We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is a hotel that severely needs a makeover. It looked and felt like it hadn't been redecorated in decades. I have stayed in $10 night hostels nicer than this. The only nice thing about this hotel were the staff at the front desk during the day. The breakfast was appalling. The beds are like camp beds. The location is so far from the centre of sorrento that it is quite a trek. For an elderly person, or someone with trouble walking long distances this would be a severe problem as taxis are between €15 and 20 from the bus station. The hotel photos of the pool area are very, very deceiving. The pool is tiny, and the area is not very clean. This area is also in need of a makeover. This is my first review on trip advisor and i did so because i felt i needed to warn people not to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellywindmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hotel is kept very clean - linen changed frequently, pool emptied regularly, areas hosed down in the evening etc. The exterior is a bit 'tired', but the hotel is directly on the sea front, so to be expected I suppose. The position of the hotel and views of the bay are absolutely stunning.

The food is fine. Breakfast had a good selection (toast, boiled/scrambled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, meats/cheeses, bread, doughnuts). Evening meal has a good selection of salad, followed by your pasta dishes and then your fish/meat dishes. Buffet evening and gala evening were good fun.

The walk up to the town is up hill (either via the stairs at the other end of the marina, or via the road (not recommended)). The stair route is fine - just take your time - there are plenty of opportunities to stop and take in the views on your way. If you don't feel up to it, there is a regular bus service from the marina.

Do Pompeii, Herculaneum and the Amalfi Drive/Ravello yourself. The local train runs directly to Pompeii and Herculaneum and there are excellent free paper guides available in English, to help you find your way around. The local bus runs along to Amalfi via Positano and if you buy a day return (7.2 Euros) you can hop on and off - the same ticket lets you change buses to get up to Ravello too.

Pay a bit extra for a full sea view - we had a partial sea view which was mainly of the building opposite.

If you're a night owl, take a torch as the hotel is at the far end of the marina at the base of the cliffs and it's a bit dark if you're very late in.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pringly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Just returned from Sorrento on friday with my partner and had the best holiday ever. Will admit the the hotel is a little uphill walk away from the centre however the views and the relaxed atmosphere of Marina Grande are worth it. We only ate in the hotel for breakfast and the odd evening meal, but what we did have was lovely.

If you choose to eat out we had a beautiful meal at a Restaurant/Bar called Photo (www.photosorrento.com), the food was as fresh as can be and the wine delicious along with excellent service. Another restaurant i would recommend also is Ristorante la basilica (www.ristorantelabasilica.com), beautiful food, the fresh bread and the desserts are a must.

The rooms in the hotel were cleaned daily and clean towels supplied. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, with big thanks to Jo and Mauro from the hotel bar for making our stay even more special. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday along with good food and great people then i would highly recommend. Absolutely can not wait to return and do it all again soon :-)

Room Tip: Paying for sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quemagim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife & I stayed for a week at the beginning of June and for a 3 star Hotel we thought everything was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and informative, with a special mention to Rosa for looking after our room (give her 5 stars). Food was not complicated, but very good and the price of drinks were much cheaper than going into the centre of Sorrento. The position of the hotel is second to none, the views were something else. Marina Grande is a village in itself, where fishing is the main occupation. Some lovely places where we had a coffee or a drink and at lunchtime, great place to eat. The sardines were terrific.

Went to Pompei on the train, no problem and the bus service to the surrounding area is excellent.

Special mention to Mark, the Thomson rep. very good with a wealth of information.

Thanks everyone for making our stay something that we will remember for a long time and hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

One of the greatest hotels we have stayed in.Located by the sea and away from traffic.A true romantic hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coreydob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Admiral, location the best, hotel very poor.
Food not the best but can be expected from half board, we ate in twice and this was more due to the unwelcome attitude of staff.
Faulty towers is a good description, we laughed if you don't have sense of humour don't stay there!
There are two exceptions, the young man on reception is really kind and helpful and the ladies that clean the rooms are lovely.
We are not fussy travellers and have travelled a lot I have yet to meet staff in a hotel who dislike their jobs so much, the Thompson's rep told us that other guests had said the same, he put it down to communication problems.
We put it down to the guests being in the way, everything seemed too much effort and you felt in the way like an unwelcome visitor in some ones home.
Going into town the welcome and service was excellent, if you want to use this hotel as a base and do not wish to eat or spend any time in it then you will be fine
.We could not fault the clean room or the wonderful location, however if part of your holiday is the hotel experience then look else where.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRISOLONDONUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The best location in Sorrento, the lovely Marina with it's good selection of retaurants is away from the hubub of the town but only a fairly pleasant short, uphill walk away.The steps are at the far end of the beach and the path passes one of the gardens featured by Monty Don in his recent series about Italian Gardens. Someone has said that the only way to get to the town is bus or taxi, this is nonsense, we are getting on a bit but did the walk twice a day. Our room at the Admiral was fine but small and the 'limited sea view' as described by Thomson was a joke, the view from our balcony (room 218)was the wall of the building next door, if you looked to the right you could see the sea in the distance . If possible pay the extra for a room on the front.
The food at the hotel was only ok and was nowhere near the standard of the hundreds of restaurants in Sorrento, Bed & Breakfast would definately be the best option or bite the bullet and even though you've paid for half board, break out and eat in the restaurants a few nights. The food was better on the buffet nights but if you are a couple you are likely to be made to share a table with others as everyone has to eat at 1930.
The fruit juice is tasteless and watery, disgraceful in a country that produces so much fruit.. The right hand side of the hotel, from the sea, suffered from quite a lot of noise, the young men from the villa next door on their motorbikes and the bottle recycling being collected at 5am each morning.
If you are with Thomson, when you leave you will be told to stand at the bus stop in full sun and wait for the mini bus, I suggest you sit over the road and have a drink in the 5 sisters bar, it's cooler and you can see the minibus arrive,
So a few gripes but will will return, stunning location, friendly, attentive staff and it's in a better position and is a hell of a lot cheaper than most of the Sorrento hotels.
If you are going to Vesuvius, Pompeii & Herculanium, don't pay for excursions, do it yourself using the excellent local train service. I will put our info on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to be on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oldbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing