We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

On the plus side the views from the hotel were beautiful. Rooms very clean.
Negative points in my opinion was the food which I found tasteless and boring and we had to eat out quite a few times.
The pool area needs some attention - miss matched furnishings and only 2 umbrella's. Pool very small and uninviting only 4 or 5 deckchairs around it.
Lounge/reception also needs some TLC it felt more like a waiting room.
This hotel has so much potential but at the moment is very lacking.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    326
    147
    39
    19
See reviews for
108
684
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a week in Sorrento at this hotel with Thomsons. Great Location right on the sea front, with bars and restaurants just a few metres away. The room we had was very, very small, we had booked a partial sea view with a balcony. The bed was just one step away from the balcony, and just one step away from the end wall. No drawer space, we had to put our clothes in supermarket bags in a small cupboard. The balcony just had room for two small chairs, no table. We asked to change rooms, but were told that the hotel was full. From chatting to other guests at the hotel, most of the rooms were very small, and many had asked to change rooms.
The food was poor quality, they spent as little money as possible on the meals, the beef one night was so thin you could see the plate through it. The hotel had made up fancy names to hide the fact that the food was the cheapest possible. The drinks were expensive, including the wine which was very poor quality at 20 euro a bottle. The slightly cheaper one was of course out of stock. Dont be fooled into having a lemonchello at the end of the "gala" dinner, as just a few minutes later you will be presented with the bill.
The hotel waiters are quite fustrating, they do not really want to serve you, there are quite a few of them, at breakfast they stand in from of the buffet, and get in the way.
However the room was very clean, and clean fresh towels every day, and the reception staff were polite and helpful.
Does the location beat all that? it was better than staying in the town I think.
Not four star at all, barely a three, get rid of some of the waiters, and spend a little more money on the food.

Room Tip: I think the rooms without a balcony were a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The views here really are beautiful. The view of Vesuvius and the marina grande from our room could not have been more perfect. The room was very clean and decor was nice, if a little basic.

The location was great, the marina grande is beautiful and has some lovely restaurants. It was a pretty steep walk into Sorrento's centre, but there are regular and very inexpensive busses that take you to Tasso square or the station if you are feeling lazy!

My main complaints would be the fact that there were three occasions that we had no hot water in our room (staff's reaction indicate that this is a fairly regular occurrence), the poor wifi - only available in the hotel lobby, not even outside on the terrace. The food was not great, we ate out for all but two evenings, portions were large but quality really was lacking. Breakfast was also pretty dire, I would never expect to be served instant coffee in Italy! The options were very limited and again very poor quality, we quickly stopped bothering - I need real coffee for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGP221185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I honestly can't see the basis for the negative reviews of this hotel, my experience was fantastic! Lovely staff, great view, rooms fresh, clean, air conditioned and cleaned daily! Great home style Italian food, a lot better than some of the restaurants. It is a bit pricey but what do you expect, you're in Sorrento. Outside sunbeds a little cramped but not an issue and a small pool. The only negative is that's there is no sun on the terrace after 16:00. Overall, one of the best holidays I've had, Sorrento is stunning and has 2 of the best archaeological sites in the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived on Friday 13th June and yea its a bit of a travel from the airport to the hotel but on the plus side you got to see all the lovely views on the way .
We were coming here for our wedding with our bridesmaid and bestman and when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by happy , smiley receptionist who were kind and helpful and as I'm a receptionist myself I know how important that is , we went up to our room which was clean and fresh and the view from our baloney was amazing , just what we wanted . So we dropped our cases off and went for a walk and food when going down to the reception area and having a good look around it was all clean and fresh and stepping outside , ' WELL WHAT A VIEW ' it was surrounded by the sea and in the distance mountains etc . It had a ok sized swimming pool , desk chairs , sun beds etc .Food at the hotel was fine no complaints there and my best drink at the bar was a Mi Ti .
Plenty of nice places to eat and drink and the town wasn't far either , everywhere you walked it was just more beautiful views and we met other guests staying there that all were friendly too . On Friday the 20/06/14 was the day we were getting married at the villa fondi which spoke for itself (amazing , wow , beautiful) , and the staff at the hotel were very supportive with delivery of flowers , transport etc I didn't have to do a thing , just turn up lol .
We made some good friends with the staff there and can't wait to return next year for our 1st wedding anniversary ..So once again a huge Thank you to you all for making our stay a memorable time xxxx luv the pikes xxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I travelled to the Admiral Hotel in mid-June 2014 with my girlfriend.

First, lets start with the biggest positive of the hotel - THAT view! Situated right on the edge of Marina Grande, almost hanging into the sea, the hotel has possible the best location of any in Sorrento in terms of the beautiful view. We booked a double room with ‘side sea view’, from which we didn’t really expect much, but we were wrong, after stepping out onto our balcony we had a near un-obstructed view right along the coastline, it was breathtaking, and one wonders why anyone would actually pay the premium Thomson were charging for a full sea view. The sun terrace over-hangs the water, and is the perfect place to soak up the sun and have a drink in the afternoon.

An uphill walk of around 10 minutes takes you to the centre of Sorrento, which after a few days, doesn’t seem too bad, and at least keeps you fit. One word of warning about the centre of Sorrento is the scooters, and general standard of driving. I knew that the Italians weren’t the greatest drivers, but in reality it was quite a surprise. Nobody stops, ever. Walking over a pedestrian crossing? Another car coming in the opposite direction? It didn’t matter, the driver would just keep going until they hit something. Add to that the scooters that would dart in and out of the traffic, going through any gap they could, you really had to keep your wits about you whilst out and about otherwise you’d get run over.

The hotel has had a bit of a make-over in recent years, and it shows. Everything is pristine and white, with the odd block colours to theme the room – green for the reception, and our room – silver. It certainly looks very modern, and like care has gone into the refurb – the only downside is that it doesn’t seem like the restaurant had been touched, and as a result, looked quite out of place and old-fashioned.

The staff were very friendly throughout our stay, always had a smile and a joke with us, except for the evening England played Italy in the World Cup, where, while donning my England shirt, I was blanked by the younger members of the waiting team – all in good humour, and they had the last laugh the following day!

Food was kind of what you would expect from a mid-priced hotel – breakfast was a basic buffet of breads, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, eggs, and either sausages or bacon, alternating daily. The lack of variety got a bit tiresome towards the end of our stay, as I ended up having the same food all of the time. Evening meals were a set menu displayed outside the restaurant a few hours beforehand. The selection was okay, and even I usually found something that I would enjoy. On the Sunday evening the food was served outside on the terrace in a kind of buffet/carvery event, served up by the head chef. This had more choice, and even chips for the very fussy eaters. The most bizarre night for food was the Gala dinner on Thursday. The notice said be there for 7pm, and no other details were disclosed, so we went into it a little bit blind, which made it very awkward to begin with. Firstly, we were told we had to share our table with another, unknown, couple (they were as bemused as we were!), and then, we were brought plate after plate of food that none of us knew what was, or when it would stop coming! This was accompanied by the strangest entertainment I’ve even come across. It came in the form of 4 people, dressed in old-fashioned costumes, walking, dancing, and singing around the room, in what seemed like a totally un-rehearsed, and some-what alcohol fuelled. To this day I’m still not sure if it was a serious or ‘mock’ act. But at least the night was memorable!

Overall, though, this is a very charming little hotel, in the most charismatic part of the resort, with great staff, and a good vibe. Rooms were clean and modern, and you could tell care had been put into our stay by the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Don't waste money paying for a full sea view, ours (room 204) was on the side and had great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have just returned from a holiday with Thompson, (who seem to have the monopoly at this hotel).The location was fantastic with views over the Bay of Naples to Versuvius. The hotel is situated on the Marina Grande, (which in fact is the small harbour in Sorrento), with lots of nice, reasonably price restaurants very close by. The hotel has a limited sun deck, but there are a number of decked areas within a very short walk, where beds can be hired for 5 euros a day. The hotel itself was simple, very clean and ok food (not the best I've ever had, but certainly not the worst). I had a room with a partial sea view as we were on a budget, but one thing I would definitely advise is that if you do stay here, get a room with a full sea view, the view is to die for and that's what Sorrento is all about. Our room was quite small and basic, and a noisy generator was irritating, but on the plus it was spotlessly clean. A word of warning, if you are not very active, the hotel is a good 15-20 minutes steep walk into Sorrento centre, where you will need to go to catch, buses, boats and trains, but buses are available although I did not use them.. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
1,402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing