We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location ever: shame about the food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best location ever: shame about the food!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is mainly a Thomson hotel.
Our holiday started with a four and half hour delay, where we were lied to often about when we would eventually travel; why not explain honestly at the beginning and ask for forbearance?
We got to the hotel at midnight and were met with a cold meal of cheese, ham and bread. When we went up to our room we realised that the room they had given us was not the extra space one we had paid extra money for. Next morning we explained to the receptionist who said she would contact the manager to ask what to do. The manager told her to tell us that "cot space" was just a term they put in and it didn't means anything. We waited until the manager arrived and explained to manager that we had paid Thomson more money for a bigger room and were told we had been given a balcony instead! When I said we wanted a bigger room we were told they were full and wouldn't have room until Monday (this was Saturday). I left the desk saying that I would have a word with the Rep. When I got to our room, the phone was ringing and it was the manager saying they had found a room and did I want to look at it. I collected my husband from the terrace and we went to a slightly larger room. The bathroom had no window and the only good thing about our room was that the bathroom had a window. My husband said he didn't like the bathroom so we said we would cope with the small room. Only the back corner rooms have windows in the bathrooms (we were in 219)
We went to the dining room for breakfast. The Head Waiter is a Job's Worth. He told you when and where to sit, when to eat, and where you could drink. I found him very intimidating and dreaded going into the dining room. . Two evening meals were outside buffet meals. It is quite chilly overlooking the sea at night but there was no choice except going elsewhere for a meal. Again the Head Waiter dictated where you sat and then made everyone sit until all the tables were full. He then directed tables in turn to get up and collect their food. Food was slightly better on these nights!
Breakfasts were very basic (the waiters were friendly and helpful but didn't seem able to understand that you need really hot water to make a cup of tea; my husband did enjoy the coffee though) and evening meals were really bland and of poor quality, wine extremely expensive. Again, you had to wait until the Head waiter took your order while the waiters stood about unable to do anything.
We put on our television, which has 40 stations. Only two of these are in English; at least we think they are except the satellite is not facing the correct way. We reported this to the reception and the Thomson Rep but it was never sorted.
The location is fantastic. The views are wonderful and we were a short walk away from the town centre. The walk was quite steep in places but we knew this before we went and used it as a keep fit activity!! Marina Grande, where the hotel is situated, is the fishermen's' harbour and they own restaurants there where the day's catch is on the menu. If you buy food and drink from a couple of these you get free sunbeds and umbrellas as there are none at the Admiral. Nor can you enter the sea at the hotel.
Walking the narrow streets in the town was a nightly activity. All the shops are open and everyone wanders about happily. We felt totally safe everywhere we went.
We used the local train to visit Herculaneum and Pompeii; the train cost 8 euros for two return journeys and then we only had to pay entrance fees; we got combined tickets for 20 euros per person. We did a Thomson select for a boat trip to Capri. This was a very expensive way of doing this visit but as it included a trip around the island and a light lunch we thought it worth it. Unfortunately, the sea was very rough and the trip around the island was curtailed and the light lunch was a flattened sandwich! At one point during the return journey we all thought our small boat was going to overturn and then the sea forced our boat round facing the direction of Capri again. It was then I wondered why we were not given life jackets or told if there were any on the boat!! We did the Amalfi Coast by the local Ferry which was a lot cheaper than the Thomson excursion. Amalfi was lovely and well worth a visit.
The girls on the reception were extremely helpful. They explained about the local trains and buses and supplied timetables. They answered all your queries with a smile and useful information. They helped to make our holiday better.
The journey home began with a delayed flight! This time it was only a delay of 55 minutes because the plane coming to Naples had had to be changed again and then a further 40 minutes as the agent tried to force the plane to accept an extra passenger on an already full plane. This was made worse by his luggage having been put in the plane's hold. We got to Manchester in time to get home by midnight!

Room Tip: Our room (219) was over the kitchen and their noise woke us every morning at 6.30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MojoStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    324
    143
    38
    19
See reviews for
106
672
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Firstly the walk into and returning from town is challenging for the less agile owing to the location of the hotel being some 50m below that of the town, this is accomplished by tackling a number of shallow steps. Holidaymakers with 'mobility problems' should avoid this hotel, though there were several people in their sixties and seventies that still managed this trek daily (plus locals in their 80's and 90's - and one twenty something local was running up on one occasion). The first time we did the walk we felt out of breath by time we were at the top, however by the end of the week we appreciated the good exercise this provided and were much fitter and had lost a little weight to boot even though on a half-board stay and topping up our calories of a lunchtime in the various eateries!
There is a bus service which operates up the little access road to the marina, we walked this route once and although quicker than the steps it is unattractive and walking space contends with traffic.
I would advise you to think very carefully about whether to book a Thomson trip, as getting around is much easier and cheaper that we are used to in the UK so making your own way round is the obvious way to sightsee, the only proviso is using the bus for Positano, queueing is not in their vocabulary and getting back on the bus once you've got off at Positano is challenging according to some companions that made that trip and ended up getting the boat transfer. Visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Amalfi, Ravello, Capri are all very easy and cost effective and you set your own schedule and points of interest. (See my 'TA' comments about flying Thomson.)
The remoteness of the Admiral also meant the evening noise experienced by the hotels on the main drag at the top of the cliff was superbly absent down at the little fishing village the hotel is located in and it was great sitting out of an evening appreciating a quiet drink looking out at the spectacular views without disturbance.
We paid for a room with limited sea view as all the full sea views were gone when we booked, we were delighted with our limited sea view as we could see the coastline from Sorrento right round to Napoli, and in our opinion this was a better view than the full sea view as many of these could only see sea, not the beautiful coastline.
The walls of the hotel had little or no soundproofing, we had a top floor room (402) but other holiday makers reported they could also quite easily hear noises from occupants above their rooms.
If you have spare clothes hangers take them with you and leave them there as there was a widespread shortage of clothes hangers and storage generally.
The entertainer for Gala dinner and grand buffet was not of professional standard, I hope he's not in for the season, though the CD he left playing during his interval was acceptable.
Problems were dealt with swiftly by the hotel management, so end of the day we had no complaints.
For the safety conscious it should be noted that there is no separate provision for fire escape, the main stairs are the only way in and out, though there are smoke detectors in every room and automatic closing fire doors are installed, though no sprinkler system was evident.
The hotel rating was under review during our visit, the three stars were covered over and rumour had it the hotel were hoping for four stars, we wouldn't disagree with this but neither do we think the current 3 stars was too low.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spearman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we stayed at the hotel admiral in sorrento italy,it is right on the seafront,like the patio is over the
sea,we paid £80 to stay in a room at the front with a balcony,well worth the money,we think there
is no better view from a hotel room.the room has a bath/power shower, bidet,wash basin and wc,
fresh towels each day if required room cleaned to a high standard every day,safe in wardrobe,
the food was fresh/local,the fish was caught that morning,buffet breakfast as much as you like,
lunch is served on the patio or inside if you wish,dinner has a choice of fruit juice,soup,or four other choices,one fish one rice one meat,main course had five choices,and three desserts,
the staff are friendly without getting too personal and nothing was too much trouble and always polite,the waiters made me wish i was still a head waiter,(long time ago)on sunday we had a buffet on the patio for dinner,overlooking the sea and the volcano and a fantastic choice of food,same on wednesdays.the hotel has a pool(unheated)but with temps of 30 plus you need it
the hotel is in a small bay and is a short minibus ride up into sorrento £1.20,but you can walk it in ten/twenty mins,in marina grande(means small in itallian) there is six restuarants so plenty of choice,two shops,one tobacco one everything else.the rooms have a t.v never used.and has a large lounge and bar,also the rooms come with air conditioning,much used.the only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities (we always take our own)but you dont get them in europe,we will be back,also a lift and as i have a disability this was essential,also the staff really looked out for me,but not in my face,

Room Tip: rooms at the front are best,avoid rooms on the right side looking from the front as you have a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i3an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon in the beautiful Sorrento. I can not fault the Admiral, it has undergone a refurbishment meaning the rooms match up to the spectacular views! We were in 212 and had an amazing undisturbed sea view were we could sunbathe on the balcony until 12 o'clock (it was too hot after then anyway). The whole hotel is beautiful, the staff are very friendly are even overly helpful, they really can not do enough for you. Overall I think this is the best hotel in Sorrento as all the others seem in the busy main street and although may be luxurious inside just do not offer the same views!

100% recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HayleyBrocksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We returned last week, from two glorious weeks staying at the Hotel Admiral.
The setting for this typical, cosy, Italian hotel is perfect. Set at the bottom of the cliff with views across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius, who could want more.
If you have any sort of mobility problems, you may want to give some serious consideration to this hotel. My husband has recently been diagnosed with COPD and he has asthma and although he walked up to the town every day, sometimes twice a day, he did find it quite a struggle. There is a mini bus service from the small shop in the Marina Grande that goes up to Piazza Tasso for a small cost of €1.20 which runs every 30 mins but if you have an early excursion, which will normally pick you up from Hotel Ascot at the top of the hill, you will have to walk.
The recent refurb makes the hotel very bright, clean and airy. However, some of the older cliental may not like it as some of the colours are very bright like the reception area, which is a very bright green.
After reading some of the reviews, we opted for a seaview room and I'm so glad we paid the extra to do so. I also emailed the hotel and asked if we could have a high floor room and they put us on floor 4. The view of the Bay of Naples from here was great and there was no possible noise from anyone above us.
As this is a typical, small Italian hotel, we do not feel that it is a great place for children, as it is away from everything and only a small pool to keep them entertained, if they can brave the cold water. Also, the food is very adult orientated.
The food is very traditional Italian cuisine and is excellent. It is waiter service, apart from Sunday when it's buffet night and Thursday when it's Gala Night and there is a good choice of four or five items for starter, main and desert. There are also one or two choices for vegetarians. Although, if you prefer burger and chips, or a buffet dinner this is not the hotel for you.
All in all, this is a a beautifully furnished hotel, with friendly and helpful staff in the most perfect location.
We would definitely return to Hotel Admiral if and when we return to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay in the Admiral Hotel and I can recommend it to anyone. Its position in the Marina Grande offers lovely views across the Bay of Naples, subject to heat haze. All the staff were very helpful and enhanced our holiday.

The rooms have been recently refurbished and were kept very clean.
We will certainly consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Make sure your room booking includes a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I returned from a week at the Admiral on 21st June (went with an old school friend). We found all the staff helpful, cheerful and friendly. The room was compact and painted white, so was fresh and very clean. We had a wonderful sea view and a little balcony. The food was plentiful and there were lots of choices. They had two gala dinners, both great fun. One had great food, the other had more limited choices of food, but traditional Tarentella dancers kept us entertained. Yes, it went on a bit, but we were in Italy! So how nice that they arranged local dancers to entertain us (and music to 'play in' the pork and the dessert, as the Scots would pipe in Haggis!). I really couldn't fault this Hotel and loved the Marina Grande where it was situated. It really gave us a taste of Italy and an ideal place to explore the area.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing