We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, peaceful setting”
Review of Hotel Johanna Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Johanna Park
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful, peaceful setting”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Johanna Park hotel in Sorrento for four nights and it is fair to say we all had a wonderful time. The hotel is set upon the hills just outside Sorrento town, which made for a peaceful setting away from the hustle and bustle of town life. The main square was easily accessible using the hotels free shuttle bus or via a steep, picturesque walk down a little alley, (we chose the bus!). The rooms were clean and fully furnished with great views at the front of the hotel overlooking Mount Vesuvius and the rear looking out onto an array of olive trees. We dined in the Johanna Park restaurant on the first night of our stay, choosing the seafood risotto, which I would certainly recommend. We experienced impeccable service with staff going above and beyond to ensure our needs were satisfied. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone visiting Sorrento. Thank you Johanna Park!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    149
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
128
211
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Johanna Park while on a Trafalgar tour. The staff were very friendly at this family run hotel. The room we stayed in was large & airy overlooking the gardens at the front. We dined in the Restaurant on 2 nights. The first night we dined by ourselves, the 2nd night was with our tour group. Both meals were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice Italian décor and landscaping of grounds. If you're lucky to get a room with a view of ocean, it's fantastic. Unfortunately, we did not. Back side of hotel is of olive trees. Smallish bathrooms, but clean rooms & nicely done. Beautiful flooring throughout hotel. Nice dining room. Accommodating, friendly staff. Decent breakfast with plenty of fresh tomatoes, pastries, etc.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view is a must here. It makes all the difference. Also, check out the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dleg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My first experience with staying at the Johanna Park Hotel and visiting Sorrento/Isle of Capri day trip was back in February of 2010. I had a wonderful time visiting Sorrento, and after a long excursion at Pompeii, we had traveled with Trafalgar Tours, and we stayed here for 2 nights.
Checking was easy, the staff was incredibly welcoming and hospitable. Felt like visiting family practically! The rooms are very nice, comfortable and clean as well as the bathrooms.
The view we had was absolutely gorgeous, could see Mt. Vesuvius in the distance covered in snow! always went down stairs in the morning, afternoon, and evening for tea. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. I loved it and when I go back to Sorrento, I would love to stay again. I had no idea there was a pool! at least i think from the pictures i saw. The restaurant has excellent food, so my compliments to the chef from a culinary student! It was wonderful and everyone there was just great :) Thank you for the wonderful stay at the Johanna Park Hotel!

Room Tip: A view with the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius! Simply Breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamiB625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great time here. It was so wonderful to wake up to the amazing views from our terrace (try to get a room on the top floor) or to enjoy those views at the end of the day (with a nice glass of prosecco that was provide with the compliments of the staff!). We aren't the type to spend much time in our hotel room but it was very comfortable. The plumbing (including hot water) worked perfectly, there was a safe, etc. Breakfast was great - lots of variety including corona beans, fresh local tomatoes, etc. The van shuttle service down into central Sorrento was a must if you don't have a car - you simply can't walk it and the local buses are infrequent. They run on a schedule that they'll give you a copy of (but it doesn't say exactly where you'll be picked up -- make sure to ask them to mark it on a map for you). Also, if you need to go to the train/bus station, make sure to ask (it will save you 5 minutes of walking).

All in all, excellent stay. The staff was very accommodating with special requests, particularly the lady who runs the place. I have to say also that (while this doesn't impact the quality of the stay), she is really cool and has adapted to internet and social media marketing much better even than most hoteliers of younger generations!

Only one suggestion that I would make ... the "waiter" who was always setting up the dining room for lunch while we were eating breakfast seemed to make an awful lot of noise and could stand to be more gentle!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveler2010_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while traveling around the area and the hotel was an amazing surprise.
Right when we arrived the staff were so nice, asked as if we need any help and explained a lot of things around the area.

The hotel itself is located up the hill so if you dont have a car it's a bit farther from the center but the hotel has a shuttle that can take you to the hotel and back to the city.

The room was large, the shower was great and it was clean, this is very important.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night which was very enjoyable as well.

Really recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel is located up in the hills. From the entry, there's a nice view of the sea and mountain. Front facing rooms (including those with balconies) would enjoy that view. Our room faced the opposite way, a dirty roof top and hill with wild vegetation -- and didn't have a balcony at all, despite the brochure's note that all rooms have balconies. Also, no pool as advertised. The drive up and down the windy hill to the actual town where one could dine, shop, etc. was nauseating. Driving by the nicer hotel on the way (big pool and kept gardens) made us wish we'd stayed there, if not in the town itself.

Free wifi is available, but it only worked consistently in the lobby, which isn't big enough to hang out in all the time. Not a big deal if you're trying to avoid work--but without any other real amenities, be sure to bring a book or plan on only sleeping in those rooms.

Service was varied. The woman at the desk (the owner?), shuttle driver, and bartender were disinterested at best. But the majority of the wait staff and the younger men who seemed to handle miscellaneous work were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Do_Good-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johanna Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johanna Park

Property: Hotel Johanna Park
Address: Via Nastro Verde 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johanna Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Johanna Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johanna Park Hotel
Johanna Park Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing