We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Marina Grande”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem in Marina Grande”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is situated right in front of the beautiful sea and overlooks the bay of Sorrento and Marina Grande, it's a perfect and romantic location and is a 10-15minute walk away to the town centre. Hotel staff friendly, Thomson rep helpful and knowledgeable and food was good too. It's only a 3-star hotel but the location is just so beautiful and the service is very good. You are also close to restaurants around Marina Grande so highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    335
    154
    40
    20
See reviews for
111
706
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We reviewed this hotel on 3 October 2013 and it was excellent but we added "One gripe here which is down to Thomson and not the hotel, we paid extra for a "full" sea view and our room was set back in the middle of the hotel with a wall extending out to sea on the left of our balcony. This meant we only had half a sea view which was disappointing and I am currently pursuing this with Thomson". Uunfortunately, Thomson have finally (3 emails later) given their final response. and. in spite of the fact that "we take on board all feedback that has been received to improve customer experience where possible in the future" they seem to think that being only able to see 90 degrees of the panorama when "every room has a partial sea view" is perfectly acceptable and continue to charge over £200 for this upgrade. You would be very unlikely to get a room with less of a view than ours so our advice is, don't bother paying for it and take your chances. Had we not paid extra for this, we would have been delighted with our view but we paid to see Vesuvius every morning and it was behind a brick wall,

Don't let this review put you off the hotel - it was lovely, just don't pay Thomson for the upgrade - you are not forced to get it and they are not in the slightest bit interested if you are not happy! We will never use Thomson again after the way they have handled this!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrisanjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you plan to stay here book a room at the front of the hotel, it makes the stay worthwhile as the view of Naples bay in a lightning storm was amazing. The room we occupied was a balcony room on the 3rd floor, and was well kept and comfortable.
The reception area was so clinical, with bright lighting, white paintwork and floors, white tables and chairs (which were more suited to the garden) and the most uncomfortable green bench seating - seemingly designed for a caravan.
Other review comments about the food say it all, I have never stayed anywhere where I have been told I have to stay in my seat until called to the buffet! the restaurant design was very oddly designed and could have been far better planned.
There are some lovely restaurants nearby, particularly the Dolphin and the 'yellow jetty' (the music's good too!). There's also a good little shop in the village selling really great wine for 4 euros should you feel the need! Hotel entertainment was nondescript, a bloke and his laptop - oh joy, a (bad) pub-singer!

All in all the Admiral provided a great location and base for our break, but is not a place that calls us back for future holidays, unlike other hotels we've stayed at with the same star rating.

Room Tip: A front sea view room is essential!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GillMalcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Basic, clean hotel Amazing views over Bay of Naples from our balcony! Lovely little fishing village nearby, with fishermans cooperative restaurant on the marina. Food in hotel basic, although the grilled fish and meats were always good. The gala nights staged in hotel restaurant were definitely something to experience!! Bit of a climb up steps to Sorrento!

Room Tip: A room with sea view and balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaclynnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wonderful hotel, especially if you have paid for a sea view (highly recommended). We were on the top floor, facing the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Food was very nice but not the best we've had. Waiter service for evening meal and they were all friendly. Hotel is down a hill away from Sorrento itself so it meant walking up and down each day to reach the town. There is a bus service but it appeared a bit hit or miss to us so we walked it. There is a main road going through Sorrento and the prices are bit high along this stretch so try the bars etc either side. Hotel Admiral is placed down on the Marina Grande, nice little area, looks like a film setting. Apparently crime rate is 00.01% so don't worry too much walking up and down the dark narrow streets.

Room Tip: Book a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in August. The hotel has a great location (be sure to pay for a sea view) and is clean inside. Our room was basic, but had a dangerous broken bathroom floor tile that was never fixed despite our request for it to be. My overall impression of the hotel is that they didn't particularly care if I had a great stay or not - as a guest I felt unimportant. The younger restaurant staff were lovely and yes the Head waiter was 'frosty' at first to say the least. Breakfast was inedible at times and felt overcrowded and stressful. The evening meal was okay and better when we all sat outside. The walk into Sorrento was a killer in the heat. A 20 minute uphill walk was not relaxing and I felt shattered before I even got to the main port. Sorrento is lovely and so is the view from this hotel, but try somewhere else for better food and customer service. I would never return here.

Room Tip: Sea View is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Admiral in June 2013 for two weeks, travelling with Thomsons.
This was our fourth time in Italy and our first visit to the Sorrento area.

The Admiral is located in the Marina Grande which is actually the smallest marina in Sorrento. It is situated on the far side of Sorrento, a good 20 minute walk uphill to the main town area. There is a bus service that takes you to the town and the bus/train terminus and is very cheap to use.
It's a lovely peaceful and authentic area of the town with several excellent small restaurants and bars which are very popular with the locals in the evenings and at weekends. There isn't the 'tourist vibe' here as much as in the town and it retains its 'local' charm.

HOTEL
As the brochure stated, its located right on the waters edge with a large roomy verandah balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. Plenty of tables and chairs are available and comfortable deck chairs rather that sun-loungers by the very nice little swimming pool. The hotel has been refurbished to a very modern and contemporary standard, all white walls with very bright coloured furnishings and artwork. Little things still needed to be finished, the skirting boards hadn't yet been replaced up the stairs after the new carpets had been fitted for example. These minor details didn't bother us in the slightest as the hotel was spotlessly clean and tidy.
Our room was located on the top floor as we had requested and payed for a room with a sea-view. We were not disappointed. We had a massive balcony about 20ft long overlooking the Bay, Marina and Mount Vesuvius. It was stunning. A small complaint would be the room lacked storage, there wasn't enough room for t-shirts, shorts, underwear etc but plenty of hanging space. The bathroom had a bath and shower, toilet, bidet and sink with a hairdryer too. The water was lovely and hot and powerful too, the towels were changed everyday and the maids did a fine job for us.

BAR
The bar is located in the reception which has lots of tables and chairs and a small sofa area. The bar staff were lovely and helpful, courteous and charming. They worked long hours working six days a week and were always smiling and friendly. All drinks are brought to your table and no cash is taken, you have to sign a book for every drink and the bill is settled at the end of your stay. We chose to pay at the end of the first week so we had an idea what to expect for the second week. We also kept a tally of our drinks so we could match up if we needed to. We didn't have to, everything was fine. Drinks are expensive though, 5-6 euros for a Bacardi and diet coke but bottles of wine were about the same as here. The local wine from the Vesuvius vineyards was 13 euros and was very good.
Bar snacks are are served from mid-day and also signed for and paid at the end. The menu offers a reasonable choice, is much cheaper than the restaurants in the marina and is of equal quality.
Free Wi-fi is available in the reception area and if you're lucky, just outside the doors!

RESTAURANT
Reading the last few reviews, I cant believe they stayed at the same hotel! We found the food to be of a very good standard and we only ate out once in Sorrento town centre. We were very disappointed with that and chose to stay in the hotel for the rest of our stay as we knew what were going to get.
Breakfasts were typically continental with bread, cold meats, cold vegetables, fruit, juices, cereals and cheese. There was also a small hot selection of bacon, eggs, beans and tomatoes.
The evening meal offered a choice of five starters and main courses and a choice of desserts every night. There was always fruit juice, soup, a pasta and a risotto dish and the mains always had a fish and vegetarian choice. It didn't repeat in the two weeks we were there.
Once a week there was a Gala Dinner served on the verandah. This was superb. The first week we had massive buffet with hot and cold food served by all the bar and waiting staff who couldn't do enough for us. The second week it was a four-course sit-down dinner also outside, with entertainment of traditional Sorrento dancing.

EXCURSIONS
Thomson offer lots of trips and excursions but it is so easy to travel independently using public transport. The railway service starts from Sorrento town centre and runs straight to Naples. Its extremely cheap and easy to use. It stops at Pompeii (Pompeii Scavi) for the ruins and from here you can also get up Vesuvius. The ticket office right outside the station. I highly recommend this trip, the view from the top is breathtaking. A little further along is the stop for Herculaneum which is also a fascinating afternoon/morning.
The buses are also cheap and easy to use but they get really full. We did the Amalfi drive using public transport and found it no problem at all and a lot cheaper than Thomson want to charge
We did one excursion as it was too far to do independently. The trip to Monte Cassino was amazing. It was breathtaking in its scenery and history and emotionally draining with the visit to the British & Commonwealth War Cemetery. Even if you have no connection with the area, no relatives who died here or graves to visit, it's still a superb trip to do. The monastery is stunning and it's incredible to believe it was smashed and bombed to smithereens.

In summary, we really enjoyed The Admiral Hotel and would recommend it to our friends and family. I wouldn't advise it for those with walking or mobility difficulties and the Thomson website also states this. I'd recommend staying more central. The walk to and from the town can be a drag but it helps keep you fit and it burns off all that lovely Italian ice cream! The views along the way of the bay and Vesuvius are stunning and in the evenings there are fireworks going up all around the bay from the countless weddings that take place here. It certainly isn't cheap so take plenty of spending money.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, its really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
1,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing