We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great service and food. And what a view!”
Review of Hotel Johanna Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Johanna Park
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a nice property. Up in the hills, just far enough from busy Sorrento, yet minutes away. Family run. Superb welcome by the owner herself. Quite the character! A lovely woman. She runs a tight ship. She made the arrangements on our behalf for our visit the next day to Capri. A no-brainer (and cheaper than trying to go on your own).

We got a room on the top floor with a splendid view of the sea and the Vesuvius. Very clean.

Not worth eating anywhere else than at the hotel. Very nice menu, quite affordable. Food was excellent. The main server is a professional and takes his job very seriously. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was very nice also.

Consider this hotel for its hospitality, cleanliness, family run atmosphere, its view and its food. We would return without a doubt. Recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sea and the Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmcyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. The room keys are on large, old-fashioned key rings that need to be left at the desk when you leave the hotel. We loved the charm of our room. Although we didn't get a view of the sea we had a serene view of olive groves through our large window. Staff was accommodating. There is a public computer with internet access that you can use down on the first level. We had a wonderful dinner with our tour group the first night, where there was a choice of fish or pork. The waiter came around later with more food and offered "seconds". The lovely lemon cake for dessert was yummy! We liked dinner so much that we dined here again the second night when most of our group opted to dine in town or at an optional excursion. Our dinner was excellent. While we were in town the second day we wanted to return to the hotel earlier than the rest of our group, and the hotel sent a shuttle which met us at the exact time we wished to be picked up. We had a very nice stay indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beader88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived to Hotel Johanna Park on our engagement vacation to welcoming arms from the owner of the hotel (it is family owned). We became nervous in the cab ride up the hill as we got further away from town, but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with the amazing views on the top of the hill. At check-in the owner upgraded us to a corner room with stunning views. The architecture of the hotel has a ton of windows and they are all operable - even the shower had a window. The sunset was incredible.

The best part was that they had a free shuttle back down into town. Even though they had specific times for the shuttle, they took us to the train station in the morning without hesitation.

It was a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. VERY SMALL pool - but coasy.
Everything happened smoothly and our stay was satisfying.

We wanted to leave two daily earlier cause that we thought it could be nice to see another part of southern Italy. - It happened with no problems.

Actually the waiter in the resturant looked like Robert De Niro - that was cool! ;-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Nicolai Kofoed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed four nights at Johanna Park - and maybe the biggest suprise was the very friendly "Robert DeNiro-alike" waiter handling breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The service was amazing (not always easy to find in Italy).

The hotel is quite a bit away from the city center (10 min drive), but they provide a free shuttle bus that runs at regular intervals, so we did not find this a problem.

There is not great sound isolation between the floors, this is maybe the only thing we would have loved to see improved, all else was just fantastic!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maurece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. The staff were friendly and most helpful.
Johanna the owner, organised our trips to Capri by boat and Positano by local bus and was incredible with her help on the morning we were leaving. We dined in the Restaurant on two evenings, the food and wine was glorious and the waiter service was excellent, well done Roberto, Our room was spacious with fabulous views overlooking the Bay of Naples with the Isle of Capri standing out in the evening mists. The hotel is some way out of Sorrento but a hotel shuttle bus is available and is very efficient. The peace and quiet of the surrounding county side added to our holiday. A lovely family run Hotel with every thing going for it. We will be back.
David McCourt

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidmccourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived late at night for our one week stay at this charming hotel. The friendly receptionist offered us much needed refreshments after a long journey. Our room had spectacular unbeatable views over the Bay of Naples, Capri and Mount Vesuvius. The hotel owner Johanna ensured that guests were made welcomed and went out her way to please. Breakfast was good with a wide choice and the unforgettable hospitality of the charming waiter (Robert De Nero lookalike), every morning he offered bespoke coffees and eggs. The hotel is situated high up in the hill - hence the great views but the hotel offers a very reliable mini bus shuttle at regular times throughout the way. We walked into town quite a few times which was both doable and enjoyable. The roof top terrace offers a peaceful unrivalled experience. We ate dinner one evening and had so much food at such a reasonable price.

We would highly recommend this hotel to all tourists, English is well spoken and we felt we had a true Italian experience.

Room Tip: Front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katoomba21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johanna Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johanna Park

Address: Via Nastro Verde 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £68 - £793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johanna Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Johanna Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johanna Park Hotel
Johanna Park Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing