We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolio Inn

Dolio Inn
Ranked #178 of 271 Restaurants in Sorrento
Cuisines: Bar, Italian, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Seating
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Such a fantastic little bar tucked away down the alleys of Sorrento. If you want a warm welcome you will find it here from the owners who treat you like members of their own family. Is there a drink that they do NOT serve here ? I doubt it very much ! The atmosphere is brilliant, the service friendly & this place should be high on your list to visit if only for the Dean Martin CDs that Gaetano plays ! I love it here. Go down into the basement to see the Roman archaeological finds.....Simply brilliant ! I can't wait to see you again next summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cracking little bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Welcoming as ever, this is one of the two best bars in Sorrento and I always look forward to coming here whenever I'm in town!

Even if you only stop in for a quick drink it's well worth the visit but don't take my word for it, go and see for yourself!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a pub which is tucked away down one of the little side streets, a very nice welcome from the owners when there and good price on drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceythomas64
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quirky with a hidden secret.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One thing we avoid on foreign holidays is anything English, especially pubs and food because you can get that at home, however, we were taken to this 'pub' on a guided walking tour of Sorrento and popped back there for a drink in the evening having followed the sounds of Beatles music and this is where it lead us to!

Outside it appears to have all the tackiness of an English bar abroad, complete with Sky TV, which I absolutely hate, but the little Italian lady that owns it is a delight. She only has a few words of English but still talks to everyone! She showed us how to play a traditional Italian musical instrument and was like a second mother to our two young Thomas Cook reps when they first went to work in Italy.

It's worth a visit just to see what's hidden in the basement. Ask to see 'Pompeii Picolo,' or the 'Little Pompeii' Down in the basement there are remains from over a thousand years ago that are displayed in the walls and floor behind glass casing and the owner is very proud to show them off.
• Visited August 2013

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceythomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Dolio Inn is a must when in Sorrento. The most friendly welcome I think we have ever received in any bar on our many travels.

Tucked away up a little side street it is a real treat & yet close enough to still people watch on the thoroughfare.

My husband loved the beer here & myself the wine, along with being able to watch Sky Sports.

The Roman ruins in the basement are worth a peek.

A great place to start & end the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolio Inn also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Dolio Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing