We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We just returned from Sorento and stayed at the Hotel Admiral for six nights. We had a room overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius This hotel is removed from the main part of town and is a great find for those who want quiet after a busy vacation. Rooms are kept immaculate and staff and service are equal to a 5-star resort. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. And yes Emilia's restaurant down the street was excellent .

Room Tip: Off high season, the balcony rooms are affordable with breathtaking views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Admiral Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

June 2012 - Just arrived back from The Admiral in Sorrento, what a gem and in a wonderful location. Just spent 11 nights here half board and I can honestly say this was one of our Best holidays ever. The Admiral is a 3star hotel with 5star treatment, the staff are very helpful and above all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast is buffet style with waiters on hand to bring you coffee and tea and they constantly replenish the buffet, the evening meal is waiter service and all the food is freshly prepared with lots of pasta dishes, chicken, pork, beef and fish and a choice of desserts. Sunday night is Buffet NIGHT, eat as much as you like and what a spread they put on magnificent. Thursday Night is Gala night and the food is paraded in by the waiters, a course at a time and is a set menu, quite a spectacle and everyone thoroughly enjoys it right down to the waiters and the chef.
The Hotel commands an enviable position on Marina Grande, the sea view rooms are a must with magnificent views of Vesuvius and the harbour, very beautiful.
Getting from the Hotel to Sorrento town centre is a feat not for the faint hearted, there is an hourly bus service 5 minutes from the hotel, otherwise it's a walk uphill quite a pretty walk and takes around 12 minutes (we timed ourselves) and this takes you into the centre.
All in all the Admiral is a gem, don't be put off by the reviews you read, we couldn't fault it and we have travelled quite extensively in Spain and Islandsm Greece, Yugoslavia to name but a few. At the end of the day you get what you pay for and this was well worth it, I would go back again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a front room sea view, we had 305.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LIZZY063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Echoing recent positive reviews, we found hotel good value for money. Rooms cleaned daily, with new laundry frequently. Breakfast was adequate and we always found something to suit our needs. Dinner was good with several choices for each course - be warned, the portions are generous. Hotel entertainment was not to our taste, but we went out every evening after dinner to wander the streets of Sorrento. Very friendly and helpful staff.
One snag with the free sun loungers on the deck is they are actually chairs which do not go flat - not brilliant if you are a serious sunbathed. Towels are freely available and we "borrowed" some to use on the beach.
We hired sun beds one day at the adjacent pier - €8 each, which is a bit pricey but we were there all day.
Don't take a taxi as the local bus takes you to and from the train and bus station (same location). You can also get a bus at the station for Amalfi and Positano.
Take the train to Pompeii which will only cost €4.40 return and €11 entry to Pompeii. The train stop at Pompeii Scavi is right at the entrance. We believe you can get a personal guided tour for €10 once you get there - as you queue for tickets someone will offer this service.

Room Tip: Top floor room may be less noisy as tiled floors mean you can hear every step and chair movement abo...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Hotel Admiral is located in Marina Grande; a bus goes every hour from the train station to Marina Grande so no need to take a taxi. Hotel is clean and the pool attractive. Staff are helpful. Make sure you eat at Emilio's on the beach. Do not eat at the 5 Levi Sisters. There is a bus between the Naples Airport and Sorrento but it can take up to 2 hours during traffic. Wonderful sea views along the bus route.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the above hotel for four days May 3 - 6. The hotel was in a lovely position , make sure you ask for a sea view. Breakfast better than expected . Room clean.
Easy to get from Naples Airport to Sorrento. Bus outside takes you straight there for 10 euros. One hours drive. When you arrive at the bus station you need to take the local red bus " D " which takes you straight down to the marina and the hotel. ( 1.20. euro ) Taxis very expensive as we had to pay 25 euros to go back to the coach station as we had to leave very early for our trip home . Must take a train to Pompeii or Ercolano. Approx. one hour for 4.40. euros. Also catch the bus to Amalfi, worth the visit. Public transport was cheap but we found the food and drinks to be expensive.
Hope this was helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our second trip to Sorrento (May 4 - 11), our first was 11 years ago to the Capodimonte, this trip to the Hotel Admiral.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, from the maids to the manager. We read previous reviews about the breakfasts being poor, we did not find this to be true. We found enough variety to satisfy, cereal, cold meat, cheese, bread, bread rolls, scrambled egg, etc.

The Evening Meals were delicious and with enough of a choice to suit fussy eaters.

The views from the hotel are excellent across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius, the down side is the walk to Sorrento Town Centre (if you're not very fit!), easier coming back, all down hill.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Admiral to anyone, we found this hotel more friendly than the Hotel Capodimonte, although very nice a bit more impersonal.

A & L F

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We booked the Admiral on the recommendation of a family member. We were not disappointed.

The journey from Naples airport to Sorrento
We travelled from Stansted to Naples and caught the bus directly to Sorrento train station.(you can get the Auto bus to Naples then get the circumvesus train to Sorrento) we found it less hassle to sit and have a coffee at the airport to kill 40 mins, then jump on the bus which is right outside the exit of the airport.

The journey from Sorrento train station to the Admiral Hotel
Once in Sorrento we avoided the cabs(very expensive) we were told you can get the auto bus from the station to the grand Marina or walk.
We decided to walk this took about 30mins with suitcases, I advise you download a street and plan your route before you arrive as you will have to navigate the busy square, once passed this the route is downhill and you have to negotiate number of side streets.
The streets are cobbled and small so sometimes you have to move into the rd .
We had plenty of time before check so took our time and familiarised ourselves with Sorrento streets.

Once you get through the side streets and alleyway you won’t be disappointed with the entrance to the Grand Marina, it’s a lovely little fishing cove. The Admiral is positioned in the far right hand corner of the bay.

The Hotel
On arrival the staff were very welcoming, they advised us of where our room was.

The room.
Cleaned everyday, If you have asked for a see view and get a front room you will not be disappointed as you be looking out across the bay of Naples with little fishing boats coming and going throughout the day. ( if you have a set of binoculars take them), the views of Versuversus across the bay are amazing.
Back to the rooms, they are tiled so can be a nosey when moving chairs (please consider the people in the room underneath you) I found the noise travelled trough out the corridors. What you’d expect from a 3 star.. I suppose

The Breakfast
You’ll have a choice from scrambled and hard boiled eggs, cereal with milk or yoghurt, pastries, rolls, ham, cheese and toast, they also had bacon or small frankfurter sausages
Drinks that were available were coffee, tea and a selection of fruit juices.
To round up plenty of choice to choose from.

The Staff were very helpful as I mentioned before, there is a small bar that serves drinks throughout the day. Snacks are available from 1200 to 1400.

Hope this helps

Room Tip: front see veiws
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank m1nt1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £80 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing