on those. But overall a good stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M, Proprietario at Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

the most important thing is that you hav'n had the time to use the pool. it mean that you have fully enjoied Sorrento and the surranding area. thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We were staying here for a friends wedding. The rooms were basic, no air con unless you paid, not not term electricity unless you were willing to use your bank card in the system slot. I had to get up and reset it 4 times while trying to dry my mid length hair.
The beds were incredibly hard, and didn't have fresh sheets once in our 3 night stay.
Breakfast is poor, we walked in and walked out.
The restaurant next door isn't much better either but there is a lovely restaurant further down the road where you are sounded by lemon tree's. So deceiving when looking at it from outside.
The room was clean however, and the shower was powerful.
The pool is tiny, it only has approx 10 sunbeds around the pool, so if you are of a large party like we were you would struggle to fit everyone around the pool. The view from the pool is stunning.
A convenient supermarket across the road.
I wouldn't stay again, but if your looking a for a single night it would be efficient.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlys494
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M, Proprietario at Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

dear carly,
nobody have never paied for air con !
we don not use card system for electricity !
on the pool there are 20 sunbeds.

any way thank you for the review ,... maybe next time keep more attention or ask at the staff to be helped for you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews