We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got home from another great holiday at the Admiral. 5th holiday to this hotel, 6th to Sorrento.
We were here from 31st August-13th Sept. That's our usual time for coming, more or less the first two weeks in September. August is too hot and too busy. Weather was great apart from the last day when things were starting to go down hill a bit, but then it was due to get better again over the weekend as we left. We had a talk that we might try somewhere else next year. But our parting thoughts were, how can we not come back here again. So we'll wait and see what next year brings. The hotel has changed a wee bit, some staff have moved on to pastures new, but those that were there were just as helpful as always. Couldn't fault any member of staff at all.
Andreas is now in charge of the dining room. Was so good to see him again. Still the same happy smiling person as we remembered. The night porter is a very nice man. Check in is very quick and efficient. Can't remember his name off hand but then that's an age thing with me. Comes to us all in the end. Giovanni was a really nice man behind the bar. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Nice to see that Pepe was still here.
Having been to Sorrento so often, once again we never did any trips. We just sat back and watched all those people who were only here for a week, rushing about like maniacs trying to cram all the trips in. We've been there before. You really need two weeks. Do a couple of trips each week. And make sure you find time to relax a bit. That's what holidays are about.
Marina Grande is a lovely place away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento town itself. There are loads of places to eat down here. I think we've tried them all.
Our favourite pizza place is down in Marino piccolo. We went down there within a few days of arriving, although this time we got the lift down. We found the lift last year just as we were coming home. So this year we made good use of it.
The thing about Sorrento is that it's a great place to people watch. Find a nice coffee shop and get a nice sticky bun, and settle yourself down for a few hours and watch the world go by. You can't beat it.
The last few years we've gone on holiday with the same couple. We first met them here at the Admiral. The man is known to the Admiral as 'Baloteli' and his wife Josie. They couldn't come this year as he is fighting cancer. Imagine our shock when we got home to find that she had died when we were in Sorrento. Very sad time.
There are always loads of fireworks in Sorrento. And weddings. In fact this year we were actually invited to a wedding. We were walking about Sorrento when we met friends of ours who had come over to get married. So they invited us to go and see them getting married in the Cloisters and for drinks afterwards. It was very nice indeed. A most enjoyable afternoon.
So will we go back to the Admiral next year? Watch this space as they say. I certainly wouldn't like to think that I never would.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol-macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    326
    147
    39
    19
See reviews for
108
684
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This review is in two parts - one concerning the Hotel, and the other, its description by the travel Company Thomsons.
My wife and I stayed at the Admiral for a week in September 2013, and the Hotel is, as it says on the box, 3 star. Rooms are functional, clean and tidy, with limited wardrobe space, and bathrooms with very little room for the placing of toiletries and the like. Bed comfortable, with side tables each side. For some reason yet to be fathomed, there are few coathangers in the wardrobe, and when we asked for more, only received half of what we asked for, being told "that's all we can spare". This was frustrating, causing us to have to double up on hanging our clothes. Surely the cost of a few more hangers is affordable ? No courtesy tray of tea/coffee, which would have been very much appreciated.
Staff are unfailingly polite, courteous, helpful, knowledgeable, and hardworking. All speak English, which is probably not surprising given that the Hotel is chiefly patronised by the Brits. Food very good, in adequate quantities.
The concerns I have involve Thomsons, who, given what I write below, could be considered either disingenuous, or economical with the truth.
The Hotel has an enviable position on the bay, with stunning views towards Vesuvius, but is north-facing, at the foot of a high cliff, which means that sunlight to some rooms and/or their balconies is rather limited. A fact not mentioned in the Brochure. Further, they say that "all rooms have satellite TV". This is true, but as there are no english speaking stations, this is not helpful. BBC.Sky News would have been appreciated.
Finally, the Brochure states that the transfer time from Naples Airport to the Hotel is 1 hour 30 mins to 2 hours. This comment is a joke. Our transfer time was 5 hours, and allow me to explain why. Once we had cleared customs, and made our way to the Coach, we then sat in our seats for an hour, waiting for passengers on other incoming flights to join us, under Thomsons "consolidation" policy. Once under way, the journey to Sorrento was slow and tortuous, and on arrival at the Town, we were the last of the 7 drop-offs - but not yet at our Hotel, as we had to transfer to a mini-bus, given that the larger coach could not travel down the narrow streets near the Admiral. And the mini-bus itself could not reach the Hotel, thus entailing a 400 yd walk for the final part of the journey. Fortunately, the weather was fine, but if it had been raining, we would have arrived looking like drowned rats. Throughout the entire journey from Airport to Hotel, there were no comfort or refreshment breaks, so to experience neither for 5 hours is asking a lot. And again, not mentioned in the Brochure.

Room Tip: Chose one with a bath and shower, rather than shower only, as these have a bit more room. Those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is a little gem. we stayed here in June with four friends, we all paid the upgrade for sea view rooms which is really worth doing. all the staff were lovely and the food was very good. Sorrento it's self is such a lovely place to visit, so much to see and do.Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so nice, one week was not enough.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra39_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we stayed here for 1 week, we payed the extra for a sea view which in my opinion is a must, to wake up every morning with the views over the sea was great. the rooms were very clean and spacious, there was no tea and coffee facility in the room which we missed.
the maids came in every day and changed the towels.
the food in the hotel I could not fault, the breakfast was continental.
all the staff were great, very friendly and helpful,
a short walk into the town which is uphill on the way out, quite steep in places but we enjoyed the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with Thomsons from 2-9 September.

We stayed in room 310. Was spotlessly clean and beds and towels were changed daily. The views from room were a tiny bit restricted to the sides but still great. Views from the terrace of the hotel were superb and I could never get fed up with them.

The hotel did lack a little atmosphere and the lounge area, although modernised, was completely lacking comfort and atmosphere and subdued lighting and not where you would want to sit for a night cap after an evening out. It was spotless though.

The staff in the bar, the restaurant and at the desk were all really friendly and helpful.

This hotel is a wonderful base for exploring but there is nothing to do if you get back early in the afternoon as the pool is in shadow by 2:30.

Although half board, we decided to eat out most evenings. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and really needs some background music. The food was ok, but nothing special except on the Gala night, when it was first class. We didn't stay for the buffet night but the selection did look amazing.

The breakfasts were quite poor and getting a decent coffee was not possible so we used have ours at a little cafe in town called Spinnakers which served great tea and coffee and a decent cooked breakfast if you want one.

Overall though, despite my comments above, it was a lovely base to stay at, with really comfy beds and the marina was great to come back to after an evening in town as it was the most friendly and picturesque part of Sorrento.

So don't be put off going to the Admiral but be prepared to spend a few bob more by eating out a few times.

One last thing, if you go with Thomsons, be prepared to be treated a bit like a poor relation to the residents of other hotels and to have to walk to other hotels for excursion pick ups and to hang about in bus stations on the your transfer home for ages waiting for the coach to pick you up.

But that view and the cleanliness of the hotel made any little niggles worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CliffN1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in September what a lovely surprise small and friendly will top class food staff and location we had breakfast on the balcony on our last morning which was amazing thompson let us down as they told us they would let the hotel know that it was our anniversary but when we asked the friendly manager they had not and their excursions were ludicrously expensive their trip to Amalfi was 108 euro we did it for 7:50 on the bus which is for all day also you can get the train to Naples Pompeii and huculuim easily for only 7:50euro the hotel is on the harbour there are 300 hotels in sorrento but this one is the only one on the beach you had a fridge free safe but you need to take a travel kettle for your coffee highly recommend hotel thank you valentina lovely holiday we can't wait to return caroline and Richard

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swanseanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. Situated right on the end of Marina Grande with a terrace over the sea it boasts amazing views over the bay and the marina itself.

The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean and the recent refurb has given the hotel bright contemporary rooms with clean lines. Doesn't look like the bathroom in our room was replaced as it was a little tired, but spotless none the less.

We paid for a double room with 'balcony and limited sea view' wht we got was a room on the side of the hotel which afforded us a fairly decent view of the sea, but an excellent view of the Marina itself which to our minds was as good.

There's walk into the centre but there are shuttle buses costing €1.30 but you don't need to go far from the hotel to find shops, restaurants, cages, gellatos and a beach as the Marina is teaming with local colour and life.

Food was great, buffet breakfast and plenty of choice at dinner. They do 'gala' dinners three nights a week. We attended just one due to being out on excursions, but the buffet-served out on the terrace-was a sight to behold.

The staff are impeccable, friendly, helpful and professional and there are some real characters there. Feels like a big family and that's what made our experience so relaxed and enjoyable.

I've seen previous reviews about the head waiter being brusque and aloof, he's very efficient and a sight to behold when he's getting everyone organised but actually, he's a really lovely chap with a twinkle in his eye and a real dry sense of humour. Completely focused on looking after his guests. We bumped into him and some colleagues late one evening when they were waiting for their bus home, greeted us as if we were old friends and it was completely

All in all a completely enjoyable experience, a wonderful hotel in a stunning location, I'm not one for 'going back' there are two many places in the world to see but we will definitely be going back to the Admiral!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WaltonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
1,402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing