We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I returned a week ago from this hotel as others have said this is not 4 star but a good 3. We paid extra for a sea facing room which was excellent, could lay in bed and watch the boats on the sea. The food was ok but have had better in a 3 star in other part of Italy. Thomson tours are very expensive we went to Pompeii on the local train which cost less than 5 euros return and what Thomson don't tell you is that if you are under 18 or over 65 you don't pay to go in so we had a great day for next to nothing! The return plane journey was horrendous, having pre printed our boarding cards and having our seat numbers when we arrived at check in at Naples we were told that we couldn't have seats together and we had one seat in row 9 and one in row 26,our original number. When we got on the plane there was chaos as this had happened to many people. We will never travel with Thomson again and others said this also.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trifle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Starting off on a good note - the location was the absolute best in Sorrento, just out of the noise and a few steps to the beach and multiple bars and restaurants. Our room 302 was a nice size, clean and suitable for us. Although no mini fridge, so warm water all around. The air conditioning made the room comfortable and we had a nice view over the marina. We found most of the staff friendly and helpful. The communal balcony provided beautiful views and pleasant place to dine.


The downsides - and sadly there are a few.

Rating - claim to be four star - but an absolute three at best.

Bar - we wrongly assumed that non-alcoholic drinks would be included in our evening meals, as this was half board. Alcoholic drinks were very expensive and we became aware of our astronomical bar bill about 4 days - had water the rest of our stay (at 2.50 euro a pop).

Tourist tax - was not aware of this at all, on top of our hefty bar bill there was 21 euro for tax. Hurray.

Food - i found it OK. My partner found it almost inedible. If we could have afforded to eat out every night we would have. Pasta and seafood dishes proved the best.

Excursions through Thomsons - this was the killer for us. We loved the Pompeii half day - excellent and i highly recommend it.
However the Capri and Anacapri excursion was diabolical. We were looking forward to this one, being told by our rep and the brochure that we would need a few extra euros for the chair lift and that lunch was included. We come to find however that the whole tour is planned around the assumption that you will pay out for all the optional extras. This left myself and my partner on the docks of Capri for the first hour of the tour while the rest of the group went on the "optional" boat ride around the island at 16 euros a head. After this we travelled to Anacapri via bus and were walked to the centre where we would have our lunch - turns out we had to pay. Our tour guide recommended a restaurant and took us all there where they had reserved many tables for our group. The guide must have a deal with this restaurant - the food was diabolical and while the price was reasonable we came out wishing we had just got a sandwich. After that most of the group went on the chairlift at 10 euros a head (hardly the few euros stated in the brochure). Again we missed out but our tour guide took us on a nice walking tour. The last part of the day was spent in Capri where we couldn't even afford to buy a coffee (4 euros) and just counted down the minutes til we left. EXTREMELY dissapointed with this excursion. No one made us aware we would need an extra 100 euro on top of the 80 we paid per person to actually make the tour worthwhile. Came back very upset and frustrated.

Transport links - on our way back to Naples airport ourselves and 2 other couples were left behind by the minibus, despite being where we were told to be by the hotel (the wrong place) and on time. When Thomsons and the hotel finally sorted in we were stuck on a bus with no airconditioning in the hottest part of the day for an hour. Awful.

Overall we came away for this experience very disappointed, we are a young couple on low wages and paid around £1000 for the week in sorrento and expected more. We saved hard for our spending money and ended up throwing it away on bad excursions and hidden hotel costs leaving us unable to even afford a souvenir to bring home. Will never travel with Thomsons again.

Room Tip: Sea views on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelaChallis908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hidden Gem. Who wouldn't want to wake up, open their curtains and patio door, walk out on their balcony and gaze over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Magical. Our second visit to the hotel. A big thank you to all the staff for a fabulous stay. Hope to see you again. xx

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

On the plus side the views from the hotel were beautiful. Rooms very clean.
Negative points in my opinion was the food which I found tasteless and boring and we had to eat out quite a few times.
The pool area needs some attention - miss matched furnishings and only 2 umbrella's. Pool very small and uninviting only 4 or 5 deckchairs around it.
Lounge/reception also needs some TLC it felt more like a waiting room.
This hotel has so much potential but at the moment is very lacking.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Harmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a week in Sorrento at this hotel with Thomsons. Great Location right on the sea front, with bars and restaurants just a few metres away. The room we had was very, very small, we had booked a partial sea view with a balcony. The bed was just one step away from the balcony, and just one step away from the end wall. No drawer space, we had to put our clothes in supermarket bags in a small cupboard. The balcony just had room for two small chairs, no table. We asked to change rooms, but were told that the hotel was full. From chatting to other guests at the hotel, most of the rooms were very small, and many had asked to change rooms.
The food was poor quality, they spent as little money as possible on the meals, the beef one night was so thin you could see the plate through it. The hotel had made up fancy names to hide the fact that the food was the cheapest possible. The drinks were expensive, including the wine which was very poor quality at 20 euro a bottle. The slightly cheaper one was of course out of stock. Dont be fooled into having a lemonchello at the end of the "gala" dinner, as just a few minutes later you will be presented with the bill.
The hotel waiters are quite fustrating, they do not really want to serve you, there are quite a few of them, at breakfast they stand in from of the buffet, and get in the way.
However the room was very clean, and clean fresh towels every day, and the reception staff were polite and helpful.
Does the location beat all that? it was better than staying in the town I think.
Not four star at all, barely a three, get rid of some of the waiters, and spend a little more money on the food.

Room Tip: I think the rooms without a balcony were a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The views here really are beautiful. The view of Vesuvius and the marina grande from our room could not have been more perfect. The room was very clean and decor was nice, if a little basic.

The location was great, the marina grande is beautiful and has some lovely restaurants. It was a pretty steep walk into Sorrento's centre, but there are regular and very inexpensive busses that take you to Tasso square or the station if you are feeling lazy!

My main complaints would be the fact that there were three occasions that we had no hot water in our room (staff's reaction indicate that this is a fairly regular occurrence), the poor wifi - only available in the hotel lobby, not even outside on the terrace. The food was not great, we ate out for all but two evenings, portions were large but quality really was lacking. Breakfast was also pretty dire, I would never expect to be served instant coffee in Italy! The options were very limited and again very poor quality, we quickly stopped bothering - I need real coffee for breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGP221185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I honestly can't see the basis for the negative reviews of this hotel, my experience was fantastic! Lovely staff, great view, rooms fresh, clean, air conditioned and cleaned daily! Great home style Italian food, a lot better than some of the restaurants. It is a bit pricey but what do you expect, you're in Sorrento. Outside sunbeds a little cramped but not an issue and a small pool. The only negative is that's there is no sun on the terrace after 16:00. Overall, one of the best holidays I've had, Sorrento is stunning and has 2 of the best archaeological sites in the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing