We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly family owned hotel”
Review of Hotel Johanna Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Johanna Park
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful friendly family owned hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and 24 year old daughter stayed for 4 days in 2008.
From pre-arrival to leaving, the staff at this wonderful hotel treated us like family. We phoned to say we couldn't find the hotel late at night and a car was sent to guide us!. Upon arrival, owner Nino opened his arms and welcomed us with apologies we had got lost!
The next morning after breakfast we were asked if we would to change or rooms for a view of the Gulf of Naples, as rooms were now available - then they moved everything for us, at no cost.
When we ordered wine at the end of each day, small bowls of local olives etc were also presented, again at no cost.
A bus is provided to take people into Sorrento as the hotel lies up on the hills above the town - with amazing views.
We really felt at home and extended our stay in the region due to Nino, his hotel and his staff.
We have very very fond memories of this stay.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    142
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
126
206
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We took the fast train from Rome to Naples (70 min!) and planned to take the taxi to the port & ferry to Sorrento but got persuaded by a cabbie to take a taxi all the way to Sorrento instead. He quoted us $25 each (4 of us) saying it was cheaper than the taxi/ferry ride (taxi - $15 plus the $11 ferry that he said wasn't running that day--but was) and we told him where each couple was staying in Sorrento. When we got to the first hotel, he tried to take out all the baggage and we explained again we were staying at Hotel Johanna Park and he said that would cost another $15 Euros there. We decided we'd roll our 2 pieces of luggage instead as he was getting angry. Had we been wise, we would have done what we heard others do: booked their complete trip from Rome (Termini) to Sorrento at the train station's electronic kiosk as apparently there was a ferry option (which included shuttle from Naples to the port as well as the ferry to Sorrento) which would minimize the issue with the taxi. Also, if we would have known prior, we would have contacted Hotel Johanna Park in advance and they would have picked us up directly from the train station or the port there. Instead, we called them from the middle of town and they picked us up with the shuttle. Most shuttle drivers were pleasant. This shuttle will drive you into town and pick you up and is quite flexible in the times. Very convenient!

The hotel is a bit out of town, up a long hill where the Sorrento-Amalfi SITA bus conveniently stops right beside (the best/cheapest/most thrilling way to get to the Amalfi Coast). The owner of the hotel is Johanna Park and is very personable and willing to please. The hotel itself is nice, only a bit dated, but very clean. The rooms are typical European-size with a nice balcony to sit and watch the sunset (ask for a seaview room and you'll get a great view of Mt. Vesuvius and Naples!). The beds are quite hard but the room seems fairly soundproof. The breakfast is typical: croissants, breads, toast, yogurt and they will also make free cappuccinos. We had dinner in the evening which was average. The top sundeck seems rarely used but provides great views of the sea and the perfect place to take pictures. We loved the free wifi in the lobby as well as the free shuttle. (Sorrento is the most inexpensive place in the Amalfi Coast to do some shopping.) The SITA bus goes right by to the Amalfi Coast, but a word regarding the luggage: the bus driver will not come out and help you with it, therefore it might be assumed that there is no place to store the luggage underneath the bus. We unfortunately brought it onto the bus with us (making it crowded and in the way) as we did not know that we were supposed to open up the compartments on the outside of the bus ourselves to store the luggage. That little bit of knowledge would have made our bus ride more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank got2go2cnewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed here on a Trafalgar tour. The hotel is a short drive from Sorrento, but not that far. The hotel is surrounded by olive trees, sitting on a hillside overlooking the Bay of Naples...what more could you ask for? The hotel could use a renovation (especially the bathrooms), but is very adequate. If you get a room with an ocean view, it is amazing! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the only meal we had at the hotel, and was very typical of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggi010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Helpful reception arrival explaining key regional transport /trip times.big window view from our room was amazing spanning whole bay of naples ,vesuvius-what aview to wake up with.Daily clean good std., air cond refreshing to come back to, restauarant staff friendly , enjoyed off the menu specials-better than most in sorrento .atmosphere relaxed,easy. Family owners warm provide shuttle into Sorrento (15 mins.ride)whilst keen walkers can use lane steepish but very do-able popular with scooters - I loved the walk , my wife struggles with such uphill stretches. Lane entrance by hotel president sign ( opp,. lower johan.pk exit) Nice pool area on lower ground Roof top sun trap barely used, pleasant vista in evening. Trip to Capri from Johanna Park recommended ,Guide on boat is Capri resident and saves you from pointless exploitation and extra 20 euro per person for private tour on Capri is worth it. Cannot find any fault with Johanna Park (it is even a stop for the Sorrento-Amalfi SITA bus if you want it ). This our first time in Sorrento,and need spend no precious time trying to better it next time.For the price of lower end B&B in blighty it's a no-brainer .On departure day, Johanna's daughter Elvera drove us to the station and gave us a hug -arrivaderchi.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard1587763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here on a Trafalgar tour. The hotel is not in the centre of Sorrento but not ridiculously far either. The hotel itself is an older style but not in a bad way. If you are staying here make sure you get an ocean view room. They have an amazing view. The other side (the one we got and hence my rating) had a view of an old basketball court. The rooms are a little dated and on the small side but I that is reflected in the price. If you dont have a room with a view, go to the roof top and you will have the best view anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I loved this hotel. It was out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the centre of Sorrento. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and of a large size. We just had a regular room but a balcony with a lovely view. The shuttle bus was very handy for runs in and out of time. I was very surprised as I wasn't expecting it to be so nice especially with the price.
One tip however is make sure you contact the hotel in enough time to ask them to collect you from the train station. They do this for free. They also drop you back to the train station for free. I didn't do this on time and the taxi ride cost 20 euro!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittensoftDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I visited this hotel (1 night) during a tour of Europe, Traditional Europe, organized by Trafalgar. We travelled as a group and I always shared a room with my boyfriend.

I found this hotel charming and different from all the big hotels we visited during our tour. It was small and quiet. We were the only tour group there. The hotel is beautifully situated. You have a nice view of the water. We were lucky enough to watch an amazing sunset while having dinner on the patio.

The rooms are small but clean. The bathroom has a lot of old charm with its colored tiles and small curtain. There is a wonderful pool outside, next to a little pool bar. It was wonderful to relax and cool off after a warm day visiting Capri Island. The front desk has extra towels for the pool. There is also a beautiful terrace with a seating area.

The breakfast and the late night dinner were wonderful. Who would have thought that they have free Wi-Fi Internet access? We were very happy to notice it and took this chance to catch up with our family and friends back home.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank ptitefunambule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johanna Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johanna Park

Property: Hotel Johanna Park
Address: Via Nastro Verde 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johanna Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Johanna Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johanna Park Hotel
Johanna Park Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing