We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just William!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
watford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just William!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Thanks to William's warnings we went prepared with stout boots to tackle the "rough terrain" on the hotel's approach, even stouter hearts to face the "surly staff" that awaited us, a good pair of earplugs to defeat the "noisy bells" and a direct line to our bank in preparation for the "city tax"
So, imagine our surprise when having virtually glided over a paved walkway we were greeted by two of the most delightful signorinas straight from the cast of Inspector Montalbano - only with bigger smiles. This general friendliness and eagerness to oblige seemed to permeate throughout the entire staff. We must confess to hearing the bells though, but not always above the gentle lapping of the waves against the hotel. City tax: well we were prepared for up to 3 euros per night as clearly stated on our Thomson invoice, so another pleasant surprise awaited us when we were only charged 1.5 euros. In all its almost impossible to find fault with this hotel as other reviewers have already testified.
We would like to say a special thank you to Valentina (molta bello!) on reception who helped us contact our friend on Ischia in an emergency - persistance through adversity.
Other reviewers have already sung the praises of both the hotel and the resort, so will not repeat, but a couple of good tips -
There is no need to walk up the road to Sorrento. Go along to the far end of the bay and take the long steps, making the dog leg back to the left once having gone through the arch. This route is quicker and far more pleasant and takes you right into the centre. It also has the great benefit of passing Caterina's fruit stall where you can buy cherrys along with a handy fountain to wash them. You also get the chance to meet delightful "spenda der moneee" Caterina.
Another good tip would be to learn a couple of handy phrases. "komay stay?" (how are you?) this seems to turn a light on in people who reply "bieno" as does "peer cheery" (nice to meet you)
A certain reviewer should try them - it may help oil his abrasive passage through life.
Thanks to all at The Admiral - a fantastic holiday and highly recommended.

Room Tip: spenda the moneee and go for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank stebboWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    337
    154
    40
    20
See reviews for
114
709
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated, tucked away in the corner of the marina but within walking distance if the town. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was plentiful and delicious, particularly the last night buffet. The staff were efficient but a little formal. The restaurant staff in particular were aloof, the head waiter was cool to the point of hostile, we wondered if we had unwittingly made a faux pas to cause this but speaking to other guests, found many felt the same.
I would use this hotel again on the basis of how impressed we were with the accommodation but would consider bed and breakfast or self catering if possible to avoid the discomfort of the apparent disapproval of the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer more sun throughout the day, rooms to the east have no sun in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Recently returned from the Admiral Hotel in Sorrento. A lovely small hotel and friendly staff. We had a beautiful room with a georgeous seaview it was perfect. The meals were excellent and plentiful. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and the restaurant staff made him a lovely cake and everyone sang happy birthday this i thought was very nice. We did various excursions to Capri, pompei and mount versuvious and also did a boat trip along the islands to Amalfi and Positano which i highly recommend. I will be returning to the Admiral in the future and highly recommend this small and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a small supplement and have a top floor room with a fantastic seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woodie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A great find for our first package holiday in 20 years. A stunning, quiet location with glorius views over the Bay of Naples. A Thomson small and friendly it punches above its weight for food and service. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Location was about 15 mins walk into town which was mainly uphill. A nice walk when you get used to it and gave the chance to walk off all that lovely food. Local transport is incredibly cheap and easy to use so you are able to visit all local attractions cheaply.
Only negative was no fridge in room which would have been handy in hot weather.

Room Tip: Top rooms have huge balcony with views of bay but not much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

After reading mixed reviews on trip advisor we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had undergone an upgrade and was now classified as four star. Everywhere was bright, clean and colourful. The hotel had great views of Vesuvius, Capri and the Bay of Naples. The hotel was situated in a quiet location in the Marina without any passing traffic as it was the end of the road and virtually a pedestrian only location.Excellent fish restaurants and quiet bars were less than one hundred metres away.Some rooms on the top floor had huge balconies but all front sea facing rooms had balconies whilst side rooms had partial sea views. The drawbacks to its location was that it lost the sun mid afternoon and that the walk to Sorrento centre was about a kilometre uphill. It was fine for us but was physically challenging for some.

The staff were brilliant, Valentina and Emily in reception could not do enough for us and in the restaurant Andre and his staff were most attentive. A special thank you to our waiter Francesco who spoiled us. The food was good and the snack bar was excellent value, bar prices about the same as a good UK cafe bar.

We visited Pompeii, Herculaneum, Amalfi, Capri, Ravello and Naples on our own using the local bus and trains which were frequent, easy to use and ridiculously inexpensive.

In a nutshell, a great holiday, the other guests were really sociable and if we did not have so many other places to visit we would be looking to book again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not have any views at all, No fitness centre and did not use room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 848DavidV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

my husband and I styed at the Hotel Admiral last week, when we arrived every appear fantastic.
First of all, the hotel is on the sea and that enjoyed us because every morning we can relax with sea and Vesuvius view. Then it's far just 15 minutes from the center by walk but if you are lazy there are hourly public buses.

the staff at reception is very friendly and helpfull.
the room was great, in modern style and very clean.

Food was great and twice a week the hotel organizes a Buffet and Gala Dinner on its Terrace.
The staff of restaurant is friendly and professional.

everything was great so thanks a lot Admiral, we'll come back again!!
John and Sue

Room Tip: ask for a Sea view room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

When my wife and i arrived at the Amiral we had a long walk to actually get into the front door over rough terrain with suitcases. In the hotel we found some staff to be surly unsmiling and sour to say the least. When we booked through Thomson it was a 3 star 2 days into the holiday it suddenly became a 4 star therefore incurring an extra city tax cost when we left the hotel. When we asked the surly man at reception that we booked through thomson therefore under contract to them and should pay the city tax at the 3 star rate he said no and would not relent. he told me he would report me to the manager. I asked the thomson rep to sort it out and after lenghty debate with the manager over the phone we had success we were also told not to discuss it with other english guests because thomson did not want a flood of complaints. The food was bland repetitive and boring. The room was hot air con blowing out warm air church chimes were noisy every 15 minutes 24 hrs a day a nuisance trying to sleep. Only one small lift no fridge in room and they decided it was a four star ???????. After all that the surly man asked did we want to leave tips as we were leaving of which i already did to the waiter and our maid Rosa who was lovely

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
1,234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing