We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Been back a week and already missing the fabulous views, food and great service. We found the restaurant staff very friendly and as for the head waiter, get him at the end of his shift and he is an absolute hoot, great stories to tell and a great sense of fun. This was our second stay and would definately go back. I think maybe people are put off by the professional attitude displayed at meal servings but we found the staff were always attentive, polite and showed a willingness to please.
Thank you Hotel Admiral, and all who sail her.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    320
    139
    38
    19
See reviews for
104
660
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doune, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just back from a fantastic weeklong stay at the Hotel Admiral in Sorrento.
Unlike a lot of the other hotels in Sorrento, the Admiral does not cling to the cliff face, but is located only a few metres above the sea in the tiny scenic harbour of Marina Grande.

The hotel has four floors and most rooms have a balcony with full or partial sea view.
We stayed in room 314 and the view was spectacular: From left to right we had uninterrupted views across the bay to Naples, Vesuvius and Sorrento.
The hotel was lovely and clean and the rooms fresh and airy. The hotel staff were delightful and friendly and always willing to assist if possible.
The restaurant offered a good variety for breakfast and the dinner and the food was always delicious.

At the front of the hotel the pool deck extends over the sea. This is split approximately 50/50 between tables/chairs at one end and deckchairs beside the pool. We could not see any sun beds, so sun worshipers were restricted to deckchairs or lying on a towel on the deck.

Marina Grande is a lovely picturesque harbour that has lots of seafood restaurants.
It is fairly easy to walk uphill into the centre of Sorrento if you are mobile, but there are a lot of elongated steps (three paces between risers) and I would not recommend this location to people with mobility/walking problems.

Room Tip: Worthwhile upgrading room to full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We would just like to say a "Big Thank you" for a wonderful holiday. On arriving in Sorrento, the feeling was good-a little walk to the hotel and greeted by smiling staff, puts you in a good mood and ready to enjoy your selves.

Yes, we had a room change and this was done with efficiency and professionally. The days went by and we we've enjoying every moment, the food in the hotel was excellent and All the staff a credit to your company."A suggestion" Maybe a little variety in entertainment and some soft music in the bar area., We were aware that 4 stars was being sought and yes there are some things that need attention, but when you are on holiday, you look for location, cleanliness, professionalism; helpful staff and quality food-we had that in abundance.

Having to wait a long time to have an holiday, we both really wanted to make sure everything was right- well Sorrento and the Admiral Hotel , also the ambience of the Marina Grande made it a little bit special in eveeyway.

Our intention is to book for next year, so thank you all- for making our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel and after reading previous reviews was really surprised and delighted. The hotel has had a refurb and is quite trendy compared to other Italian hotels we've stayed in. The rooms are bright and spacious and cleaned to a really high standard daily. A good choice of food at breakfast and the evening meals are very good always with a choice of at least 3 or 4 dishes for each course. I can honestly say I never came across a miserable member of staff as everyone was ready to help and chat and unlike the previous review regarding the head waiter, I have to disagree as although at first he may seem a little aloof he has a really wicked side to him and is a great laugh even when we were one of he last tables to leave and were dancing with his staff.I must give a special mention to Francesco who served us with most of our meals as he was always smiling and chatty and always immaculately dressed.
The walk up into Sorrento via the steps at the end of Marina Grande was not too strenuous and we did it regularly. However,the tourist bus that runs every 20mins or so will take you up the road to the centre for 1.20euro but can take longer than walking depending on traffic.

Room Tip: All rooms at the front of the hotel have sea views and balconies some rooms have baths & some on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheJonesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Thanks to William's warnings we went prepared with stout boots to tackle the "rough terrain" on the hotel's approach, even stouter hearts to face the "surly staff" that awaited us, a good pair of earplugs to defeat the "noisy bells" and a direct line to our bank in preparation for the "city tax"
So, imagine our surprise when having virtually glided over a paved walkway we were greeted by two of the most delightful signorinas straight from the cast of Inspector Montalbano - only with bigger smiles. This general friendliness and eagerness to oblige seemed to permeate throughout the entire staff. We must confess to hearing the bells though, but not always above the gentle lapping of the waves against the hotel. City tax: well we were prepared for up to 3 euros per night as clearly stated on our Thomson invoice, so another pleasant surprise awaited us when we were only charged 1.5 euros. In all its almost impossible to find fault with this hotel as other reviewers have already testified.
We would like to say a special thank you to Valentina (molta bello!) on reception who helped us contact our friend on Ischia in an emergency - persistance through adversity.
Other reviewers have already sung the praises of both the hotel and the resort, so will not repeat, but a couple of good tips -
There is no need to walk up the road to Sorrento. Go along to the far end of the bay and take the long steps, making the dog leg back to the left once having gone through the arch. This route is quicker and far more pleasant and takes you right into the centre. It also has the great benefit of passing Caterina's fruit stall where you can buy cherrys along with a handy fountain to wash them. You also get the chance to meet delightful "spenda der moneee" Caterina.
Another good tip would be to learn a couple of handy phrases. "komay stay?" (how are you?) this seems to turn a light on in people who reply "bieno" as does "peer cheery" (nice to meet you)
A certain reviewer should try them - it may help oil his abrasive passage through life.
Thanks to all at The Admiral - a fantastic holiday and highly recommended.

Room Tip: spenda the moneee and go for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank stebboWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated, tucked away in the corner of the marina but within walking distance if the town. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was plentiful and delicious, particularly the last night buffet. The staff were efficient but a little formal. The restaurant staff in particular were aloof, the head waiter was cool to the point of hostile, we wondered if we had unwittingly made a faux pas to cause this but speaking to other guests, found many felt the same.
I would use this hotel again on the basis of how impressed we were with the accommodation but would consider bed and breakfast or self catering if possible to avoid the discomfort of the apparent disapproval of the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer more sun throughout the day, rooms to the east have no sun in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Recently returned from the Admiral Hotel in Sorrento. A lovely small hotel and friendly staff. We had a beautiful room with a georgeous seaview it was perfect. The meals were excellent and plentiful. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and the restaurant staff made him a lovely cake and everyone sang happy birthday this i thought was very nice. We did various excursions to Capri, pompei and mount versuvious and also did a boat trip along the islands to Amalfi and Positano which i highly recommend. I will be returning to the Admiral in the future and highly recommend this small and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a small supplement and have a top floor room with a fantastic seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woodie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing