We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

When we were booking our holiday, we had a short list of 2 hotels and decided on this one purely based on it's location although the tripadvisor reviews were not as good as the other hotel. We were certainly not disappointed and the hotel lived up to our expectations in every way.
To deal with the location first, Marina Grande is such a beautiful, unspoilt fishing harbour with hardly any traffic. The hotel is right at the end of the harbour and the road (if you can call it that) stops there so there is no traffic at all.

The hotel is quite small and intimate so you get to know the other guests and the staff quite quickly.
The room was not the biggest but was very nicely decorated (all white with lovely chandeliers), was spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard every day by Rosa. One gripe here which is down to Thomson and not the hotel, we paid extra for a "full" sea view and our room was set back in the middle of the hotel with a wall extending out to sea on the left of our balcony. This meant we only had half a sea view which was disappointing and I am currently pursuing this with Thomson.

Andreas, the head waiter, was a seriously scary looking character who appeared to rule his staff with a rod of iron but he is actually a lovely man with a great sense of humour and his staff were all excellent (particular mention for Jayne's favourite Francesco). Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Food was good with good choice every day.

The Thomson rep Liz is lovely and the walkabout after the welcome meeting is well worth doing.

The hotel does lose the sun early afternoon but Delphine's pier is available just a couple of hundred yards away with 4 or 5 hours more sun. If you go down towards Marina Piccolo, these piers all charge for hire of sun loungers and charge extortionate prices for drinks. Neither of these happen at Delphine's. You are free to walk on and not pressured to buy anything at all. It looked like a lovely place to eat too but we never got round to it as the food in the hotel kept us there.

All in all, we loved the place and definitely recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisanjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    317
    135
    38
    19
See reviews for
103
651
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just back from a wonderful week in Sorrento, and have to say that this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in over the last few holidays. The staff were lovely, the food was super, tasty and well presented, we had two Gala evenings during the week which was very very enjoyable with a group of dancers in National costume and the food was superb. Make sure to ask for front facing rooms or the side that looks over the harbour, as was ours. The bonus is there is no traffic noises so you can sleep soundly with only the gentle ripple of the sea, without the sounds of motorbikes and mopeds and cars which according to some people in other hotels in the town can be a nuisance

Room Tip: Higher floors better, rooms 304, 305, and 306 good views, not sure of the numbers for other front be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenntwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Have just returned from very pleasant stay at the Admiral. Its location is fantastic being right on the sea with views overlooking Mount Vesuvius. It is actually sited on the Marina Grande which allowed us to feel a small part of the local community especially as we were able to experience their Sagre del Pesce or Festival of the fish when we mixed with the locals and sampled the freshly caught seafood. The hotel is clean and well kept. Whilst the food can get a wee bit repetitive the gala night and buffet nights help to compensate and were excellent. The staff are all very helpful and coped admirably well when a plague of flying ants descended on the marina and outdoor gala night.
We would definitely return, especially if we had a full sea view room .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachboy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Whoo what can I say ?? Beautiful just beautiful !! We had a fabulous holiday in Sorrento! The admiral hotel is great' very funky decor, clean and tidy. The hotel is quite basic but it is spotless and the food is great, not fancy but delicious. Although on the couple of themed nights the staff work their socks off putting on a fabulous buffet, which looked and tasted beautiful. The staff are amazing, friendly and courteous. They really take a pride in their jobs which just adds that wee bit extra to your hols!! Also the use of the Dolphin restaurant and jetty next door is fab, you can sunbath there later and the food is also magnificent. The location is fab, I would say the best in Sorrento, we will definitely return as soon as we save up the pennies !!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get sea view room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elainestev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This review is done in two parts;
Part 1, the hotel - excellent location, clean and tidy, friendly staff and superb view of bay Naples and vesuvius (worth paying the money for!)

Part 2, the restaurant - as previously stated, staff really were excellent, unfortunately the food from the restaurant, was to me very inconsistent. Gala night and buffet nights are well worth it, so don't miss these. The a la carte was very hit and miss though. One night had the beef consommé, which literally was like eating pasta water. On the other hand had excellent hake one night and Ischian rabbit on another. They try to cater for English tastes, so the veg sides were of 1970's ilk (to cater for the ahem older guests).

All in all would definitely recommend this as a hotel for its location, views, friendly staff and price, but would suggest you venture away from here occasionally to sample some foodie delights in the area (see other reviews)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kesley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Admiral Hotel. Our sea view room was ready upon arrival and had a great view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. The balcony enjoyed the sun in the morning but was in the shade in the afternoons. During our stay the breakfasts and evening meals were tasty. The breakfast is a buffet. The evening meals consisted of a self serve buffet as a starter followed by 2 further courses and dessert chosen from the menu, which was changed daily. The Hotel is in a lovely quiet location by the harbour and the walk up into Sorrento is pleasant if somewhat steep in places! All the staff at the Hotel are really pleasant, friendly and helpful. We would gladly return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Charwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got home from another great holiday at the Admiral. 5th holiday to this hotel, 6th to Sorrento.
We were here from 31st August-13th Sept. That's our usual time for coming, more or less the first two weeks in September. August is too hot and too busy. Weather was great apart from the last day when things were starting to go down hill a bit, but then it was due to get better again over the weekend as we left. We had a talk that we might try somewhere else next year. But our parting thoughts were, how can we not come back here again. So we'll wait and see what next year brings. The hotel has changed a wee bit, some staff have moved on to pastures new, but those that were there were just as helpful as always. Couldn't fault any member of staff at all.
Andreas is now in charge of the dining room. Was so good to see him again. Still the same happy smiling person as we remembered. The night porter is a very nice man. Check in is very quick and efficient. Can't remember his name off hand but then that's an age thing with me. Comes to us all in the end. Giovanni was a really nice man behind the bar. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Nice to see that Pepe was still here.
Having been to Sorrento so often, once again we never did any trips. We just sat back and watched all those people who were only here for a week, rushing about like maniacs trying to cram all the trips in. We've been there before. You really need two weeks. Do a couple of trips each week. And make sure you find time to relax a bit. That's what holidays are about.
Marina Grande is a lovely place away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento town itself. There are loads of places to eat down here. I think we've tried them all.
Our favourite pizza place is down in Marino piccolo. We went down there within a few days of arriving, although this time we got the lift down. We found the lift last year just as we were coming home. So this year we made good use of it.
The thing about Sorrento is that it's a great place to people watch. Find a nice coffee shop and get a nice sticky bun, and settle yourself down for a few hours and watch the world go by. You can't beat it.
The last few years we've gone on holiday with the same couple. We first met them here at the Admiral. The man is known to the Admiral as 'Baloteli' and his wife Josie. They couldn't come this year as he is fighting cancer. Imagine our shock when we got home to find that she had died when we were in Sorrento. Very sad time.
There are always loads of fireworks in Sorrento. And weddings. In fact this year we were actually invited to a wedding. We were walking about Sorrento when we met friends of ours who had come over to get married. So they invited us to go and see them getting married in the Cloisters and for drinks afterwards. It was very nice indeed. A most enjoyable afternoon.
So will we go back to the Admiral next year? Watch this space as they say. I certainly wouldn't like to think that I never would.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol-macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing