We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, accommodating staff”
Review of Hotel Johanna Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Johanna Park
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views, accommodating staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great time here. It was so wonderful to wake up to the amazing views from our terrace (try to get a room on the top floor) or to enjoy those views at the end of the day (with a nice glass of prosecco that was provide with the compliments of the staff!). We aren't the type to spend much time in our hotel room but it was very comfortable. The plumbing (including hot water) worked perfectly, there was a safe, etc. Breakfast was great - lots of variety including corona beans, fresh local tomatoes, etc. The van shuttle service down into central Sorrento was a must if you don't have a car - you simply can't walk it and the local buses are infrequent. They run on a schedule that they'll give you a copy of (but it doesn't say exactly where you'll be picked up -- make sure to ask them to mark it on a map for you). Also, if you need to go to the train/bus station, make sure to ask (it will save you 5 minutes of walking).

All in all, excellent stay. The staff was very accommodating with special requests, particularly the lady who runs the place. I have to say also that (while this doesn't impact the quality of the stay), she is really cool and has adapted to internet and social media marketing much better even than most hoteliers of younger generations!

Only one suggestion that I would make ... the "waiter" who was always setting up the dining room for lunch while we were eating breakfast seemed to make an awful lot of noise and could stand to be more gentle!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveler2010_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    140
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
125
203
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while traveling around the area and the hotel was an amazing surprise.
Right when we arrived the staff were so nice, asked as if we need any help and explained a lot of things around the area.

The hotel itself is located up the hill so if you dont have a car it's a bit farther from the center but the hotel has a shuttle that can take you to the hotel and back to the city.

The room was large, the shower was great and it was clean, this is very important.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night which was very enjoyable as well.

Really recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel is located up in the hills. From the entry, there's a nice view of the sea and mountain. Front facing rooms (including those with balconies) would enjoy that view. Our room faced the opposite way, a dirty roof top and hill with wild vegetation -- and didn't have a balcony at all, despite the brochure's note that all rooms have balconies. Also, no pool as advertised. The drive up and down the windy hill to the actual town where one could dine, shop, etc. was nauseating. Driving by the nicer hotel on the way (big pool and kept gardens) made us wish we'd stayed there, if not in the town itself.

Free wifi is available, but it only worked consistently in the lobby, which isn't big enough to hang out in all the time. Not a big deal if you're trying to avoid work--but without any other real amenities, be sure to bring a book or plan on only sleeping in those rooms.

Service was varied. The woman at the desk (the owner?), shuttle driver, and bartender were disinterested at best. But the majority of the wait staff and the younger men who seemed to handle miscellaneous work were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Do_Good-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights and loved it. The view was spectacular and the landscaping was lovely. We loved the location. It was peaceful and the family that owns & operates it were the nicest people to talk to. Their restaurant had excellent food and the rooms with their views were great. I don't know if I'll ever go back to Italy, but if I was near Sorrento, I would go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any bad rooms. We had a corner room with a balcony on the side but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Johanna Park for 2 nights in May 2014. Johanna and her family were the perfect hosts. We rented the king room. The hotel is in a really good location, up the hill, away from downtown Sorrento, giving travelers a relaxing break away from the bustling tourist city. The grounds are beautiful, with flowers, olive and citrus trees. Johanna offers shuttle service to and from downtown Sorrento numerous times throughout the day and night. When additional service is needed due to more guests than the van can accommodate at one time, it is not a problem for the accommodating hosts. The breakfast is nothing special but ample to start the day. The only negative in my mind is the fact that the room is not furnished with face cloths and tissues. Overall, Johanna Park is a great place to stay while visiting Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast.
Watch out for the Taxi drivers alway ask the price first as they will rip you off, the fair should be about 12 -15 Euro. The same thing goes for any thing else without a price marked alway ask the price first.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mystery Chef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our room was clean, gigantic - even by American standards, but definitely compared to other European hotels - and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a nice little porch to sit on as well, and there is plenty of outdoor seating on the lobby level, with comfortable outdoor furniture.

Breakfast was solid, but lunch and dinner were outstanding, and the service was incredible. This hotel is in a nice, safe, quiet area, with a gorgeous view of Sorrento and Mt. Vesuvius! I recommend printing directions if you're driving there, since it's difficult to find, and the road signs in Sorrento are confusing. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to "downtown" Sorrento, which was a wonderful area.

Granted, the wifi service was unspectacular above the lobby level, as other commenters have suggested, but so what? You're in Sorrento, and not likely there to cruise the net. I suggest enjoying being unplugged from the world, since it's gorgeous there.

However, the staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful at Hotel Johanna Park. They made us feel extremely welcome, and could not have been more eager to assist guests, whether it was checking us in early, or serving us lunch after a long drive from Rome, while the dining room was actually closed. Really friendly folks here. We will be back on our next stay in Sorrento, and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Johanna Park Hotel was fabulous! I cannot say enough good things about it. We stayed there for 4 nights. It is up in the hills a bit, but they offer a shuttle service to take you into town or pick you up later. Or, it's a lovely 15-20 minute walk into town. Walking in is great (all downhill), but back would be a bit challenging. We typically walked in and then called for a shuttle when we wanted to go back. The hotel has a gorgeous view of the ocean and Mt. Vesuvius with very pretty grounds surrounding it. The hotel also offers a free breakfast with lots of good food options: eggs, cheese, meats, bread, cereals, etc. They also offer lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. We had dinner at the hotel every night because it was convenient, tasty, reasonable and because the maître d is awesome! He could be Robert De Niro's brother and he is super friendly and wonderful. Every morning, he made us cappuccinos and every evening, he was a warm, welcoming presence at dinner. In fact, the one dinner that he wasn't there, he was sorely missed. The hotel also booked us on a boat trip/tour to Capri, which was fabulous! It was a smaller boat and it not only went to Capri, we also got a tour around the island (1/2 on the way there, the other 1/2 on the way back). It also drops you at the smaller marina, not the big touristy one that the other boats drop you at. Totally worth it! (It will be a tad more expensive than booking your own boat in town, but that boat will not include a tour around the island, will drop you in the busiest port on the island, and won't have staff nearly as helpful in answering questions. Well worth the few extra Euros.) The staff at the hotel was very friendly and very helpful. We had a fabulous stay here and would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johanna Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johanna Park

Property: Hotel Johanna Park
Address: Via Nastro Verde 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johanna Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Johanna Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johanna Park Hotel
Johanna Park Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing