We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settimo Cielo(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramare(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Desiree(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bristol(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
471
361
165
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
361
165
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina grandesea viewhalf boardbay of naplesgala nightfishing villageminute uphill walkthe busmount vesuviusthomson repevening mealup hillhuge balconymain townhead waiterwelcome meetingdecking area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

we stayed at the admiral room 105 we went with thomsons the accomadation was great we had a 15 foot square balcony overlooking the bay it was stunning the room immaculate the staff was very nice especially fransisco on the desk very knowledgeable and really helpful but be aware it entails a lot of walking if the local buses strike 61 steps into sorrento not suitable for disabled food fine but we wanted to eat proper italian so had some meals out gala nights where great they are twice a week and lots of food on offer large selection on offer the only downside is you pay your drinks bill at the end of your holiday which could be a shock if your on a budget italy is beautiful pompei herculien well worth a visit also the amalfi coast run was fantastic the cleaning staff were quiet and efficient and friendly my husband is diabled and sometimes found the walking up hill very tiring but wouldnt have missed it for the world we will go back to sorrento but we will need a hotel nearer the town which is a shame because the admiral has the most stunning views

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea 105 106 best two rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doreenauker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

the staff looked as if they did not want to be there , the only good thing about the hotel was the views, the sun disappeared at noon and the pool never saw any sunshine,we had jewellry taken from our room but there was no sign of a break in so can draw your own conclusions who took it so keep all your valuables close to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Spent 7 nights here with Thomsons, paid extra for a seaview but Thomsons are allocated the worst rooms so Room 211 was their best but not the hotels best. Arriving at 9pm we were told to go to the Dining room where we found a tea plate of antipasti and a bread roll covered in clingfilm waiting for us....... our dinner ! Breakfast was poor, juice ,cereal, water melon and kiwi, cold meats and cheese and fried eggs sitting on a serving platter ........cold. the coffee was the worst we have ever tasted. Every day it was exactly the same. No orange juice? In Italy ?? Dinner was not great. The food is beautifully presented , carrot roses etc but, rubbery fish and mashed potatoes all cold. We think the meals are plated up and microwaved as required. Only as we left did we notice the antipasti round the corner which we should have had as a starter !! It looked very tasty.The atmosphere in the dining room is non existent.We ate out for the rest of the week as the restaurants in Sorrento are fabulous, Delfino's especially.People say the place needs a lick of paint but the carpets are stained, the hairdryer hoses full of holes, the towels need replacing ,our shower rail fell down and we fixed it ourselves, despite reporting to reception. We have never been on a package tour before or have we used Thomsons as we choose to travel independently and we have travelled all over the world staying in anything from tents in the desert to 5 star luxury but, this hotel is poor. If you only want a bed and a hot shower with a stunning location and great views then it is perfect but, if you want something a little better go elsewhere and certainly don't travel with Thomsons. Our departing flight was at 11.10am but we had to leave at 06.10 so as we were leaving were handed a bag with crackers, jam,2 oranges,2 sweet rolls and one 300 ml bottle of water between two of us,then we were asked not to eat it on the coach as we would make crumbs !! It went in the bin at the airport.

Room Tip: all rooms with balconies have no privacy. Will get lots of sun on 4th floor and all the rooms on the side above the entrance
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taggeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I had never travelled to Italy before and I got back yesterday after spending 7 days there. Fantastic location, great views this hotel is very good the staff are freindly and the meals are lovely, we had something differant to eat for our evening meal everyday but if your there for 2 weeks instead of 1 you may be dissapointed as the menu seems to be the same each week, also dont expect to get a pizza on the menu the reason being that they dont have the wood fire oven on the premises so go out one night and try a pizza its a must there lovely!! you must try a pizza, a coffee and ice cream all out of this world and very differant to england! The pool at the hotel seemed rarely used and its very cold but because of the location of the hotel the sun is never on it. Try and get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor amazing sea views (we were in room 301), also the hotel cat called pavorotti is very cute! but he doesnt come in to hotel except to sunbath on the terrace! Because the admiral is based at the bottom of a cliff it loses the sun easily so you can sunbath untill 1 ish then ideally you need to go elsewhere. If you want to go actually in to the town of sorento you can as long as you dont mind alot of walking and steep steps! but easily done if your mobile, and dont be fooled by the bottle of wine in your room with the bit of paper saying "with complimants" i know in england that means its free but in italy it doesnt and you will get stung as its actually 14 euros and you dont know it till you get the bill at the end! and if you walk around you will find cheaper places to eat and drink, a typical jack daniels and coke at the hotel is 7 euros yet we walked an hour or so up the road to marina piaulo and a triple jack daniels and coke was 4 euros!! hotel was a little tired but only in terms of needing a bit of paint here and there but its being refurbed, rooms very clean but no tea and coffee in your rooms like in england! good transport links so it seems but there was a strike on when we were there so didnt use them. weddings very popular at least 10-15 a day!! we did the full day pompeii and mount versuvius trip with thomson but beware admission to the places and lunch isnt included!! used to be but not anymore then we found out to go to pompeii on train was only 2/3 euros and trip was £70 in uk sterling. the £70 seemed to be only for transport on coach there and back not else whatsoever was included. We went to the sorrento musical which was interesting (you do get a free drink and a program thats in english!!) but the musical itself is in italian. overall lovely place sorrento is lovely everywhere you go stunning views, hotel beautifull i would go back definately!!! the beds in the rooms very uncomfortable tho!!!

Room Tip: get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor (although the lower floors have massive balconys)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Room 218.Small with room for one in bathroom when door was open.Cleaning lady was very efficient though.Side balcony quoted as limited sea view,but exceeded expectations.Staff very efficient and friendly.Pool unheated but still usable.Decking area good,though sun hidden afternoon due to position at bottom of cliff.Only grouse was drinks were put on bill instead of paying by cash which meant you had to budget for a final bill.

Room Tip: Best rooms at front sea facing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews